$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
168 reviews
Great Staff

Among the positive things I have to say about Hotel Lawrence, the best would be the folks who work... See full review

  • JDTT
  • Jun 7, 2013
Great Historic Location

Fine hotel, although restaurant now closed. Apparently, serious remodeling scheduled for the future. See full review

  • Robt
  • Jun 23, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beno from Australia
Business
Australia
Oct 11, 2012

Overnight stay

The hotel was run down. It had a noisy lift that was dirty. That was just some of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Budget Hotel Shopper
Denton, TX
Nov 4, 2012

Wonderful location, but not much else.

Generally, I choose to stay at low price hotels such as Knights Inn, mainly due to budget concerns. I was able to find a relatively good price for a room at the Hotel Lawrence, only spending about $80 after taxes and fees, so I decided to give it a go. The location was great, with two DART rail stations just a few blocks away, so no complaints there. However, upon actually entering the hotel, I started realizing that location was all it had going for it. First, the lobby and the staff. When I entered the hotel, the first thing I noticed was how loud and rowdy the Lobby was. This was due to the connected bar, Founders Grill. Perhaps it was just a busy day and this isn't the norm, but it definitely raised a flag in my head. Next, the decorations and furniture, while nice, all seemed very worn out and in need of repairs/touch ups. The tile floor was cracked in places, the front desk was scuffed and chipped badly, the chairs could use some repair work... all in all, it felt a little run down. At the desk was a gentleman named Michael. While friendly enough, he was very soft spoken and seemed a bit shy or nervous. Check-in took only a few minutes and I was given my room key. From the desk, I went to the elevators, these too looking run down and out dated, and headed up to my room, number 508. Now onto the room itself. Entering the room I didn't know what to expect, but I wasn't very hopeful after seeing the lobby, elevators, and hallway to the rooms. The room was a single queen bed room that felt more like a cheap college dormitory than a hotel room. There was a dresser/closet, a writing desk, the bed, a smallish TV, and a stereo/CD player all crammed into a tiny space. Everything had that same worn out feeling the lobby had, and some obvious repairs needed to be made. The desk had many gouges, chips, and even a burn mark. The closet doors didn't close properly, the stereo didn't pick up stations very well, and the bed felt very unstable when I sat down on it. The windows were grimy and hard to see out of, and there was a lot of dust, as if the cleaning crew had done only a cursory job cleaning. The bathroom felt much the same, with everything from the toilet to the tub being in need of a touch up and good clean. The one upside was the giant bathtub, which made soaking a joy. The next morning, I went to the 2nd floor for the continental breakfast. All in all it was pretty standard fair with a few additions that were pleasantly surprising. They had the basic muffins, which were too dry for me to eat, bagels with cream cheese, cereal, toast etc. They also had a very tasty biscuits and gravy offering that surprised me, as well as a Texas shaped waffle iron and waffle batter. The staff was quick and efficient with keeping everything stocked, even though it was near time to shut it down. In short, the Hotel Lawrence was a severe let down and I'd be lying if I said I was happy with my stay. The only things I can say were good was the location and the breakfast. I will never be staying here again, despite the prime location, and wish I had simply saved myself $40 and stayed at the Knights Inn a few miles away. I can't say I'd ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to try something different and very tasty, take a walk down to Capriotti's Sandwich shop on Ross and Lamar. It's about a 10 minute walk and the food is phenomenal. The staff there is very friendly and the subs are HUGE. Their small is a 9 inch!

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lone Travler
San Antonio, TX
Nov 17, 2009

Not Very Luxurious

The lobby was small and inadequately lit. One of the two available elevators was out of service. The room was average at best and there were broken bathroom fixtures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palo Alto, CA
Jun 11, 2011

Run-down Hotel

Not like what I expected at all from description on their own website. In a sketchy part of town and the hotel smelled funny, especially in the elevator. It was cheap, but I definitely expected more. Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conroe, Tx
Jul 8, 2011

Never stay @ Hotel Lawrence

Not pleased with this hotel. The review rating when I made reservation was a 3.0, I would rate it at a 1.5 at best. They have no parking, but there is a paid parking at the rear of the place. If you arrive after 6pm it will cost $5 for the night but you must either be out of the lot by 6am or go pay $12 for the day by 6am. Also there is no rear entrance to the hotel so you must carry your luggage around the outside of the building to the front, in order to get in your room. Once inside you will notice that everywhere you look something is broke and or needs to be replaced. Rooms are extremely cramped. It's not possible to close the blinds to keep the exterior light out or to keep others from seeing into the room. Shower heads are so massive that the bathroom floor has standing water on it when you get out of the shower; curtains are nowhere near capable of keeping the water inside the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amanda- gypsy girl
Dallas, Tx
May 5, 2011

Not good!

The lobby was the nicest part of the hotel, the elevator was not in service the room was just creepy and old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conroe, Tx
Jul 8, 2011

Never stay @ Hotel Lawrence

Not pleased with this hotel. The review rating when I made reservation was a 3.0, I would rate it at a 1.5 at best. They have no parking, but there is a paid parking at the rear of the place. If you arrive after 6pm it will cost $5 for the night but you must either be out of the lot by 6am or go pay $12 for the day by 6am. Also there is no rear entrance to the hotel so you must carry your luggage around the outside of the building to the front, in order to get in your room. Once inside you will notice that everywhere you look something is broke and or needs to be replaced. Rooms are extremely cramped. It's not possible to close the blinds to keep the exterior light out or to keep others from seeing into the room. Shower heads are so massive that the bathroom floor has standing water on it when you get out of the shower; curtains are nowhere near capable of keeping the water inside the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jun 16, 2009

disappointed, wouldn't stay again!

disappointed, not very clean, small room and smell badly. No parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 13, 2007

Bad Experience

It might be a one time thing but the Hotel Lawrence for me was an awkward experience. I arrived late from long traveling and ended up having to switch rooms two times! first room wasn't cleaned properly and had yellow water and paint chips in the tub, second had crickets and smelled funny. My final room was ok but the free internet didn't work my entire stay. I was just a creepy experience and I spent as much time away from there as possible. -maybe it was just me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 13, 2007

Bad Experience

It might be a one time thing but the Hotel Lawrence for me was an awkward experience. I arrived late from long traveling and ended up having to switch rooms two times! first room wasn't cleaned properly and had yellow water and paint chips in the tub, second had crickets and smelled funny. My final room was ok but the free internet didn't work my entire stay. I was just a creepy experience and I spent as much time away from there as possible. -maybe it was just me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top