$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
106 reviews
Great Staff

Among the positive things I have to say about Hotel Lawrence, the best would be the folks who work... See full review

  • JDTT
  • Jun 7, 2013
Good basic hotel

Good, friendly service from staff. Room clean but basic, in room coffee and water bottles provided,... See full review

  • Degs
  • Nov 15, 2012
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Iowa
Jun 16, 2009

disappointed, wouldn't stay again!

disappointed, not very clean, small room and smell badly. No parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 13, 2007

Bad Experience

It might be a one time thing but the Hotel Lawrence for me was an awkward experience. I arrived late from long traveling and ended up having to switch rooms two times! first room wasn't cleaned properly and had yellow water and paint chips in the tub, second had crickets and smelled funny. My final room was ok but the free internet didn't work my entire stay. I was just a creepy experience and I spent as much time away from there as possible. -maybe it was just me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
Disgusting Bed Bug Bites
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 13, 2013

Bed Bug Infestation

Thanks to this dump I am now dealing with a Bed Bug infestation. I called the Health Department. The lobby is dingy and dark. There are crickets of the variety that look like roaches everywhere... if they're not alive, there are remnants everywhere. The room I stayed in was dusty and unkempt. There are loiterers and homeless folks walking about. The only covered parking is a lot that closes at 6pm. STAY AWAY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
Joyster the Oyster
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 27, 2011

Don't expect much!

First, the Hotel looks NOTHING like the picture posted on your website! The lobby is old and musty with worn and dirty furniture; one elevator that barely makes it from flor to floor and had to wait each morning at least 10-15 min for it to arrive. Bathroom very small and furniture stained and dirty. Bedding and Towels seemed to be clean. Carpet turned my barefeet black. Restaurant next door not good and very expensive for what they are serving; Close to downtown restaurants and generally good location is only good thing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
Bobby276
North Texas
Dec 16, 2012

It was so bad I didn't even stay

Booked this because it had an discount. It was by far the worst hotel I've ever been in. Waited 15 minutes in the lobby just to check in. Guy working the desk was going intentionally slow. Warm milk and dirty cookies for happy hour... Great! I have literally stayed at better hostels in third world countries than this place. Popo stains on the carpet. Sheets that haven't been replaced since this historic hotel opened in the 1900s. Pay the extra $40 and stay somewhere decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a better hotel.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
Dragonsamor
Shreveport, Louisiana
Jun 15, 2013

How My Car Got Stolen. A Story of The Hotel Lawrence

Do not valet your car here!! My boyfriend and I decided to stay in Dallas for one night. We chose The Hotel Lawrence because there was a coupon for it online. The only plus about that hotel is the location. There is no parking except for a $12 lot with no in/out privileges. We decided to valet my car for the night (for $15+ tax). The next morning we asked for my car to be brought to the front so we could check out. 10 minutes later the valet who claims to have parked my car the night before asks us, "Where did you park your car?" Not a good sign. He had no recollection of my car. My boyfriend goes with the valet to see if he can spot my car. Guess where the valet lot is? That $12 lot that I mentioned earlier. My car isn't there. After about 90 minutes the valet reports that my car was stolen. Although the valet admitted to leaving my car unlocked when the police arrived, the hotel is claiming no responsibility for the theft of my car. They were SO kind as to refund my my valet charge, but told me to my face that I would have to sue them in order for them to do anything else. This has been a nightmare and I hope no one else has to go through this after reading my experience. Please heed my story.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Palo Alto, CA
Jun 11, 2011

Run-down Hotel

Not like what I expected at all from description on their own website. In a sketchy part of town and the hotel smelled funny, especially in the elevator. It was cheap, but I definitely expected more. Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
The Borance Hotel
Dallas, TX
Oct 30, 2012

Ok, if you only need your room to sleep

First off, the this place is old...not "Historic" as it's description claims. Secondly, it is WAY understaffed. I checked in at 3 and thank goodness I was there early because there was a line of about 10 parties behind me. I checked in, went to my room and unpacked, ironed clothes and changed outfits. By the time I had finished I went out back through the lobby and over half of those people were STILL waiting in line. I felt bad for the ONE PERSON that was working the front desk, but he was in way over his head. Next, the rooms.....sheesh. I don't even know what to say. They're old....real old. Old fuzzy TVs, no comforter (yeah, that's right..no comforter...just a knitted blanket and two sheets# and just flat out lacking what normal hotels consider the basics. Also, our TV remote died. I went to see if they had a knew one and to also see about getting something that resembled a quilt, but when I got to the lobby, there was a line about 5 people deep. From my earlier experience I estimated the wate to be at least 20 minutes so I turned right around and said no thanks to that and went back to my room. If you are only looking for a place to sleep at night...I guess it was fine. We were hardly in our room and only there two nights, but I think next time I would suck it up and pay the extra $30 bucks to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
aquariuspurplegirl
salt lake city, utah
Oct 23, 2012

not good!

I booked based upon a few good reviews. Do not stay here. Hotel charges for valet service yet you have to get your own car-not valet! Our car was broken into and the window smashed. Other cars also vandalized. Shower was horrible-tub wouldn't drain. Staff was unfriendly and non responsive. Rooms were dirty. Elevator (only 1 operating) was slow and didnt always work. The wait time for elevator took about 10 minutes. Only positive was the downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
Lone Travler
San Antonio, TX
Nov 17, 2009

Not Very Luxurious

The lobby was small and inadequately lit. One of the two available elevators was out of service. The room was average at best and there were broken bathroom fixtures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top