$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

2 stars
808 61ST STREET C, GALVESTON, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
29 reviews
excellent stay

Its a short drive from the beach, clean rooms, and nice staff. Its a perfect stay for a family. See full review

  • Beachbum1
  • Jul 4, 2013
good value

easy to locate, but a bit of a travel into the town - you need a car. Great Target supermarket... See full review

  • Jony
  • May 28, 2013
All-suites hotel features a kitchen, outdoor pool and fitness center
Families and business travelers who prefer more living space than a standard hotel room appreciate the all-suite accommodations at the Candlewood Suites Galveston. Every room has a fully equipped kitchen, and the hotel offers an expansive library of movies for guests to watch on DVD players in their rooms. A free laundry facility is a welcome addition for travelers on extended trips. The fully equipped fitness center is free for Candlewood Suites Galveston guests.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • Free laundry facility
Rooms

Subtle earth hues set the tone in the Candlewood Suites Galveston. Each room boasts a fully equipped kitchen, plus dining and sitting areas. In addition to a king- or queen-sized bed, or two full-sized beds, rooms are furnished with the expected amenities, including an iron/ironing board and hair-dryer. An overstuffed reclining chair is the perfect spot to watch a movie borrowed from the Candlewood Suites Galveston library and rooms have televisions with premium cable, and pay-per-view movies.

Features
The beach is minutes from the hotel, and the Candlewood Suites Galveston is close to other Galveston attractions, including the Schlitterbahn Waterpark, the Galveston History Museum and the Port of Galveston. The historic Strand District, with dozens of shops, galleries, restaurants and museums, is also a five-minute drive away. A free laundry facility is especially welcome by visitors on extended trips.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40 mi/64 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (57 mi/97 km)
Attractions
  • Moody Gardens (1 mi/2 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (3 mi /4 km)
  • Port of Galveston (3 mi /4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3 mi/5 km)             
  • Strand Theatre (3 mi/5 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Laundry facilities (fees apply)

Hotel Map

29.2893 -94.8384
Nearby airports
Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites GALVESTON also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Maddie
Houston, Tx
Jul 10, 2011

Good Hotel

I came here a couple of years ago with my kids for a quick get-a-way. The hotel was brand new, and we looooved it. The rooms were okay, and the customer service was great. It's right by the beach--perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right across the street form the beach. Nuff said.

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
galverston
Apr 25, 2010

fantastic for family get away

better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, Texas
Aug 29, 2010

Great Location and service

We were going on a cruise the next day and came early to do a little shoping, good diner and sharries of one of our favorite places. Found Galveston had change since Rita and Ike had visited, but still found a cleaner place. The hotel was located conviently to Broadway and close to local shopping. The room nad a great HD TV and included a dvd player. (found a good selecton of dvd's at front desk (free) The AC froze us out (a good thing after temps near 100) Great service. Left our car there when we left fot the cruise. Highly recommened, Price was good too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Come and stay longer a way from the beach and no noise but worth it

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
May 26, 2009

The good and the bad

The room was not ready when I got there, check in was for 1500 hrs and I didn't get in my room until 1700 hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
Jul 6, 2010

Nice stay

We chose this room for the price and location and were pleased. The hotel was located next to a Target and down the road from Moody Gardens. The room was perfect for a baby. It contained a dishwasher with dish detergent so I was able to wash baby bottles while we were out. We didn't care for the beach so it was not a problem that the hotel wasn't on the beach. The room also came with a few pots, utensils, 2 rolls of papertowels, a toaster, coffee pot, and full size refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Breaker 2013
Galveston, TX
Mar 13, 2013

Just what we needed

There was plenty of room in the suite, and we were able to use the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is closer to I45, so its cheaper. That does mean you are further away from the seawall and all that it brings.

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spring Tx
Jul 28, 2011

great Place

had a great weekend. Hotel was clean and perfect for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
galverston
Apr 25, 2010

fantastic for family get away

better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 28, 2009

Great hotel!

We stayed the night before we left for a cruise. The hotel was very nice and clean. It had a great pool and was comfortable. Great price and value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 28, 2009

Great hotel!

We stayed the night before we left for a cruise. The hotel was very nice and clean. It had a great pool and was comfortable. Great price and value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top