Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Francis S.
Single
Denver
Jan 14, 2015

50th anniversay of JFK

This was a perfect fit for the trip I took. I was only there for 8 hours to sleep. I had a shower and a bed. It did the job. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ambassador Lonnie
Couples
Houston
May 27, 2015

Best location possible

The location is about the only thing this hotel has going for itself. I completely understand that it is an historic building, but that is no excuse to have all old amenities. Overall if you're looking for a great downtown location then this is the one. Otherwise go ahead and spend a few extra dollars for another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hockey and JFK
Couples
Houston, tx
Jan 27, 2014

Great location and staff, old building

The hotel was a great location for visiting Dealey Plaza and the American Airlines Center. We walked easily. The hotel is clean and staff genuinely friendly, but it hasn't seen many updates/renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddfire54
Couples
gulfport ms
Mar 8, 2014

great location.

friendly staff, good area, downtown, building looks dated, but clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice breakfast, small fitness room, but if you want exercise park is across the street. about a 8.00 dollar cab ride to downtown, hard rock or house of blues. great coffee, cookies at night, subway restaurant across the street, parking available at the hotel 10 dollars, all day and night safe and secure. i would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

take a cab, train or bus to downtown, very easy access to all three. reasonable price.,

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick From OR
Business
Portland OR
Apr 27, 2014

Better than I though

Having seen some of the reviews I was a little nervous, but the hotel was just what I expected. It is an old hotel so what? Room and bathroom was nice , with all the amenities including Free Wi-Fi and coffee . Breakfast was also very good with more selections than many other hotels. I stayed 4 night and I had no problems at all. The location is great, close to the convention center and everything down town. Very close to Union Station were you can catch the light rail to get around the city or the train to Forth Worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP70
Single
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Jun 10, 2012

good location downtown dallas

downtown dallas to walk. but dont expect high quality, bathrooms are refurnished. it is absolutely ok what you get for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

dallas art museum, a great place.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ranafonk
Couples
Mexico City
Oct 4, 2012

Good choice

Nice place, clean, good food in the bar! I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy in NY
Single
NY, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Enjoyed the stay

First, what the hotel lacks in 'charm' it is made up for in Southern Hospitality. The entire staff was both friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast...you must try the biscuits and gravy. The biscuits alone are amazing. They're moist and buttery...not dry like most biscuits. While you sit down to eat your breakfast, you can look out the window and see the book depository, Dealey Square and the Red Museum. It's the same view when you eat at The Founders Grill. As for the restaurant...AMAZING! It may be a little pricey for some, but the food is phenomenal. The tilapia roma was superb. The caesar salad was one of the best I've ever had. I also had the salmon dish and the fettucine alfredo with blackened shrimp. Everything was so good. If you're a foodie...they do not disappoint. The shuttle service was a great feature. The driver was also able to drive me to the airport on his day off, so it pays to be friendly to the staff. Each time the shuttle took me out, they always pointed out places to go. Since I was there for the Dallas Stars, they also made sure I knew I had to take a cab back to the hotel and where I could find the cab after the game. After the game, I walked into the lobby and was greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie before I headed up to my room. The hotel is great for the food, location and service. The room and hotel could use an update, but overall, it was clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. If you're visiting Dallas and plan on visiting the JFK stuff, this hotel is in a great location. The JFK Memorial is a block and a half away (next to Red Museum). Dealey Square (grassy knoll area) is a block away, the book depository (aka The Sixth Floor Museum) is 2 blocks away. Overall, it was the staff that helped make this trip to Dallas an amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not shop in Dallas. You'll be greeted with an 8.25% sales tax. But if you must shop, West Village is a nice little neighborhood to shop. Dining Tip: Beyond Founders Grill, there is a whole street filled with restaurants on Market Street, which is one block up from the JFK area, and to the left. TOURISM: Perot Museum recently opened up. If you have kids, this is the perfect place to take them. There's a children's museum on the bottom floor, as well as a sports exhibit. As you walk around through the museum, you may find one of its coolest features...a live tornado inside the museum. Also, if you are there to go to the book depository, try and get tickets early (I don't know if this is possible). The long line (and one ticket seller) was beyond annoying. I left. I guesstimated it was a 1.5 hour long wait to get tickets.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juli Juli
Single
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Jul 15, 2013

Very good amenities

The hotel offer great amenities, but is a kind old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Kia
Couples
Dallas , Tx
Jun 11, 2013

Nice for the price

Overall my stay was good. For what I payed the room was worth it, Although I did not get the room I payed for. You can tell the hotel is older but it is kept up-to-date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top