$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

The Fairmont Dallas

4 stars
1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
206 reviews
Fancy!

Very clean, and very nice hotel. Would definitely stay gain. See full review

  • Miss Angela
  • Oct 13, 2014
A 4-star hotel that provides 5-star service

I'm absolutely impressed by the service. I've traveled to many of 5-star hotels around the world... See full review

  • Blonde Mamba
  • Jun 9, 2014
The Fairmont Dallas is part of the Fairmont Hotels & Resorts brand, a name synonymous with classic luxury and time-honored tradition. Opened in 1969, the hotel is widely considered one of the original luxury resorts in the Dallas area. Guests can visit the rooftop to chill by the pool beneath the bright Texas sky. In the evenings, the Pyramid Restaurant & Bar offers alternative dining - straying from typical Texan fare, dishes like the pressed octopus, Berkshire pork belly, and kaffir & chili crusted ostrich are exotic changes from the traditional steak and barbecue.
Key facts
  • 545 rooms and suites
  • Herb and vegetable garden
  • 24-hour Business and conference center
  • 24-hour access to gym and spa
  • Junior Olympic-sized pool
  • Wine Spectator Award of Excellence
  • 70,000-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
The Fairmont holds a prime position between both the Financial and Arts Districts, giving visitors plenty to explore. Adorned with restaurants, bars and family-friendly attractions, this neighborhood caters to business and leisure guests in equal measure. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the Dallas World Aquarium, a true family favorite with over 5,000 animals. There's also The Klyde Warren Park and Perot Museum of Nature & Science - both a short stroll from the Dallas Arts District.
Hints and tips
Drop by the YMCA health club and spa right across the street from the Fairmont - that extra workout will make you feel less guilty about indulging in Texas-sized treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Dallas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Fairmont Dallas Rooms

Moderate Queen-City View
One queen bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet. Chenille throw. 300 square feet. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Room-City View
One king bed or two double beds with pillow top mattresses. 350 square feet. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk. Dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Suite-City Skyline View
: One king bed or one queen with pillow top mattresses. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. 700 square feet. Living area with marble dining table and sitting area with sofa bed. Two lounge chairs. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. iHome with iPod docking station. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Nonsmoking.
Fairmont Gold-City Skylights View
One king bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet and chenille throw. 350 square feet. Private check-in on 18th floor. Located on top floors with unobstructed city skylights views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Urban-style furnishings, including work desk. Vibrant and crisp dcor. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Flat-screen HDTV with Nintendo. Bose CD player with iPod docking station. Marble bathroom with rainfall shower. Complimentary breakfast with hot items, honor bar, and cocktail hour canaps served in Fairmont Gold Lounge. Exclusive Fairmont Gold Concierge, computer workstation, and board room facilities. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 3.8 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 3.9 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.2 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.4 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 226.2 mi

Dining

Pyramid Restaurant
The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar's sleek contemporary decor is perfectly paired with exciting cuisine. Many of the items on our Modern American menu incorporate fresh, sustainable ingredients from The Fairmont Dallas' rooftop herb and vegetable garden. The expansive 3,000 square foot garden, which includes two honeybee hives, is tended to by the culinary team on a daily basis. Local suppliers and food purveyors are utilized.
Pyramid Bar
Sophisticated and lively, Pyramid Bar has a new decor inspired by the hotel's arts district location. Guests will enjoy elevated modern cocktails, premium liquors and a varied selection of wine and beer.
Starbucks
Coffee drinks, lattes, tea, hot and cold beverages, and pastries. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Dallas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss bossii
Business
Dallas texas
Jul 9, 2012

Nice view

The location and view were terrific but the hotel wasnt as good as i expected. The ac in our room didnt work so we were hot, the next day maintenance came and said he fixed it but by the time we got back to our room it was late and hot, we were too tired to switch rooms so we slept on the floor in front of an air vent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony stark the great
Business
Indiana
Aug 20, 2012

Bathroom

Bathtub had draining issues was over my ankles in water after few minutes. Also lots of hair on floor in bathroom and sink area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JeannineB
Business
CA
Nov 14, 2012

Review

Overall very good experience with this hotel. The room is in need of some upgrading, such a wall paper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MiguelOK
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jan 2, 2013

Good Location, but really nothing special.

It's a huge place, plent of ballrooms and meeting space. The location is really good. Close to everything downtown. Also, there is plent of close-by parking, if you don't want to pay the $25. a night valet fee. But, if you're looking for a four-star (high quality) room (City View), well, it's just average. It's not bad, not in the least, but it's not spectaular. The four star rating may have you thinking otherwise. I'm not sure if this was New Years specific, but if you want to bring in a bottle of wine, you may want to call ahead. They were taking peoples bottles going in. I don't know if this is a policy, and I don't neccesarily disagree with it, but I won't stay there if I plan on bringing a drink. I was traveling for fun. This place was bleh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dallas Museum of Art and the Dallas World Aquarium are within a couple blocks. Check them out. Awesome. Great food at the DMA Cafe! Inexpensive too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College bound daughter
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 11, 2013

Wedding night

I have always wanted to stay at the Fairmont! We spent our wedding night there on 3-8-2013. Everything was nice, clean, and updated! My problem was that they put us in a room next to the elevators. The stairs were located behind the elevator shaft. ALL NIGHT LONG we heard the elevators vibrating noise through the stairwell! We did not get any sleep! We told the front dest, and they gave us 2 complimentary breakfast buffets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brian 043013
Business
Chicago
Apr 30, 2013

Too many extra charges

The Hotel is beautiful and the Staff was great but $15 a day for internet, $25 a day to park, $20 for a Cobb salad. It goes on like that. I picked the Fairmont because of the pool and it was too cold to use. The gym needs updating also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Market street was fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lihfkuchbnqelif
Business
New York
Dec 7, 2013

No Go!

The electronic key card system locked me out of my room and couldn't get back in. Hotel staff re-keyed the card and I went back up and it didn't work. Then I called the front desk and they sent security with the decoding machine and that didn't work. Yep you guessed it then they had to break in using a drill...by now I was now running very late to my work meeting. Cant afford the risk of staying at his hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach FL
Jul 11, 2011

Great Location

Excellent Customer Service... Rooms are great .. Might recommend more appliances for extra convienience..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 14, 2011

Very nice Hote

First time staying there. Very nice Hotel. Only thing was the surprise $23 charge for parking at the time of checking out. Parking charge should be stated at the time of reservations, not when we are checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 21, 2011

Not The Best.

My fiance and I went to Dallas for our first time there, just to check out the city. I have always enjoyed staying at Fairmont hotels all around the country but Fairmont Dallas did not live up to my expectations! The service was good, except for the foreign valet guy who when I asked about how to get to Uptown's restaurants and bars he gave me wrong directions and seemed to have no idea what part of town uptown was in. The Location is not very close to nightlife spots. We had to drive everywhere. While the bed was comfortable, the pillows were too thin and uncomfortable. They have a nice pool but NO HOT TUB!! Also, we were there during excellent weather in March but their pool side service is only offered May thru Sep. I would only stay here again if room rates are deeply discounted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top