$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

The Fairmont Dallas

4 stars
1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
202 reviews
A 4-star hotel that provides 5-star service

I'm absolutely impressed by the service. I've traveled to many of 5-star hotels around the world... See full review

  • Blonde Mamba
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great location and value

great downtown Dallas location. Great customer service. Clean room. Definitely would stay again. See full review

  • Travel7787
  • May 14, 2014
The Fairmont Dallas is part of the Fairmont Hotels & Resorts brand, a name synonymous with classic luxury and time-honored tradition. Opened in 1969, the hotel is widely considered one of the original luxury resorts in the Dallas area. Guests can visit the rooftop to chill by the pool beneath the bright Texas sky. In the evenings, the Pyramid Restaurant & Bar offers alternative dining - straying from typical Texan fare, dishes like the pressed octopus, Berkshire pork belly, and kaffir & chili crusted ostrich are exotic changes from the traditional steak and barbecue.
Key facts
  • 545 rooms and suites
  • Herb and vegetable garden
  • 24-hour Business and conference center
  • 24-hour access to gym and spa
  • Junior Olympic-sized pool
  • Wine Spectator Award of Excellence
  • 70,000-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
The Fairmont holds a prime position between both the Financial and Arts Districts, giving visitors plenty to explore. Adorned with restaurants, bars and family-friendly attractions, this neighborhood caters to business and leisure guests in equal measure. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the Dallas World Aquarium, a true family favorite with over 5,000 animals. There's also The Klyde Warren Park and Perot Museum of Nature & Science - both a short stroll from the Dallas Arts District.
Hints and tips
Drop by the YMCA health club and spa right across the street from the Fairmont - that extra workout will make you feel less guilty about indulging in Texas-sized treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7861 -96.8017
Area served
Dallas, TX
Nearby airports
Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, (DFW), 25.00, NW, Mile; Dallas Love Field, (DAL), 4.50, NW, Mile
Area description
Making its home in the Dallas Arts District - The Fairmont Dallas is just minutes from the Central Business District - Victory Park (home of the American Airlines Center) the Financial District - outstanding culture and entertainment activities as well as shopping in the West End Historic District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Dallas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Fairmont Dallas Rooms

Moderate Queen-City View
One queen bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet. Chenille throw. 300 square feet. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Room-City View
One king bed or two double beds with pillow top mattresses. 350 square feet. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk. Dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Suite-City Skyline View
: One king bed or one queen with pillow top mattresses. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. 700 square feet. Living area with marble dining table and sitting area with sofa bed. Two lounge chairs. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. iHome with iPod docking station. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Nonsmoking.
Fairmont Gold-City Skylights View
One king bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet and chenille throw. 350 square feet. Private check-in on 18th floor. Located on top floors with unobstructed city skylights views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Urban-style furnishings, including work desk. Vibrant and crisp dcor. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Flat-screen HDTV with Nintendo. Bose CD player with iPod docking station. Marble bathroom with rainfall shower. Complimentary breakfast with hot items, honor bar, and cocktail hour canaps served in Fairmont Gold Lounge. Exclusive Fairmont Gold Concierge, computer workstation, and board room facilities. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 3.8 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 3.9 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.2 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.4 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 226.2 mi

Dining

Pyramid Restaurant
The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar's sleek contemporary decor is perfectly paired with exciting cuisine. Many of the items on our Modern American menu incorporate fresh, sustainable ingredients from The Fairmont Dallas' rooftop herb and vegetable garden. The expansive 3,000 square foot garden, which includes two honeybee hives, is tended to by the culinary team on a daily basis. Local suppliers and food purveyors are utilized.
Pyramid Bar
Sophisticated and lively, Pyramid Bar has a new decor inspired by the hotel's arts district location. Guests will enjoy elevated modern cocktails, premium liquors and a varied selection of wine and beer.
Starbucks
Coffee drinks, lattes, tea, hot and cold beverages, and pastries. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Dallas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio,TX
May 25, 2009

A hairy time in Dallas !!!!

When we checked in, our room had hair in the shower and on the toilet seat. On the carpet by the bed I found parts of a razor and large feather and dust bunnies on the bed pillows. After I called, the staff did clean the room better BUT this gave up a very bad feeling about our stay.Also $20.00 a day for valet parking was too much. Overall this is probably the worst "4" star hotel we have seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edwards, Colorado
Jan 13, 2010

Walked at the Fairmont Dallas

I arrived at 2 PM in time to prepare for a 3:30 meeting with a prospective client followed by a black awards dinner that eventing. After a delay at the front desk I was told that they were oversold and there was no room. No amount of explaining why I needed that room helped. [...]Two other people checked in while I was being walked They did agree to pay for my room at the Adolphus and gave me cab vouchers back and forth. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perryton
Sep 21, 2008

Not for the average traveler

The room was very nice, but that's where it ended. I didn't know until I arrived that the only parking option at the hotel was valet, which costs $21/day. Restaurants are EXTREMELY expensive. I had a bowl of soup, 1 drink, and a shrimp appetizer with 2 (two) shrimp and the bill was $33 WITHOUT tip. It wasn't even good at that. This hotel is NOT for the average traveler, unless overpriced restaurants and parking don't bother you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EB1KNB
Business
aGOURA ca
May 25, 2010

AVOID THE FAIRMONT IN DALLAS!!!!

Were not prepared when I arrived. Then blamed [...]. I felt like a 2nd class traveller

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
new yorker in dallas
Business
New York, NY
Aug 19, 2012

nothing special

older building, boring area, no flipflops. I wouldn't come here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
williamsonfamily
Keller, TX
Aug 22, 2009

Fairmount Dallas

They gave us a small room with a full size bed. The room was very small and the air did not work. My husband slept on the floor and we left at 5am this morning because the room was so hot. We will never stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Never stay at this Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New Hoosier
Indy
Mar 26, 2012

Nice location

The locations was great: in Downtown but really close to Uptown and not as expensive as the hotels there. When you walk in, it'll tunr out a very nice hotel, but then the rooms are not as spacious as you could think. Quite tight. And the most important thing is that we had a weird issue with the bathroom: water comming up from the wastepipe to the washbasin!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Uptown is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jan 26, 2011

Great location, bad rooms

I was most upset that there was no free wi-fi or ethernet; there was a $15 fee if you would like to use these. The AC in our room did not work, we called in a maintenance request before we left out for the night and double confirmed with the Hotel manager (because they were about to hit a shift change)that our room would be looked at and he said yes. After we came back to our room nothing had been worked on. I called the front office, they sent a maintenance person who told us that the problem was not fixable and that we would need to switch rooms. This would not have been a problem if they would have told us earlier. So we had to switch rooms at 1:30am (luckily they upgraded us to a suite)but it was just a big inconvenience. Also make sure that you have cash on hand to tip everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great location for restaurants and night clubs that are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Sep 29, 2010

Very tired and dated room

The service and the location are outstanding as one would expect from this brand. The room I was assigned was however very dated with worn furniture and carpeting, worn and damaged bathroom tiles. I was booked for three nights but checked out after the first night and headed for another hotel that felt cleaner or up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The malls are incredible and only a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisiana
Jun 17, 2009

Romantic weekend

We checked in with ease @ 6:00 on a Friday. However, everything went wrong after that. We had a booked King, Non-smoking. We were taken to a queen, handicap, next to the elevator. No closet, because of handicap room....just hangers & hooks. Upon my report to the front desk,we were told there were no rooms available, but they might be able to move us the next day. I called a second time & was put on hold....no one ever took my call. We were told to pack our bags & leave them for the bellman to move the next day. On Saturday a.m. we left for Brunch @ 9:00 to spend the morning in Dallas. We returned around 11:30 but no room was ready . After persistance on our part we were in a new room by 2:30 pm. The room never got completely cool. The Fairmont is a 4 star hotel but with 1 star service or should I say complacency!!There are so many hotels in the city that offer better service. I will definitely not return to the Fairmont!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search