Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

2 stars
View map of 808 61st Street C, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
17 reviews
Good location

Breakfast would have been a blessing, since we were too exhausted to cook. Would have liked to have... See full review

  • glam momma
  • Jul 12, 2014
excellent stay

Its a short drive from the beach, clean rooms, and nice staff. Its a perfect stay for a family. See full review

  • Beachbum1
  • Jul 4, 2013
Families and business travelers who prefer more living space than a standard hotel room appreciate the all-suite accommodations at the Candlewood Suites Galveston. Every room has a fully equipped kitchen, and the hotel offers an expansive library of movies for guests to watch on DVD players in their rooms. A free laundry facility is a welcome addition for travelers on extended trips. The fully equipped fitness center is free for Candlewood Suites Galveston guests.
Rooms

Subtle earth hues set the tone in the Candlewood Suites Galveston. Each room boasts a fully equipped kitchen, plus dining and sitting areas. In addition to a king- or queen-sized bed, or two full-sized beds, rooms are furnished with the expected amenities, including an iron/ironing board and hair-dryer. An overstuffed reclining chair is the perfect spot to watch a movie borrowed from the Candlewood Suites Galveston library and rooms have televisions with premium cable, and pay-per-view movies.

Property features
The beach is minutes from the hotel, and the Candlewood Suites Galveston is close to other Galveston attractions, including the Schlitterbahn Waterpark, the Galveston History Museum and the Port of Galveston. The historic Strand District, with dozens of shops, galleries, restaurants and museums, is also a five-minute drive away. A free laundry facility is especially welcome by visitors on extended trips.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • Free laundry facility
Nearby attractions
  • Moody Gardens (1 mi/2 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (3 mi /4 km)
  • Port of Galveston (3 mi /4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3 mi/5 km)             
  • Strand Theatre (3 mi/5 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Laundry facilities (fees apply)
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40 mi/64 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (57 mi/97 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

29.2893 -94.8384
Nearby airports
Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beachbum1
Business
Galveston, TX
Jul 4, 2013

excellent stay

Its a short drive from the beach, clean rooms, and nice staff. Its a perfect stay for a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Bernard, TX
Jun 28, 2011

Good value for the price

The only improvement would have been better instructions on getting more coffee, towels, etc... Other than that, it was clean, quiet and the staff was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the strand, seawall, etc...

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trinity, Texas
Jul 24, 2011

Great place to stay!

Best place to stay and still be close to all the entertainment in Galveston. Very clean, had a full size refrig and two burner stove with all the things you would need to cook with. We did not need it but nice to know for future trips. [...] the desk clerk was so helpful and informative and gave us excellent directions. Movies to rent for free. You just sign them out and take them back. Night clerk was very friendly also, morning clerk just as friendly. How refreshing, will definitely stay there again next year but for a longer period as I will save on meals knowing I have the facilities to cook. Great price also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Stay here and you avoid all the traffic to all the main attractions.

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Breaker 2013
Business
Galveston, TX
Mar 13, 2013

Just what we needed

There was plenty of room in the suite, and we were able to use the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is closer to I45, so its cheaper. That does mean you are further away from the seawall and all that it brings.

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jony
Business
Scotland
May 28, 2013

good value

easy to locate, but a bit of a travel into the town - you need a car. Great Target supermarket nearby which provided all our food and extras needs, just a few minutes walk away. great to be able to have a swim, and to be able to do a clothes washing on the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

food shop at Target supermaket, almost a stone's throw away

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, LA
Jul 6, 2010

Nice stay

We chose this room for the price and location and were pleased. The hotel was located next to a Target and down the road from Moody Gardens. The room was perfect for a baby. It contained a dishwasher with dish detergent so I was able to wash baby bottles while we were out. We didn't care for the beach so it was not a problem that the hotel wasn't on the beach. The room also came with a few pots, utensils, 2 rolls of papertowels, a toaster, coffee pot, and full size refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Texas
Aug 29, 2010

Great Location and service

We were going on a cruise the next day and came early to do a little shoping, good diner and sharries of one of our favorite places. Found Galveston had change since Rita and Ike had visited, but still found a cleaner place. The hotel was located conviently to Broadway and close to local shopping. The room nad a great HD TV and included a dvd player. (found a good selecton of dvd's at front desk (free) The AC froze us out (a good thing after temps near 100) Great service. Left our car there when we left fot the cruise. Highly recommened, Price was good too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Come and stay longer a way from the beach and no noise but worth it

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Humble, TX.
Nov 1, 2009

Nice clean place to stay........

the hotel staff was very helpful, though the price was a little high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 28, 2009

Great hotel!

We stayed the night before we left for a cruise. The hotel was very nice and clean. It had a great pool and was comfortable. Great price and value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Maddie
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 10, 2011

Good Hotel

I came here a couple of years ago with my kids for a quick get-a-way. The hotel was brand new, and we looooved it. The rooms were okay, and the customer service was great. It's right by the beach--perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right across the street form the beach. Nuff said.

Back to menu Return to top