$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

The Fairmont Dallas

4 stars
1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
202 reviews
A 4-star hotel that provides 5-star service

I'm absolutely impressed by the service. I've traveled to many of 5-star hotels around the world... See full review

  • Blonde Mamba
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great location and value

great downtown Dallas location. Great customer service. Clean room. Definitely would stay again. See full review

  • Travel7787
  • May 14, 2014
The Fairmont Dallas is part of the Fairmont Hotels & Resorts brand, a name synonymous with classic luxury and time-honored tradition. Opened in 1969, the hotel is widely considered one of the original luxury resorts in the Dallas area. Guests can visit the rooftop to chill by the pool beneath the bright Texas sky. In the evenings, the Pyramid Restaurant & Bar offers alternative dining - straying from typical Texan fare, dishes like the pressed octopus, Berkshire pork belly, and kaffir & chili crusted ostrich are exotic changes from the traditional steak and barbecue.
Key facts
  • 545 rooms and suites
  • Herb and vegetable garden
  • 24-hour Business and conference center
  • 24-hour access to gym and spa
  • Junior Olympic-sized pool
  • Wine Spectator Award of Excellence
  • 70,000-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
The Fairmont holds a prime position between both the Financial and Arts Districts, giving visitors plenty to explore. Adorned with restaurants, bars and family-friendly attractions, this neighborhood caters to business and leisure guests in equal measure. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the Dallas World Aquarium, a true family favorite with over 5,000 animals. There's also The Klyde Warren Park and Perot Museum of Nature & Science - both a short stroll from the Dallas Arts District.
Hints and tips
Drop by the YMCA health club and spa right across the street from the Fairmont - that extra workout will make you feel less guilty about indulging in Texas-sized treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7861 -96.8017
Area served
Dallas, TX
Nearby airports
Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, (DFW), 25.00, NW, Mile; Dallas Love Field, (DAL), 4.50, NW, Mile
Area description
Making its home in the Dallas Arts District - The Fairmont Dallas is just minutes from the Central Business District - Victory Park (home of the American Airlines Center) the Financial District - outstanding culture and entertainment activities as well as shopping in the West End Historic District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Dallas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Fairmont Dallas Rooms

Moderate Queen-City View
One queen bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet. Chenille throw. 300 square feet. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Room-City View
One king bed or two double beds with pillow top mattresses. 350 square feet. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk. Dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Suite-City Skyline View
: One king bed or one queen with pillow top mattresses. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. 700 square feet. Living area with marble dining table and sitting area with sofa bed. Two lounge chairs. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. iHome with iPod docking station. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Nonsmoking.
Fairmont Gold-City Skylights View
One king bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet and chenille throw. 350 square feet. Private check-in on 18th floor. Located on top floors with unobstructed city skylights views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Urban-style furnishings, including work desk. Vibrant and crisp dcor. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Flat-screen HDTV with Nintendo. Bose CD player with iPod docking station. Marble bathroom with rainfall shower. Complimentary breakfast with hot items, honor bar, and cocktail hour canaps served in Fairmont Gold Lounge. Exclusive Fairmont Gold Concierge, computer workstation, and board room facilities. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 3.8 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 3.9 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.2 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.4 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 226.2 mi

Dining

Pyramid Restaurant
The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar's sleek contemporary decor is perfectly paired with exciting cuisine. Many of the items on our Modern American menu incorporate fresh, sustainable ingredients from The Fairmont Dallas' rooftop herb and vegetable garden. The expansive 3,000 square foot garden, which includes two honeybee hives, is tended to by the culinary team on a daily basis. Local suppliers and food purveyors are utilized.
Pyramid Bar
Sophisticated and lively, Pyramid Bar has a new decor inspired by the hotel's arts district location. Guests will enjoy elevated modern cocktails, premium liquors and a varied selection of wine and beer.
Starbucks
Coffee drinks, lattes, tea, hot and cold beverages, and pastries. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Dallas

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 202
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
air traffic controller
Ontario Canada
Jan 7, 2014

perfect for what we needed

this hotel is in a great location. close to all the touristy stuff and some great restaurants. Mr. Bennett, the go to guy, was fantastic. always cheerful and helpful. Valet parking could be better. the only bad thing was Starbucks. it lacked staff who were capable of making any of the Christmas specialty drinks plus they always seemed to be out of popular food items i.e. bagels, bran muffins and healthy wraps. all in all, we enjoyed the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
putoch
San Jose, California
Dec 2, 2013

Thanksgiving stay

We stayed here for two nights over thanksgiving. The place was a little quite due to the time of the year, but its such a nice hotel. The staff were so friendly. beautiful relaxing area's all done up for Christmas so its really nice to sit and relax, or to sit by the bar, or go for breakfast, or brunch. would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jac Bask
Mcallen,tx
Nov 5, 2013

GREAT HOTEL!!

Everything from staff to room was Excellent. We ordered room service and food was very Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good food and service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College bound daughter
Dallas, Texas
Mar 11, 2013

Wedding night

I have always wanted to stay at the Fairmont! We spent our wedding night there on 3-8-2013. Everything was nice, clean, and updated! My problem was that they put us in a room next to the elevators. The stairs were located behind the elevator shaft. ALL NIGHT LONG we heard the elevators vibrating noise through the stairwell! We did not get any sleep! We told the front dest, and they gave us 2 complimentary breakfast buffets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markward22
Ohio
Dec 26, 2012

Fairmont Dallas was perfect for us!!

We had a great trip to Dallas for the cowboys vs steelers game and the fairmont Dallas was perfect for us! We were able to walk to go out to eat and took a cab for the game and stadium tour. The hotel had a cab in. Less than a minute every time we needed one! It was absolutely wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trey Pound
Charlotte, NC
Oct 23, 2012

Very Pleased

Hotel staff was very friendly/accomodating; hotel/room looked/felt very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss bossii
Dallas texas
Jul 9, 2012

Nice view

The location and view were terrific but the hotel wasnt as good as i expected. The ac in our room didnt work so we were hot, the next day maintenance came and said he fixed it but by the time we got back to our room it was late and hot, we were too tired to switch rooms so we slept on the floor in front of an air vent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jul the One and Onlya
Denver, CO
Jul 2, 2012

Service plus Smile plus Convenience

Service with a smile from the valet, to the front desk, to the consier. We were able to walk to the acquariaum, ate at the Dakota (connected via underground tunnel), and visit the broakway show at the Winspear Opera house of Jersey Boys. Ken of the consier got us the best seats in the orchestra at a great price the day we arrived. He hand delivered them to us as we ate our anniversary dinner at the Dakota. service, service, servicea!!! We took the trolley next day to West Village. Ate at Breadwinners along the way. A great hotel with easy access to tons of stuff in Dallas. Will probably stay there again if something brings us to Dallas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street. Enter at street level or via the underground tunnel from the Fairmont.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catalo
Des Plaines, IL
Jun 21, 2012

Anniversary Trip

The hotel was great. Staff were very helpful, attentive and friendly. Pool was huge and open late. We had an excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the hotel's bottled water and mini bar. There is a 7-11 about a block away that was selling Fiji water bottles 2 for $3. The hotel had the same exact bottles in the room for $7.50 each.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
keen319
Chicago
Jun 4, 2012

Wedding Accomodations

Everything went well after we were given our room early but they mistook it for being ready. It was cleaned promptly and everything thereafter was great. Also, less than a block away is a 7-Eleven where you can pick up some snacks and beverages and not have to pay the over-inflated hotel prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 5 blocks from the hotel is the West End district and there were some nice places to eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search