$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Warwick Melrose Hotel

4 stars
View map of 3015 Oak Lawn Ave, Dallas, TX 75219

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Warwick Melrose Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LGBT Band Fan
LGBT
Longmont, CO
Sep 19, 2012

Typical Southern Hospitality

This is not my usual type of hotel, but the deal was perfect for that weekend. The staff could not have been more pleasant or accomodating. It was a very busy weekend for them, and they were still very friendly and helpful. And , it is a beautiful and well maintained property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

LGBT

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Brazil down the block is a bit bohemian, but it is a very nice 24 hour cafe with great coffee and friendly staff.

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zipi64
Couples
Mexico City, Mexico
Mar 19, 2013

Great value in a landmark hotel

Great service and value for your money. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacius and comfortable. For an extra $8 usd (per the whole stay, not per night) I was offered an upgrade to a superior room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect for the gay night life

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tore
Business
miami, fl
Feb 22, 2013

best stay in oak lawn

Try the library bar, great place to sip exclusive cocktails

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DSOman
Couples
Waco, TX
Feb 19, 2013

A mixed bag.

Came away with mixed feelings. A OK stay, but some problems took the edge off of it. Arrival at 4 PM and no rooms available. Went to Library bar (very nice place) to wait. After about 10 min., front desk manager came to give us room key and also paid for drinks. Room very small, not unexpected for a restored old hotel. Nothing in room with drawers (other than bedside chest with drawer with usual bible) so could not unpack. Bathroom had pedestal sink with narrow shelf over it. Had to place shaving and make-up stuff on window sill. On the clearly positive side is the hotel decor-- elegantly restored (wife loved it). The Landmark restaurant is excellent for both food quality, presentation and service. (had dinner and breakfast). Our biggest complaint (disappointment) is with the Library bar. When returning (about 9:30) from a evening out, we planned to retire to the bar for drinks. We found it packed with locals. A hostess told us we might get in after 45 min, wait. Hotel guests should have priority access! All in all-- a hotel with good potential but a few glitches took the edge off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Elegant bar, but get in early before all the locals arrive.

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoMan76
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jul 2, 2012

Elegant Hotel

Rooms here are nice and comfortable. Library Bar downstairs serves excellent drinks. Overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmp1
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Noisy room

At check in I requested a quiet room away from elevators, ice machines, street noise, etc. The front desk assured me that my location in the building would be more quiet than most. My room was close to the busy street intersection that produced road noise thru the old historic windows. To top it off there's a fire station directly across the street and -- maybe this is not normal -- but they answered 3 alarms in one night (full sirens blaring). I would otherwise enjoy this historic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Weezer
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Great Location.. clean fair price

The hotel is old, but very clean, and I thought that was cool had a 40's feel to it, but with some style. Parking @ $24 per day is a bummer, but the guys will bring your car out as many times as you'll need it, same price. I'd stay there again... (Bar us kind's cool like an old library in a 40's mansion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul from CA
San Francisco, CA
Mar 14, 2012

Historic hotel in the heart of the gayborhood

It's a historic hotel, so don't expect sleek, modern, or the utmost in up-to-date amenities. Everything is extremely well maintained, however; never saw anything that wasn't in perfect shape. You won't find a hotel any more convenient to the heart of Dallas's gay neighborhood, and it's extremely close to Uptown (with trendier restaurants than Oak Lawn offers.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out My Fit Food a few blocks away; my boyfriend and I are extremely picky about what we eat, and we were very impressed. Better than anything we've found in San Francisco. The prices are amazing, and though we ate there three times in a four day trip, they had so many healthy options that we never ate the same thing twice.

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Socialsal
Family
Shreveport
Mar 6, 2012

Great Stay

Hotel was lovely. We had a suite that was wonderful and the staff was friendly and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to the Dallas Trade Center.

Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Dick
Vancouver, B.C.
Jan 7, 2012

Relaxing in the New Year

The hotel is a tastefully appointed, located conveniently in the Oak Lawn neighbourhood and offers everything you need for a worry free stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Black Eyed Peas on Cedar Springs and Thairiffic just off Cedar Springs were both super and reasonablly priced.

Back to menu Return to top