$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 13, 2007

Bad Experience

It might be a one time thing but the Hotel Lawrence for me was an awkward experience. I arrived late from long traveling and ended up having to switch rooms two times! first room wasn't cleaned properly and had yellow water and paint chips in the tub, second had crickets and smelled funny. My final room was ok but the free internet didn't work my entire stay. I was just a creepy experience and I spent as much time away from there as possible. -maybe it was just me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pmike
Business
Amarillo , TX
Jun 29, 2014

old, dirty, poor condition

Had to pay for parking. Elevators stopped working .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adamokc
Business
OKC
Oct 20, 2014

ummm surprise

We needed a hotel downtown and this one look quiant and eclectic on the pictures but it is old and run down and seems like most people just live here on the cheap all year. it is not really a hotel but a downtown hostel sort of place. we nearly left but stuck it out and got the heck out of there. only minutes from jfk site. spend the extra money and stay at the Hyatt across the street and feel safe its worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ssrivastav
Business
Pleasanton
Jun 18, 2015

Hotel should be shut until renovation is complete

Being converted to a La Quinta and renovation is underway. My perfectly civil review of the hotel is being blocked because it's supposedly profane. The hotel does not even deserve a single star at the current time. Almost want to ask for my money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
albertsantjulia
Business
Dallas
Dec 31, 2013

Chep Hotel, Cheap Quality

To start with, they only have one real slow elevator for almost 10 floors. None of the ice cubes maker machines worked unless the ones at the top floors. The water get off the tap white, I told and showed that to the receptionist and he told me that that was what they had and if I wanted clean water, I should BUY it in the vending machine at the 2nd floor... Very poor personal attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lights All Night Music Festival in the Dallas Convention Center

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LouLin
Business
Austin
Jan 6, 2014

Oh My......

We stayed here a few years ago....so sad to see the decline. We arrived at our room to no bedspread/comforter/blanket.....just sheets on the bed. In trying to call down to the desk to have them brought up, well....the phone didn't work. My husband went down to the desk to tell them of both issues. They asked if he wanted a blanket or comforter...he said "comforter". In a few minutes a blanket was delivered to our room. They were quick in fixing the phone (switched out the handset with another room). Then the search for ice....our floor ice machine out of order and said to go to the floor above. No ice there or floor below. Found ice later three floors up. TV remote didn't work. Northern blew in during the night.....literally blew and howled through the cracks around the window. All furniture and woodwork/mouldings very scuffed and nicked. . At least it was mostly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller worldwide
Business
Mexico city
Feb 5, 2014

Good location

The location is good, close to the west end. Although the hotel is old, is well conditioned. It' s clean. The only complain, is that there is only one elevator working and the staff from the hotel is not very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Maybe is good for a short stay

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
She's in control
Business
Shreveport, La
Feb 17, 2014

So So Stay

Was not exactly what we wee expecting, didn't provide the services they claimed for pets. Had no hot water the morning we left and breakfast was something not to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dweezy
Business
Central Texas
Mar 14, 2014

It was okay

We went down for a concert which was within a mile of the hotel, so that aspect was nice. However, there was not a comforter on the bed, very few outlets, and there was not a king size bed as advertised. Also, there was not hot water in the morning when I went to shower. I probably won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

American Airlines center within a mile.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christi2012
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Apr 5, 2012

One Night Stay

The hotel was okay to stay in for one night, especially since it's priced well for the downtown area. Not a place I would recommend to anyone with kids though. The building had a creepy haunted feeling because of it's age. Within walking distance to West End district and other good restaurant spots. Be careful of parking on the street - meter checkers are there as soon as your time expires. Hotel charges approx. $16 to valet and park overnight... it would have been a cheaper choice for me. Learned my lesson!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top