$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

The Fairmont Dallas

4 stars
1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
207 reviews
Fancy!

Very clean, and very nice hotel. Would definitely stay gain. See full review

  • Miss Angela
  • Oct 13, 2014
A 4-star hotel that provides 5-star service

I'm absolutely impressed by the service. I've traveled to many of 5-star hotels around the world... See full review

  • Blonde Mamba
  • Jun 9, 2014
The Fairmont Dallas is part of the Fairmont Hotels & Resorts brand, a name synonymous with classic luxury and time-honored tradition. Opened in 1969, the hotel is widely considered one of the original luxury resorts in the Dallas area. Guests can visit the rooftop to chill by the pool beneath the bright Texas sky. In the evenings, the Pyramid Restaurant & Bar offers alternative dining - straying from typical Texan fare, dishes like the pressed octopus, Berkshire pork belly, and kaffir & chili crusted ostrich are exotic changes from the traditional steak and barbecue.
Key facts
  • 545 rooms and suites
  • Herb and vegetable garden
  • 24-hour Business and conference center
  • 24-hour access to gym and spa
  • Junior Olympic-sized pool
  • Wine Spectator Award of Excellence
  • 70,000-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
The Fairmont holds a prime position between both the Financial and Arts Districts, giving visitors plenty to explore. Adorned with restaurants, bars and family-friendly attractions, this neighborhood caters to business and leisure guests in equal measure. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the Dallas World Aquarium, a true family favorite with over 5,000 animals. There's also The Klyde Warren Park and Perot Museum of Nature & Science - both a short stroll from the Dallas Arts District.
Hints and tips
Drop by the YMCA health club and spa right across the street from the Fairmont - that extra workout will make you feel less guilty about indulging in Texas-sized treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Dallas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Fairmont Dallas Rooms

Moderate Queen-City View
One queen bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet. Chenille throw. 300 square feet. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Room-City View
One king bed or two double beds with pillow top mattresses. 350 square feet. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk. Dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Marble bath.
Fairmont Suite-City Skyline View
: One king bed or one queen with pillow top mattresses. French-wrapped duvets and chenille throws. 700 square feet. Living area with marble dining table and sitting area with sofa bed. Two lounge chairs. Rich warm decor with bold accents. Desk with dual-line speaker phone. Flat-screen HDTV. iHome with iPod docking station. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Nonsmoking.
Fairmont Gold-City Skylights View
One king bed with pillow top mattress. French-wrapped duvet and chenille throw. 350 square feet. Private check-in on 18th floor. Located on top floors with unobstructed city skylights views through floor-to-ceiling windows. Urban-style furnishings, including work desk. Vibrant and crisp dcor. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Flat-screen HDTV with Nintendo. Bose CD player with iPod docking station. Marble bathroom with rainfall shower. Complimentary breakfast with hot items, honor bar, and cocktail hour canaps served in Fairmont Gold Lounge. Exclusive Fairmont Gold Concierge, computer workstation, and board room facilities. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.1 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.2 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.3 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.5 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.5 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 3.8 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 3.9 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.2 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.4 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 226.2 mi

Dining

Pyramid Restaurant
The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar's sleek contemporary decor is perfectly paired with exciting cuisine. Many of the items on our Modern American menu incorporate fresh, sustainable ingredients from The Fairmont Dallas' rooftop herb and vegetable garden. The expansive 3,000 square foot garden, which includes two honeybee hives, is tended to by the culinary team on a daily basis. Local suppliers and food purveyors are utilized.
Pyramid Bar
Sophisticated and lively, Pyramid Bar has a new decor inspired by the hotel's arts district location. Guests will enjoy elevated modern cocktails, premium liquors and a varied selection of wine and beer.
Starbucks
Coffee drinks, lattes, tea, hot and cold beverages, and pastries. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Dallas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trey Pound
Charlotte, NC
Oct 23, 2012

Very Pleased

Hotel staff was very friendly/accomodating; hotel/room looked/felt very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
knick for life
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 20, 2011

solid business hotel

rooms are nice, beds comfortable, the staff is super friendly. the downside is getting charged for EVERYTHING. e.g. $15 for internet. $25 for parking $7.50 for a bottle of H20.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wisco
Business
wisconsin
Aug 18, 2011

Downtown Dallas Awesome!

This is a great hotel for the rate that I got. Perfect location. 7 blocks from JFK museum, 5 from the AA center, and very close to all the good spots downtown. Couldn't be happier for the price I paid. Definitely putting this hotel on my list for future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

JFK Museum is 7 blocks away.......easy 10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anniversary pair
Business
Texas, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Wonderful and relaxing romantic evening

The pool and the surrounding area are wonderful. The pool is much larger than most hotel pools with very comfortable chairs and areas to get out of sun. The breakfast for the gold floors was wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cynth
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 16, 2011

Quick Getaway: One Year Anniversary

This was a great place for a quick getaway! It was easy to find and the rooms were very nice for the price. Unfortuntely, even though staying there was great, being able to afford anything at the hotel was not so great. The food was very expensive (ex: 7.50 a bowl for cheerios) and they only offered valet parking which was $24 a night. Overall, had a wonderful trip! The staff was very good, pretty hotel, and alot of stuff to do outside of the hotel :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go big or go home for the dining experience. We wanted something nice, but not ridiculously expensive. We settled for a restaurant within walking distance where we paid 70.0 to eat (this was two meals, no appetizers, no drinks, and no desserts). For $30 more we could have eaten on the rootfop of a building. Next time we won't skimp...I was not impressed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annie12
Business
Chicago
Aug 15, 2011

Dallas

This is a very nice hotel. Great experience! I would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Aug 8, 2011

Fairmont was fair

So the hotel was nice and the room was average, which was unfortunate because the hotel claims to be very nice. I would say the room was close to a room ata Hampton Inn. Also, the room never really got cool, could be the 109 temps outside or just poor ac.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out the food blogs for Dallas, great advice on local restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 2, 2011

Good and Bad

I attended the May Kay Seminar. The hotel is beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. The restaurant was fabulous and I highly recommend it, note that it is higher priced. The staff were very nice. The only thing that was bad was the performance of the maintenance staff. I stayed three nights and called every morning to tell them the tub drained slowly. I was standing in ankle deep water by the end of every shower. I don't think the maintenance staff believed me, all they did was to take the stopper out. When I checked out I showed them a picture of the tub with standing water. They apologized profusely. With all that being said I will give the Fairmont another chance because it is convenient to the conference center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The Hotel is within a long walk of the Dallas Convention Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pattigene
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 1, 2011

Wonderful Mary Kay Hotel Stay

What a beautiful hotel. I stayed on the top floor - 24 - and it was soo hot in there. When I arrived, I turned the thermometer down to under 60, yet it never cooled the room. I asked for a fan, and that was helpful. I hear that this winter they are renovating, so I am confident that next year when I arrive in Dallas for our Mary Kay Seminar, the room will be perfect! The restaurant was divine. The service in the restaurant, the quality of the food, and the ambiance was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Although the prices are high, it is well worth it! Chef [...] came out to our table and answered all our questions about the menu. Server [...] was quite knowledgeable. And the Somelier (sp ??) [...] suggested some fabulous wines to go with our meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampton VA
Jul 30, 2011

SLEEP WELL AT THE FAIRMONT

Meals were very costly,example $7.00 for a bowel of cereal, breakfast with egges and bacon $25.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Normal, IL
Jul 12, 2011

Fairview Dallas - High class all the way

Great door service, excellent check in, concierge was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great outdoor food district within 5 minute drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top