$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
133 reviews
Great location and price

Great hotel for the money you pay. By far the best location in downtown Dallas, even better than... See full review

  • Pete and Memphis
  • Jan 5, 2015
Lovely stay!!!

I currently live in Dallas TX, but I needed to get away from things and have some me time. Overall... See full review

  • yumyum214
  • Sep 18, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique decor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 133
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Molliec
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Jan 18, 2014

Do not stay here!

When I arrived I waited over an hour in the lobby for the staff to locate my reservation. When I finally made it to my room it hadn't been cleaned and I was moved to a new room. The heater did not work well and the shower was broken. I was on a non-smoking floor, however it reeked of smoke. The elevator seems like it could break at any second. The breakfast was also horrible. Do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truth20122012
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 4, 2012

Stay Away

This hotel is old, falling apartment and dirty. 10 minutes into the stay we already wanted to leave. But they have a 24 hour cancelation policy so we had to stay another 2 days. As soon as you walk in you will notice the discolored sealing , the entire hotel needs a serious touch up. They also charge $15 dollar a day to park there, if not you have to find your own parking at the closest lot. The room had an awful smell and the bathroom tub was discolored. This was hands down the worst hotel i've ever stayed at. Save yourself the bad experience and do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Borance Hotel
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 30, 2012

Ok, if you only need your room to sleep

First off, the this place is old...not "Historic" as it's description claims. Secondly, it is WAY understaffed. I checked in at 3 and thank goodness I was there early because there was a line of about 10 parties behind me. I checked in, went to my room and unpacked, ironed clothes and changed outfits. By the time I had finished I went out back through the lobby and over half of those people were STILL waiting in line. I felt bad for the ONE PERSON that was working the front desk, but he was in way over his head. Next, the rooms.....sheesh. I don't even know what to say. They're old....real old. Old fuzzy TVs, no comforter (yeah, that's right..no comforter...just a knitted blanket and two sheets# and just flat out lacking what normal hotels consider the basics. Also, our TV remote died. I went to see if they had a knew one and to also see about getting something that resembled a quilt, but when I got to the lobby, there was a line about 5 people deep. From my earlier experience I estimated the wate to be at least 20 minutes so I turned right around and said no thanks to that and went back to my room. If you are only looking for a place to sleep at night...I guess it was fine. We were hardly in our room and only there two nights, but I think next time I would suck it up and pay the extra $30 bucks to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lexi Super Dog
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2013

Don't Stay Here!!

Before I decided to stay here, I looked up the hotel's website. Their website made the hotel look luxurious and chic. That was not the case at all. We arrived in the room and everything was horrible. The carpet was incredibly old and stained; it was disgusting to even walk on it. The television was from 1980 with a remote that didn't work. The bathtub looked disgusting and had growths. The room was 80 degrees. The elevator took 10 minutes to come down or to our floor. This place reminded me of a cheap European hostel. I would not recommend staying here at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There are bars less than a mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dragonsamor
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Jun 15, 2013

How My Car Got Stolen. A Story of The Hotel Lawrence

Do not valet your car here!! My boyfriend and I decided to stay in Dallas for one night. We chose The Hotel Lawrence because there was a coupon for it online. The only plus about that hotel is the location. There is no parking except for a $12 lot with no in/out privileges. We decided to valet my car for the night (for $15+ tax). The next morning we asked for my car to be brought to the front so we could check out. 10 minutes later the valet who claims to have parked my car the night before asks us, "Where did you park your car?" Not a good sign. He had no recollection of my car. My boyfriend goes with the valet to see if he can spot my car. Guess where the valet lot is? That $12 lot that I mentioned earlier. My car isn't there. After about 90 minutes the valet reports that my car was stolen. Although the valet admitted to leaving my car unlocked when the police arrived, the hotel is claiming no responsibility for the theft of my car. They were SO kind as to refund my my valet charge, but told me to my face that I would have to sue them in order for them to do anything else. This has been a nightmare and I hope no one else has to go through this after reading my experience. Please heed my story.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Atsmo
Business
Fort worth
Sep 17, 2013

Do not book

Dirty dingy dump parking is not the safest it was so bad we decided to book another hotel even tho we had already paid for this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jun 16, 2009

disappointed, wouldn't stay again!

disappointed, not very clean, small room and smell badly. No parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jun 11, 2011

Run-down Hotel

Not like what I expected at all from description on their own website. In a sketchy part of town and the hotel smelled funny, especially in the elevator. It was cheap, but I definitely expected more. Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adamokc
Business
OKC
Oct 20, 2014

ummm surprise

We needed a hotel downtown and this one look quiant and eclectic on the pictures but it is old and run down and seems like most people just live here on the cheap all year. it is not really a hotel but a downtown hostel sort of place. we nearly left but stuck it out and got the heck out of there. only minutes from jfk site. spend the extra money and stay at the Hyatt across the street and feel safe its worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LouLin
Business
Austin
Jan 6, 2014

Oh My......

We stayed here a few years ago....so sad to see the decline. We arrived at our room to no bedspread/comforter/blanket.....just sheets on the bed. In trying to call down to the desk to have them brought up, well....the phone didn't work. My husband went down to the desk to tell them of both issues. They asked if he wanted a blanket or comforter...he said "comforter". In a few minutes a blanket was delivered to our room. They were quick in fixing the phone (switched out the handset with another room). Then the search for ice....our floor ice machine out of order and said to go to the floor above. No ice there or floor below. Found ice later three floors up. TV remote didn't work. Northern blew in during the night.....literally blew and howled through the cracks around the window. All furniture and woodwork/mouldings very scuffed and nicked. . At least it was mostly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top