$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

The Fairmont Dallas

4 stars
1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
206 reviews
Fancy!

Very clean, and very nice hotel. Would definitely stay gain. See full review

  • Miss Angela
  • Oct 13, 2014
A 4-star hotel that provides 5-star service

I'm absolutely impressed by the service. I've traveled to many of 5-star hotels around the world... See full review

  • Blonde Mamba
  • Jun 9, 2014
The Fairmont Dallas is part of the Fairmont Hotels & Resorts brand, a name synonymous with classic luxury and time-honored tradition. Opened in 1969, the hotel is widely considered one of the original luxury resorts in the Dallas area. Guests can visit the rooftop to chill by the pool beneath the bright Texas sky. In the evenings, the Pyramid Restaurant & Bar offers alternative dining - straying from typical Texan fare, dishes like the pressed octopus, Berkshire pork belly, and kaffir & chili crusted ostrich are exotic changes from the traditional steak and barbecue.
Key facts
  • 545 rooms and suites
  • Herb and vegetable garden
  • 24-hour Business and conference center
  • 24-hour access to gym and spa
  • Junior Olympic-sized pool
  • Wine Spectator Award of Excellence
  • 70,000-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
The Fairmont holds a prime position between both the Financial and Arts Districts, giving visitors plenty to explore. Adorned with restaurants, bars and family-friendly attractions, this neighborhood caters to business and leisure guests in equal measure. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the Dallas World Aquarium, a true family favorite with over 5,000 animals. There's also The Klyde Warren Park and Perot Museum of Nature & Science - both a short stroll from the Dallas Arts District.
Hints and tips
Drop by the YMCA health club and spa right across the street from the Fairmont - that extra workout will make you feel less guilty about indulging in Texas-sized treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7861 -96.8017
Area served
Dallas, TX
Nearby airports
Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, (DFW), 25.00, NW, Mile; Dallas Love Field, (DAL), 4.50, NW, Mile
Area description
Making its home in the Dallas Arts District - The Fairmont Dallas is just minutes from the Central Business District - Victory Park (home of the American Airlines Center) the Financial District - outstanding culture and entertainment activities as well as shopping in the West End Historic District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Dallas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Fairmont Dallas Rooms

Moderate Queen-City View
One queen bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet. Chenille throw. 300 square feet. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Room-City View
One king bed or two double beds with pillow top mattresses. 350 square feet. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk. Dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Suite-City Skyline View
: One king bed or one queen with pillow top mattresses. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. 700 square feet. Living area with marble dining table and sitting area with sofa bed. Two lounge chairs. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. iHome with iPod docking station. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Nonsmoking.
Fairmont Gold-City Skylights View
One king bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet and chenille throw. 350 square feet. Private check-in on 18th floor. Located on top floors with unobstructed city skylights views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Urban-style furnishings, including work desk. Vibrant and crisp dcor. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Flat-screen HDTV with Nintendo. Bose CD player with iPod docking station. Marble bathroom with rainfall shower. Complimentary breakfast with hot items, honor bar, and cocktail hour canaps served in Fairmont Gold Lounge. Exclusive Fairmont Gold Concierge, computer workstation, and board room facilities. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 3.8 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 3.9 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.2 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.4 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 226.2 mi

Dining

Pyramid Restaurant
The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar's sleek contemporary decor is perfectly paired with exciting cuisine. Many of the items on our Modern American menu incorporate fresh, sustainable ingredients from The Fairmont Dallas' rooftop herb and vegetable garden. The expansive 3,000 square foot garden, which includes two honeybee hives, is tended to by the culinary team on a daily basis. Local suppliers and food purveyors are utilized.
Pyramid Bar
Sophisticated and lively, Pyramid Bar has a new decor inspired by the hotel's arts district location. Guests will enjoy elevated modern cocktails, premium liquors and a varied selection of wine and beer.
Starbucks
Coffee drinks, lattes, tea, hot and cold beverages, and pastries. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Dallas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D M
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 22, 2011

The Fair mont Dallas

Attended Medical CME Conference. Conference Room - Average Food - Average for Buffet Parking only Valet $23.00 / night Didn't try pool or in-house restaurant. Room nice, clean and well kept - Internet service with President's club membership

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickname2011
Business
Carrollton, TX, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Definitely not up to the hype

i was really looking forward to my stay here. I was pretty disappointed, mostly with the staff. I felt like an inconvenience. My mom and I arrived and were given aroma. When we got there, it was obviously already checked out to someone. Called down to get another one and the desk clerk said she would send right up with new rm keys. We waited and waited. In the meantime the hallway was sooo hot! No one showed so we called down again and once again waited forever. Finally we went down to the lobby ourselves and got a new key. No apology, nothing! We were beat by this time, so we got room service. Instead of bringing up grilled chicken sandwiches they brought up grilled CHEESE! Crazy, from such a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach FL
Jul 11, 2011

Great Location

Excellent Customer Service... Rooms are great .. Might recommend more appliances for extra convienience..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 14, 2011

Very nice Hote

First time staying there. Very nice Hotel. Only thing was the surprise $23 charge for parking at the time of checking out. Parking charge should be stated at the time of reservations, not when we are checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 21, 2011

Not The Best.

My fiance and I went to Dallas for our first time there, just to check out the city. I have always enjoyed staying at Fairmont hotels all around the country but Fairmont Dallas did not live up to my expectations! The service was good, except for the foreign valet guy who when I asked about how to get to Uptown's restaurants and bars he gave me wrong directions and seemed to have no idea what part of town uptown was in. The Location is not very close to nightlife spots. We had to drive everywhere. While the bed was comfortable, the pillows were too thin and uncomfortable. They have a nice pool but NO HOT TUB!! Also, we were there during excellent weather in March but their pool side service is only offered May thru Sep. I would only stay here again if room rates are deeply discounted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Aug 8, 2011

Fairmont was fair

So the hotel was nice and the room was average, which was unfortunate because the hotel claims to be very nice. I would say the room was close to a room ata Hampton Inn. Also, the room never really got cool, could be the 109 temps outside or just poor ac.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out the food blogs for Dallas, great advice on local restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northern California
Jun 6, 2010

Mixed review

Not as nice as any other Fairmont we've seen We were not allowed to check out before we got our luggage out of our room, then when we returned after breakfast there was a 25 minute wait and only one employee at the front desk. Front desk manager was not helpful nor was she at all concerned. Consequently, we had to rush to get to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very short walk to the beautiful Fountain Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaxon1127
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 3, 2010

Fairmont, Dallas Good location

Room was dirty, bedside lights didn't work internet was slow and $14 a day. Bathroom was very dirty. Staff was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ross st and take a right

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 25, 2010

Just OK

Bathtub was stained and dirty, when asked for it to be cleaned, I was told stains can't be removed and there wasn't much they could do; all clean lady did was spray some desinfectant (after my request). Bed and pillows were comfy. This is supposedly a luxury hotel but it was just OK. They charge for mandatory valet parking ($22), for local calls (56 cents/each) and internet service ($15/day). For this "value" I would go to a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 31, 2010

Beware of High Fees

The hotel is nice and if money is not an issue this is a good hotel in a central location to everything. If you are traveling on a budget however, be aware that your cost to stay in the hotel is where it starts. Expect to pay high fees to park and enjoy any of the services that the hotel has to offer, including Internet. I wish I had called the hotel in advance to ask about fees and services before I booked the room. Also, there is a coffee franchise located in the hotel but there is only one restaurant and it's expensive. The room service staff was excellent though so if you need anything they are very willing to please. The desk staff however are not as friendly but they are not rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the Arts District so if museums, the symphony, and a world-class aquarium appeal to you this is the place to be. They are all either a few blocks away or a short drive down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top