$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Fairmont Dallas

4 stars
1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
203 reviews
A 4-star hotel that provides 5-star service

I'm absolutely impressed by the service. I've traveled to many of 5-star hotels around the world... See full review

  • Blonde Mamba
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great location and value

great downtown Dallas location. Great customer service. Clean room. Definitely would stay again. See full review

  • Travel7787
  • May 14, 2014
The Fairmont Dallas is part of the Fairmont Hotels & Resorts brand, a name synonymous with classic luxury and time-honored tradition. Opened in 1969, the hotel is widely considered one of the original luxury resorts in the Dallas area. Guests can visit the rooftop to chill by the pool beneath the bright Texas sky. In the evenings, the Pyramid Restaurant & Bar offers alternative dining - straying from typical Texan fare, dishes like the pressed octopus, Berkshire pork belly, and kaffir & chili crusted ostrich are exotic changes from the traditional steak and barbecue.
Key facts
  • 545 rooms and suites
  • Herb and vegetable garden
  • 24-hour Business and conference center
  • 24-hour access to gym and spa
  • Junior Olympic-sized pool
  • Wine Spectator Award of Excellence
  • 70,000-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
The Fairmont holds a prime position between both the Financial and Arts Districts, giving visitors plenty to explore. Adorned with restaurants, bars and family-friendly attractions, this neighborhood caters to business and leisure guests in equal measure. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the Dallas World Aquarium, a true family favorite with over 5,000 animals. There's also The Klyde Warren Park and Perot Museum of Nature & Science - both a short stroll from the Dallas Arts District.
Hints and tips
Drop by the YMCA health club and spa right across the street from the Fairmont - that extra workout will make you feel less guilty about indulging in Texas-sized treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7861 -96.8017
Area served
Dallas, TX
Nearby airports
Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, (DFW), 25.00, NW, Mile; Dallas Love Field, (DAL), 4.50, NW, Mile
Area description
Making its home in the Dallas Arts District - The Fairmont Dallas is just minutes from the Central Business District - Victory Park (home of the American Airlines Center) the Financial District - outstanding culture and entertainment activities as well as shopping in the West End Historic District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Dallas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Fairmont Dallas Rooms

Moderate Queen-City View
One queen bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet. Chenille throw. 300 square feet. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Room-City View
One king bed or two double beds with pillow top mattresses. 350 square feet. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk. Dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Suite-City Skyline View
: One king bed or one queen with pillow top mattresses. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. 700 square feet. Living area with marble dining table and sitting area with sofa bed. Two lounge chairs. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. iHome with iPod docking station. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Nonsmoking.
Fairmont Gold-City Skylights View
One king bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet and chenille throw. 350 square feet. Private check-in on 18th floor. Located on top floors with unobstructed city skylights views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Urban-style furnishings, including work desk. Vibrant and crisp dcor. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Flat-screen HDTV with Nintendo. Bose CD player with iPod docking station. Marble bathroom with rainfall shower. Complimentary breakfast with hot items, honor bar, and cocktail hour canaps served in Fairmont Gold Lounge. Exclusive Fairmont Gold Concierge, computer workstation, and board room facilities. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 3.8 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 3.9 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.2 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.4 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 226.2 mi

Dining

Pyramid Restaurant
The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar's sleek contemporary decor is perfectly paired with exciting cuisine. Many of the items on our Modern American menu incorporate fresh, sustainable ingredients from The Fairmont Dallas' rooftop herb and vegetable garden. The expansive 3,000 square foot garden, which includes two honeybee hives, is tended to by the culinary team on a daily basis. Local suppliers and food purveyors are utilized.
Pyramid Bar
Sophisticated and lively, Pyramid Bar has a new decor inspired by the hotel's arts district location. Guests will enjoy elevated modern cocktails, premium liquors and a varied selection of wine and beer.
Starbucks
Coffee drinks, lattes, tea, hot and cold beverages, and pastries. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Dallas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling controller
Business
Alabama
Sep 14, 2011

Business trip to Dallas

The staff was friendly and helpful, all around excellent, from "check-in" to "check-out". The room was very spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super uncle
Vancouver, Wa.
Nov 16, 2010

great location, easy access from freeway

The staff at the hotel were courteous and helpfull. Compliments to the registration desk as well as the concierge, the parking attendents and bellboys. The room was spacoius and well maintained. Would definitely recommend and return there on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas texas
Nov 21, 2010

Couple

We attended a charitable event, microwave and refridgerator was missing, first time stay at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sleep interrupted by cracking sound like when the heater is on warming up the pipes.

Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new [...]fan
OKC, OK
May 23, 2011

Thanks! But read the fine print.

The hotel was a high end, unaffordable chain without the rate given through [...]. Beautiful, and a great value. However, in the future we will know to read the fine print...by the time we paid for parking and internet we were way above our budget. Also, the sink in our bathroom was plugged - slow draining at best, something we didn't expect from a Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the hotel service to help plan the best use of your time in a new city!

Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nelson the great
Miami, florida
Jun 8, 2010

I didn't want to be disturb!!!

Well, my wife and are not very happy. We went to Dallas to enjoy the nice pool hotel location and sleep. We needed to relax and sleep, well, we couldn't. First morning somebody knock the to confirm if the maid did her job the day before (i set the "do not disturb" on the door). That day we went to walk around the downtown and we loved it, so we forgot the incident earlier in the morning... That night we slept well and nobody disturbed us in the next morning. We went to the pool and ordered breakfast, some drinks, lunch, more drinks... And we had a great time. Next morning.... Somebody knock the door at 7 am... My wife couldn't belive it.... So we left the hotel that day... We are not happy... Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yo restaurant, spaghueti factory, sushi wotld, aquarium.... Great..!!!

Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexican tourister
Mexico city
Aug 10, 2010

Great stay in down town Dallas

Very friendly staff. Beautiful and confortable. The only thing I did not like is the house keeping was done very late. We loved the pool. We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worrior
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Apr 29, 2010

Great location and price hotel

nice and decent quality of room in the great location of art district!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seldom in dallas
seattle
Oct 26, 2009

fairmont dallas

walked to museums, restaurants and local sites. museum isn't full of amentities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Dec 25, 2009

Nice Hotel

GREAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Conference
Business
Chicago
Mar 22, 2010

Good Hotel...Great for the money.

The Hotel's rooms were a very good size. The Bathrooms were a bit small however overall it was an excellent place to stay in Downtown Dallas and for the price, it was excellent. ~$130/night for a Fairmont is exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search