$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

3 stars
View map of 2826 63rd Street, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach snob
Family
Massachusetts
Jun 12, 2012

Fun extended weekend

Hotel is conveniently located a short walk from the 61st Street pier. Good access to local beaches, restaurants. Room was about what I would expect -- nothing fancy, but clean and functional. Staff was friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast comes with the room, not to my taste, not much more than high-carb junk food. Small pool and hot tub were a big draw for the 6-year-old in the party, was an added benefit; hot tub heater wasn't working, but really, air temperature ran from 75 or 80 to 100 degrees F. No extra heat needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for pristine beaches, Galveston is probably not your destination.

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Piperdanai
Family
Oklahoma City
Jun 7, 2012

Worst Experience Ever

We were sailing out of Galveston on Sunday, May 27. We had booked at the Baymont due to being able to have a room with 2 king sized beds for our family of 4. We checked in at 7:50pm, Saturday, May 26, 2012 & were assigned to room 123. Within 5 minutes of getting to the room, we realized that the door outside our room slammed every time someone went in or out of it & that occurred approximately every 2 minutes. My husband went to the front desk to ask to be moved to another room. We were told that due to it being Memorial Day Weekend, they were completely full, there was nothing she could do, and we could speak to the manager on Sunday morning. My husband explained that this wasn't adequate and the woman at the desk simply shrugged & said there was nothing she could do. When we got our kids settled & in bed, my husband called the 800 customer service line & told them what had happened. They, in turn, called the hotel & the manager was notified. We were told that the manager wanted to book the room to someone that would pay full price & that we could leave then & find a new place to stay. He asked if they were prepared to help us find a room on the island at 9:15pm & they said no. He explained that the kids were asleep & we wouldn't be leaving. A second phone call from the desk clerk at 9:30pm, same conversation. At 9:45pm a different woman showed up at the door of our room & asked if we were done packing. My husband, again, calmly explained that our kids were asleep, we had no where to go on a holiday weekend & that we weren't leaving. She told us that we were being TOLD to leave, were not leaving & that she would call the police. At 11:15pm, the Galveston Police Department sent 2 of their officers to escort us from the hotel, watching us wake our children, me, 6months pregnant in my pajamas, and the police officers kindly helped us leave, letting us know that they did NOT support the actions of the hotel, but had no choice. We then had to find a hotel with any open rooms, driving an hour to Pearland to a Holiday Inn Express. Upon returning from our cruise, Wyndham was notified & they told us that the situation had been handled, they were prepared to do nothing & didn't feel an apology was necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nurse lupe
Family
Texas
Jun 2, 2012

Best Deal on the SeaWall!

I half expected the hotel to be a good distance from Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn but it was probably 3 minutes away and off SeaWall Blvd at that. Staff was wonderful and the beds were bliss, I loved the full bathtub for my son and the balcony for me. I felt like my car would be safe outside and at the price I paid this may be the only hotel I stay at when I visit Galveston from now on. Very Pleased! The only downside was there is only 1 dryer and washer for guest use and the dryer was out when I went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Schlitterbahn is best enjoyed while school is going on

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark's trip
Couples
Plano, TX
May 22, 2012

Nice hotel.

Good location. Close to ocean (1-2 min walk). Quiet and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to good seafood restaurant Gaido's.

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spikeylulu
Couples
newmarket, suffolk, UK
May 21, 2012

Ideal short stay

It took us a while to find the hotel, probably due to our mis-understanding of American streets as we are from UK. We arrived a little early, but the receptionist was more than helpful and gave us our room key. Room was very clean, and a good size. We had paid a very reasonable rate and thought the hotel excellent value. We did not use the pool, which was small, but seemed to be popular with guests. The breakfast was more than adequate with breads, cakes, waffles, fruit, yuoghurt etc. Give the coffee a miss - it was undrinkable - but there were juices. Breakfast used disposable plates, knives and forks etc. which kept hotel costs down. We were more than happy with the hotel, and felt it excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharray
Couples
Galveston, TX
May 13, 2012

Close to the beach and everything else on the strip

I booked a king but ended up with two queen and the bathroom was a little dirty in the corners. Other than that, my stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RONNI2012
Houston, TX, USA
May 8, 2012

SPLASH 2012

THEY HAD THE VIEW I WANTED, AND IT WAS VERY EASY TO GET. I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE BOOKED, BUT I GOT WHAT I WANTED. HOTEL WAS OKAY......OCEAN VIEW WAS OKAY....SERVICE WAS POLITE.....EVERYTHING WENT WELL..... YES , I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO MY FRIENDS. I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

5 OR 6 BLOCKS UP THE STREET...JOE'S CRAB SHACK ....AWESOME!!!!!

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael surfer
Single
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Very nice

it was refreshing and had a good vibe =] and it was right across from the beach. Golden corral was within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The drip was pretty cool, and captin Morgans

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suaavve
Single
Dallas, TX
Apr 1, 2012

Quick Trip

Stayed at hotel for a quick trip. Staff was great, room was as expected. Right on seawall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Like The Spot!

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference Trvler
Business
Houston, Texas
Mar 8, 2012

Pleasantly suprised

For the price of this hotel, you are definitely getting more than yours money's worth. You're right near the seawall, a Kroger and restaurants. The room was clean and breakfast was included. Good value over all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top