$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Magnolia Hotel Dallas

4 stars
View map of 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC traveller 1
Business
Washington DC
Oct 29, 2013

Magnolia mixed

quality staff, great free breakfast, but rooms and general decor need updating. the suites are starting to look a little like dated apartments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

enjoy the hot and cold breakfast buffet, on the second floor. It is complimentary

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalebdas
Business
Sidney
Nov 5, 2013

Sports stay

The hotel is nice don't get me wrong, but I had some bad experiences the toilet did not flush and I only went number 1 and the elevator felt like the tower of terror and once on the bottom, had a major delay in opening, this me very closterafobic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed Mother/Daughter Weekender
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 11, 2010

How did they get a 4 star rating?

The hotel was intersting because it was an old oil building with modern decorations. Scary thing was there was only 1 place to get ice for the ice bucket, and it was the 25th floor you had to go up to the 24th floor and walk a flight of scary stairs in a creepy stair well (The emergency exit stairs) to get to the 25th floor or try to get the one elevetor that would actually go to the 25th floor, the others would not go there. The 25th floor was creepy like a utility room with low ceilings and pipes hanging down, washers and dryers and vending machines. I was disappointed that the acutal hotel room too! Our room had chunks of plaster missing from the outside wall and many cracks and peeling paint. The room was quiet as far as the hotel and other guests/rooms, however the street and downtown area was very loud and had many sirens blaring several times during the night. The street noise seemed to just stream through the windows. The room was a very tight squeeze and the desk was only functional from the end, not from the front like normal. Also there was no where to put your luggage. No luggage rack, no dresser, no room in closet because of the mini fridge. Had to put luggage on floor under desk and in chair. Bathroom had stains in toilet and tub and had cheap fixtures, Wal-mart type cabinets and formica counter tops -- found this odd in a 4 star hotel. Beds were very comfortable with many pillows. Breakfast buffet was awesome. The maid service came into our room as she knocked at 9am on a Saturday morning, daughter was dressing. Saturday night at 10pm they knocked on the door wanted to bring us a tooth brush, I assume they had the wrong room. My search criteria [...] included a pool, they did not have one. They were also suppose to have a huge hot tub, but it was under construction. The valet would not allow you to call down and request your car on Sunday, you had to bring them the ticket...it took them 35 minutes to get our car. I expected more and was disappointed, absolutely not a 4 star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pepe's owner
Business
Marshall, Texas
Aug 23, 2011

wedding anniversary

we would stay again; the room was clean, bed comfortable, cookies at bedtime was a treat; breakfast was adequate; staff was nice; old hotel but well kept; it was quiet, no complaints about neighbors; altogether the stay was what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

map out the location of the hotel to the attraction you will visit to avoid too much traveling!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wcr7675
Business
TEXAS
Nov 24, 2014

Good for the Price

Elevators were not working well. Only 2 elevators were working, which was difficult to manage. Hotel was in the perfect location. I would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

American Airline Center is close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeremy G.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

New Year's Eve Stay

It is a beautiful and conveniently located hotel. Like many reviews will tell you, the elevators are a problem and they have been since my last stay there, 3 years ago. They could use more front desk help but other than that, ot was a 4-star stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VB Dad1
Business
Dallas
Apr 21, 2014

Great Location

Great location in downtown and within walking distance of the convention center. Elevators can be slow at rush time. Great staff. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Accyholly
Business
Accrington, Lancs, England
Aug 12, 2012

Texas relative visit

Wonderful stay in general at this hotel - staff very friendly and informative - complimentary drinks at tea time and then coffee and cookies in the even ing- great idea! Had a good deal with free valet parking which helps keep the costs down - good courtesy bus, Only negative was noisy room both from traffic even though we were on 15th floor and plumbing noise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

A must is the trolley bus - travels all the way up Mckinney Ave showing you all the good bars, restaurants and shops etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrisbaby
Business
Australia
Sep 27, 2012

Spacious & comfortable

Suite was spacious and modern, and in a very good location. The bed was not very comfortable and the pillows were very hard. I asked for 2 soft pillows to be sent up the next day, and we received 1 soft one and another hard one. The staff were very courteous and helpful. If it wasn't for the bed I would highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcellis
Business
Houston
Jan 2, 2013

Good Location, Slightly Pricey

Positives 1. Downtown 2. Two blocks from DART Substation 3. Better than average Free continental Breakfast 4. Close proximity to a lot of restaurants 5. Large comfortable Room Negativess 1. No Luggage racks in room 2. No full length Mirror 3. Thin walls and windows (Old building) kept street noise on New Year's Eve comning in loud and clear well into the morning 4. Price: Not the most economical, though that seems to be constistent with downtown. Expect to pay about $25 additional for overnight valet parking on top of reservation price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Dart Station is two blocks away to catch the green line to Fair Park (Cotton Bowl stadium)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top