$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
168 reviews
Great Staff

Among the positive things I have to say about Hotel Lawrence, the best would be the folks who work... See full review

  • JDTT
  • Jun 7, 2013
Great Historic Location

Fine hotel, although restaurant now closed. Apparently, serious remodeling scheduled for the future. See full review

  • Robt
  • Jun 23, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 168
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juli Juli
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Jul 15, 2013

Very good amenities

The hotel offer great amenities, but is a kind old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy in NY
NY, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Enjoyed the stay

First, what the hotel lacks in 'charm' it is made up for in Southern Hospitality. The entire staff was both friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast...you must try the biscuits and gravy. The biscuits alone are amazing. They're moist and buttery...not dry like most biscuits. While you sit down to eat your breakfast, you can look out the window and see the book depository, Dealey Square and the Red Museum. It's the same view when you eat at The Founders Grill. As for the restaurant...AMAZING! It may be a little pricey for some, but the food is phenomenal. The tilapia roma was superb. The caesar salad was one of the best I've ever had. I also had the salmon dish and the fettucine alfredo with blackened shrimp. Everything was so good. If you're a foodie...they do not disappoint. The shuttle service was a great feature. The driver was also able to drive me to the airport on his day off, so it pays to be friendly to the staff. Each time the shuttle took me out, they always pointed out places to go. Since I was there for the Dallas Stars, they also made sure I knew I had to take a cab back to the hotel and where I could find the cab after the game. After the game, I walked into the lobby and was greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie before I headed up to my room. The hotel is great for the food, location and service. The room and hotel could use an update, but overall, it was clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. If you're visiting Dallas and plan on visiting the JFK stuff, this hotel is in a great location. The JFK Memorial is a block and a half away (next to Red Museum). Dealey Square (grassy knoll area) is a block away, the book depository (aka The Sixth Floor Museum) is 2 blocks away. Overall, it was the staff that helped make this trip to Dallas an amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not shop in Dallas. You'll be greeted with an 8.25% sales tax. But if you must shop, West Village is a nice little neighborhood to shop. Dining Tip: Beyond Founders Grill, there is a whole street filled with restaurants on Market Street, which is one block up from the JFK area, and to the left. TOURISM: Perot Museum recently opened up. If you have kids, this is the perfect place to take them. There's a children's museum on the bottom floor, as well as a sports exhibit. As you walk around through the museum, you may find one of its coolest features...a live tornado inside the museum. Also, if you are there to go to the book depository, try and get tickets early (I don't know if this is possible). The long line (and one ticket seller) was beyond annoying. I left. I guesstimated it was a 1.5 hour long wait to get tickets.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobby276
North Texas
Dec 16, 2012

It was so bad I didn't even stay

Booked this because it had an discount. It was by far the worst hotel I've ever been in. Waited 15 minutes in the lobby just to check in. Guy working the desk was going intentionally slow. Warm milk and dirty cookies for happy hour... Great! I have literally stayed at better hostels in third world countries than this place. Popo stains on the carpet. Sheets that haven't been replaced since this historic hotel opened in the 1900s. Pay the extra $40 and stay somewhere decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a better hotel.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Degs
Kent, England
Nov 15, 2012

Good basic hotel

Good, friendly service from staff. Room clean but basic, in room coffee and water bottles provided, tv remote did not always work. Good location for historic sites, not so good for food, etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Budget Hotel Shopper
Denton, TX
Nov 4, 2012

Wonderful location, but not much else.

Generally, I choose to stay at low price hotels such as Knights Inn, mainly due to budget concerns. I was able to find a relatively good price for a room at the Hotel Lawrence, only spending about $80 after taxes and fees, so I decided to give it a go. The location was great, with two DART rail stations just a few blocks away, so no complaints there. However, upon actually entering the hotel, I started realizing that location was all it had going for it. First, the lobby and the staff. When I entered the hotel, the first thing I noticed was how loud and rowdy the Lobby was. This was due to the connected bar, Founders Grill. Perhaps it was just a busy day and this isn't the norm, but it definitely raised a flag in my head. Next, the decorations and furniture, while nice, all seemed very worn out and in need of repairs/touch ups. The tile floor was cracked in places, the front desk was scuffed and chipped badly, the chairs could use some repair work... all in all, it felt a little run down. At the desk was a gentleman named Michael. While friendly enough, he was very soft spoken and seemed a bit shy or nervous. Check-in took only a few minutes and I was given my room key. From the desk, I went to the elevators, these too looking run down and out dated, and headed up to my room, number 508. Now onto the room itself. Entering the room I didn't know what to expect, but I wasn't very hopeful after seeing the lobby, elevators, and hallway to the rooms. The room was a single queen bed room that felt more like a cheap college dormitory than a hotel room. There was a dresser/closet, a writing desk, the bed, a smallish TV, and a stereo/CD player all crammed into a tiny space. Everything had that same worn out feeling the lobby had, and some obvious repairs needed to be made. The desk had many gouges, chips, and even a burn mark. The closet doors didn't close properly, the stereo didn't pick up stations very well, and the bed felt very unstable when I sat down on it. The windows were grimy and hard to see out of, and there was a lot of dust, as if the cleaning crew had done only a cursory job cleaning. The bathroom felt much the same, with everything from the toilet to the tub being in need of a touch up and good clean. The one upside was the giant bathtub, which made soaking a joy. The next morning, I went to the 2nd floor for the continental breakfast. All in all it was pretty standard fair with a few additions that were pleasantly surprising. They had the basic muffins, which were too dry for me to eat, bagels with cream cheese, cereal, toast etc. They also had a very tasty biscuits and gravy offering that surprised me, as well as a Texas shaped waffle iron and waffle batter. The staff was quick and efficient with keeping everything stocked, even though it was near time to shut it down. In short, the Hotel Lawrence was a severe let down and I'd be lying if I said I was happy with my stay. The only things I can say were good was the location and the breakfast. I will never be staying here again, despite the prime location, and wish I had simply saved myself $40 and stayed at the Knights Inn a few miles away. I can't say I'd ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to try something different and very tasty, take a walk down to Capriotti's Sandwich shop on Ross and Lamar. It's about a 10 minute walk and the food is phenomenal. The staff there is very friendly and the subs are HUGE. Their small is a 9 inch!

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP70
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Jun 10, 2012

good location downtown dallas

downtown dallas to walk. but dont expect high quality, bathrooms are refurnished. it is absolutely ok what you get for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

dallas art museum, a great place.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S.L. Rampey
Columbia, SC
Jan 25, 2012

Friendly Staff

The room I stayed in was perfect for one person. The room was kept clean and the staff was very courteous. The only complaint I have is the water valves seemed to have been mixed up between the sink and shower. The sink only spurted forth warm and hot water whereas the shower only provided lukewarm or cold water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The tap room and grill had great food and friendly staff.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston
Jul 31, 2011

good

have a funtime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston
Jul 31, 2011

good

have a funtime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conroe, Tx
Jul 8, 2011

Never stay @ Hotel Lawrence

Not pleased with this hotel. The review rating when I made reservation was a 3.0, I would rate it at a 1.5 at best. They have no parking, but there is a paid parking at the rear of the place. If you arrive after 6pm it will cost $5 for the night but you must either be out of the lot by 6am or go pay $12 for the day by 6am. Also there is no rear entrance to the hotel so you must carry your luggage around the outside of the building to the front, in order to get in your room. Once inside you will notice that everywhere you look something is broke and or needs to be replaced. Rooms are extremely cramped. It's not possible to close the blinds to keep the exterior light out or to keep others from seeing into the room. Shower heads are so massive that the bathroom floor has standing water on it when you get out of the shower; curtains are nowhere near capable of keeping the water inside the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top