$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
106 reviews
Great Staff

Among the positive things I have to say about Hotel Lawrence, the best would be the folks who work... See full review

  • JDTT
  • Jun 7, 2013
Good basic hotel

Good, friendly service from staff. Room clean but basic, in room coffee and water bottles provided,... See full review

  • Degs
  • Nov 15, 2012
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
Ranafonk
Mexico City
Oct 4, 2012

Good choice

Nice place, clean, good food in the bar! I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
Conference Attendee Chris
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 10, 2010

My Stay at the Lawrence

The room was small, but fine for just one. Might have felt cramped with two. Carpet could have used a good cleaning, and did see one cockroach, but otherwise the room seemed reasonably clean. Some of the paint was peeling, though, which gave a subtle ick factor. Really appreciated the free breakfast each day, and bottled water. Neither was supplied to friends who stayed at the Hyatt Regency, at more than twice the cost. Just a 2-block walk to the Texas Schoolbook Depository and museum. The shuttle bus (free within 3 miles) was generally available when needed, although this was subject to chance, but the drivers were cheerful and very helpful. The Founder's Grill was very good, and reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
DeeZone
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Oct 8, 2010

It's cool to be surrounded by the old

Wonderful hotel, dated but that's to be expected considering it's history. The walls are a little thin so some nights had me listening to the next room's TV. The fitness room was a mess, most of the equipment was broken. The location was fantastic, a short walk to the historic district where the eatting selection was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
Happy in NY
NY, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Enjoyed the stay

First, what the hotel lacks in 'charm' it is made up for in Southern Hospitality. The entire staff was both friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast...you must try the biscuits and gravy. The biscuits alone are amazing. They're moist and buttery...not dry like most biscuits. While you sit down to eat your breakfast, you can look out the window and see the book depository, Dealey Square and the Red Museum. It's the same view when you eat at The Founders Grill. As for the restaurant...AMAZING! It may be a little pricey for some, but the food is phenomenal. The tilapia roma was superb. The caesar salad was one of the best I've ever had. I also had the salmon dish and the fettucine alfredo with blackened shrimp. Everything was so good. If you're a foodie...they do not disappoint. The shuttle service was a great feature. The driver was also able to drive me to the airport on his day off, so it pays to be friendly to the staff. Each time the shuttle took me out, they always pointed out places to go. Since I was there for the Dallas Stars, they also made sure I knew I had to take a cab back to the hotel and where I could find the cab after the game. After the game, I walked into the lobby and was greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie before I headed up to my room. The hotel is great for the food, location and service. The room and hotel could use an update, but overall, it was clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. If you're visiting Dallas and plan on visiting the JFK stuff, this hotel is in a great location. The JFK Memorial is a block and a half away (next to Red Museum). Dealey Square (grassy knoll area) is a block away, the book depository (aka The Sixth Floor Museum) is 2 blocks away. Overall, it was the staff that helped make this trip to Dallas an amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not shop in Dallas. You'll be greeted with an 8.25% sales tax. But if you must shop, West Village is a nice little neighborhood to shop. Dining Tip: Beyond Founders Grill, there is a whole street filled with restaurants on Market Street, which is one block up from the JFK area, and to the left. TOURISM: Perot Museum recently opened up. If you have kids, this is the perfect place to take them. There's a children's museum on the bottom floor, as well as a sports exhibit. As you walk around through the museum, you may find one of its coolest features...a live tornado inside the museum. Also, if you are there to go to the book depository, try and get tickets early (I don't know if this is possible). The long line (and one ticket seller) was beyond annoying. I left. I guesstimated it was a 1.5 hour long wait to get tickets.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
EMS Professional Educator/Paramedic
Business
Lawton, Oklahoma
Oct 1, 2010

Nice and Great Location

Over all a very pleasant experience. The location was easy to get to. Check in was fast and efficient, Valet parking was different than most would expect but not a problem and my vehicle was secured properly, safe, and available to me as needed. It is one of the remaining old downtown hotels and in very good shape for it's age. It is not a modern chain hotel and so long as you remember that it is worth every cent. Staff was super friendly and very helpful at all times. Lounge beverage prices were very reasonable however Dinner Menu was horribly high for the location type of food service it was ($13 for a Hamburger is simply unacceptable). Downtown food district was not too far by foot and for the most part the part of downtown where the hotel is located is fairly safe for the business traveler to walk around in the evening. I would consider staying there again should the need araise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the short walk up to the West End for the Tourist/Downtown experience, or drive a short distance to one of the many excellent opportunitys Dallas has to offer.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
LBk travel
Lubbock, TX
Jul 31, 2011

A+

Very clean, very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The City Tavern

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 16, 2010

Great Location

I had a great time and the hotel has shuttle service that took me to and from my conference center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
Hockey and JFK
Houston, tx
Jan 27, 2014

Great location and staff, old building

The hotel was a great location for visiting Dealey Plaza and the American Airlines Center. We walked easily. The hotel is clean and staff genuinely friendly, but it hasn't seen many updates/renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
Business in Dallas
Business
Memphis, TN
Mar 1, 2010

Good

Kind of old with somewhat small rooms, good location for conferences, comfortable, helpful and friendly staff, nice bath and body works soaps, quiet, good continental breakfast, shuttle was sometimes not available within reasonable time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
hepcat
Memphis, TN
Oct 23, 2010

Dallas visit

Very nice hotel, it took a while for the place to get my reservation confirmation, but I did book same-day, so not too upsetting. The hotel was exactly as the reviews said, nice, good service, a little old, but great value! I will go back if in Dallas again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Very charming old-school bar in the hotel

Back to menu Return to top