$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 19, 2015

Magnolia Hotel Dallas

4 stars
View map of 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan executive traveler
Business
United States
Jun 7, 2014

Not nice, not a 4 star, in need of renovation, disappointing.

Staff was very accommodating in this dated, 3 star property masquerading as a luxury 4 star. Lovely building but that's all. Horrible old carpet, messy bathroom paint jobs covering leaky walls, loud and creaky plumbing heard from neighboring rooms all night. Room service old food trays left in halls all night and all morning. Dark and dingy with mildew smells, bad towels and cheap amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mini65
Single
seattle. wa
May 14, 2014

great extras

breakfast was great. Complementary wine was unexpected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VB Dad1
Family
Dallas
Apr 21, 2014

Great Location

Great location in downtown and within walking distance of the convention center. Elevators can be slow at rush time. Great staff. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt1347999999
Couples
twin cities, mn
Feb 18, 2014

best downtown Dallas hotel

Nice old building with history. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DayesieMae
Couples
Dallas, Tx.
Jan 11, 2014

Fun getaway

Spacious room with excellent view! Loved the cookies at night. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrsloris
Family
Tracy ca
Dec 21, 2013

Not what we expected

Maybe this was a bad weekend for the magnolia hotel. We were given a room in the 23 floor which one would think was a great perk. Not so, the hotel elevators were broken so we had to hike up and down 23 floors To make matters worse when we checked in we were given an " emergency" room key because the computers were down. Yep you guessed it the emergency key wouldn't open our room door after we hiked up 23 floors. We had a very unpleasant stay at this hotel and would suggest that it gets downgraded in ratings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. King
Couples
Tulsa, ok
Dec 10, 2013

Great Experience

We had a great experience here, we had a layover in Dallas on our way to Mexico for our honeymoon and decided to stay downtown for the view and get away from the noise that can come from airports. We loved everything about this hotel, the staff was friendly and even put us in an amazing room with a view of the downtown on three sides of our room. The only issue we had was one website there was an airport shuttle included so we didn't even think to make sure that was correct and booked it. Then realized there wan't a shuttle to the airport so we had to rent a car for the night, which is a much cheaper option than a taxi which would have cost us $56 one way. But even after having to rent a car we still enjoyed our stay and go back! The milk and cookies at bedtime are a definite plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant was amazing in the hotel and decent prices! Also, the milk and cookies before bedtime were a bonus!

Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalebdas
Friends
Sidney
Nov 5, 2013

Sports stay

The hotel is nice don't get me wrong, but I had some bad experiences the toilet did not flush and I only went number 1 and the elevator felt like the tower of terror and once on the bottom, had a major delay in opening, this me very closterafobic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC traveller 1
Business
Washington DC
Oct 29, 2013

Magnolia mixed

quality staff, great free breakfast, but rooms and general decor need updating. the suites are starting to look a little like dated apartments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

enjoy the hot and cold breakfast buffet, on the second floor. It is complimentary

Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCPlano
Couples
Plano, Tx
Oct 20, 2013

Nice hotel in downtown Dallas for the price

The Magnolia Hotel is located in downtown Dallas in an area that has been slowly improving over the last few years, but still has some issues with a few closed buildings/store fronts. If you like shopping, Neiman Marcus is located a block away from the hotel. Also, there are several bars and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel staff was friendly and provided good service. The room itself was spacious, up to date, and very clean. The complementary breakfast buffet was good. It included hot items, fruit, cereal, and pastries. We stayed at this hotel for one night after a concert at the American Airlines Center and we felt it turned out to be a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

As is the case for many hotels located in downtown areas, parking is expensive or very limited, so it more convenient to use the valet for which there is a charge from the hotel. If your car was parked by the valet, it is important to follow the hotel's advice to call or text 10-15 minutes ahead so you won't have to wait for your car in front of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top