Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
116 reviews
Great location and price

Great hotel for the money you pay. By far the best location in downtown Dallas, even better than... See full review

  • Pete and Memphis
  • Jan 5, 2015
Lovely stay!!!

I currently live in Dallas TX, but I needed to get away from things and have some me time. Overall... See full review

  • yumyum214
  • Sep 18, 2014
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Property features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Nearby attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique decor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Molliec
Couples
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Jan 18, 2014

Do not stay here!

When I arrived I waited over an hour in the lobby for the staff to locate my reservation. When I finally made it to my room it hadn't been cleaned and I was moved to a new room. The heater did not work well and the shower was broken. I was on a non-smoking floor, however it reeked of smoke. The elevator seems like it could break at any second. The breakfast was also horrible. Do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truth20122012
Couples
Los Angeles
Oct 4, 2012

Stay Away

This hotel is old, falling apartment and dirty. 10 minutes into the stay we already wanted to leave. But they have a 24 hour cancelation policy so we had to stay another 2 days. As soon as you walk in you will notice the discolored sealing , the entire hotel needs a serious touch up. They also charge $15 dollar a day to park there, if not you have to find your own parking at the closest lot. The room had an awful smell and the bathroom tub was discolored. This was hands down the worst hotel i've ever stayed at. Save yourself the bad experience and do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beno from Australia
Business
Australia
Oct 11, 2012

Overnight stay

The hotel was run down. It had a noisy lift that was dirty. That was just some of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aquariuspurplegirl
Family
salt lake city, utah
Oct 23, 2012

not good!

I booked based upon a few good reviews. Do not stay here. Hotel charges for valet service yet you have to get your own car-not valet! Our car was broken into and the window smashed. Other cars also vandalized. Shower was horrible-tub wouldn't drain. Staff was unfriendly and non responsive. Rooms were dirty. Elevator (only 1 operating) was slow and didnt always work. The wait time for elevator took about 10 minutes. Only positive was the downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Budget Hotel Shopper
Single
Denton, TX
Nov 4, 2012

Wonderful location, but not much else.

Generally, I choose to stay at low price hotels such as Knights Inn, mainly due to budget concerns. I was able to find a relatively good price for a room at the Hotel Lawrence, only spending about $80 after taxes and fees, so I decided to give it a go. The location was great, with two DART rail stations just a few blocks away, so no complaints there. However, upon actually entering the hotel, I started realizing that location was all it had going for it. First, the lobby and the staff. When I entered the hotel, the first thing I noticed was how loud and rowdy the Lobby was. This was due to the connected bar, Founders Grill. Perhaps it was just a busy day and this isn't the norm, but it definitely raised a flag in my head. Next, the decorations and furniture, while nice, all seemed very worn out and in need of repairs/touch ups. The tile floor was cracked in places, the front desk was scuffed and chipped badly, the chairs could use some repair work... all in all, it felt a little run down. At the desk was a gentleman named Michael. While friendly enough, he was very soft spoken and seemed a bit shy or nervous. Check-in took only a few minutes and I was given my room key. From the desk, I went to the elevators, these too looking run down and out dated, and headed up to my room, number 508. Now onto the room itself. Entering the room I didn't know what to expect, but I wasn't very hopeful after seeing the lobby, elevators, and hallway to the rooms. The room was a single queen bed room that felt more like a cheap college dormitory than a hotel room. There was a dresser/closet, a writing desk, the bed, a smallish TV, and a stereo/CD player all crammed into a tiny space. Everything had that same worn out feeling the lobby had, and some obvious repairs needed to be made. The desk had many gouges, chips, and even a burn mark. The closet doors didn't close properly, the stereo didn't pick up stations very well, and the bed felt very unstable when I sat down on it. The windows were grimy and hard to see out of, and there was a lot of dust, as if the cleaning crew had done only a cursory job cleaning. The bathroom felt much the same, with everything from the toilet to the tub being in need of a touch up and good clean. The one upside was the giant bathtub, which made soaking a joy. The next morning, I went to the 2nd floor for the continental breakfast. All in all it was pretty standard fair with a few additions that were pleasantly surprising. They had the basic muffins, which were too dry for me to eat, bagels with cream cheese, cereal, toast etc. They also had a very tasty biscuits and gravy offering that surprised me, as well as a Texas shaped waffle iron and waffle batter. The staff was quick and efficient with keeping everything stocked, even though it was near time to shut it down. In short, the Hotel Lawrence was a severe let down and I'd be lying if I said I was happy with my stay. The only things I can say were good was the location and the breakfast. I will never be staying here again, despite the prime location, and wish I had simply saved myself $40 and stayed at the Knights Inn a few miles away. I can't say I'd ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to try something different and very tasty, take a walk down to Capriotti's Sandwich shop on Ross and Lamar. It's about a 10 minute walk and the food is phenomenal. The staff there is very friendly and the subs are HUGE. Their small is a 9 inch!

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Borance Hotel
Couples
Dallas, TX
Oct 30, 2012

Ok, if you only need your room to sleep

First off, the this place is old...not "Historic" as it's description claims. Secondly, it is WAY understaffed. I checked in at 3 and thank goodness I was there early because there was a line of about 10 parties behind me. I checked in, went to my room and unpacked, ironed clothes and changed outfits. By the time I had finished I went out back through the lobby and over half of those people were STILL waiting in line. I felt bad for the ONE PERSON that was working the front desk, but he was in way over his head. Next, the rooms.....sheesh. I don't even know what to say. They're old....real old. Old fuzzy TVs, no comforter (yeah, that's right..no comforter...just a knitted blanket and two sheets# and just flat out lacking what normal hotels consider the basics. Also, our TV remote died. I went to see if they had a knew one and to also see about getting something that resembled a quilt, but when I got to the lobby, there was a line about 5 people deep. From my earlier experience I estimated the wate to be at least 20 minutes so I turned right around and said no thanks to that and went back to my room. If you are only looking for a place to sleep at night...I guess it was fine. We were hardly in our room and only there two nights, but I think next time I would suck it up and pay the extra $30 bucks to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobby276
Single
North Texas
Dec 16, 2012

It was so bad I didn't even stay

Booked this because it had an discount. It was by far the worst hotel I've ever been in. Waited 15 minutes in the lobby just to check in. Guy working the desk was going intentionally slow. Warm milk and dirty cookies for happy hour... Great! I have literally stayed at better hostels in third world countries than this place. Popo stains on the carpet. Sheets that haven't been replaced since this historic hotel opened in the 1900s. Pay the extra $40 and stay somewhere decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a better hotel.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lexi Super Dog
Couples
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2013

Don't Stay Here!!

Before I decided to stay here, I looked up the hotel's website. Their website made the hotel look luxurious and chic. That was not the case at all. We arrived in the room and everything was horrible. The carpet was incredibly old and stained; it was disgusting to even walk on it. The television was from 1980 with a remote that didn't work. The bathtub looked disgusting and had growths. The room was 80 degrees. The elevator took 10 minutes to come down or to our floor. This place reminded me of a cheap European hostel. I would not recommend staying here at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There are bars less than a mile away.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dragonsamor
Couples
Shreveport, Louisiana
Jun 15, 2013

How My Car Got Stolen. A Story of The Hotel Lawrence

Do not valet your car here!! My boyfriend and I decided to stay in Dallas for one night. We chose The Hotel Lawrence because there was a coupon for it online. The only plus about that hotel is the location. There is no parking except for a $12 lot with no in/out privileges. We decided to valet my car for the night (for $15+ tax). The next morning we asked for my car to be brought to the front so we could check out. 10 minutes later the valet who claims to have parked my car the night before asks us, "Where did you park your car?" Not a good sign. He had no recollection of my car. My boyfriend goes with the valet to see if he can spot my car. Guess where the valet lot is? That $12 lot that I mentioned earlier. My car isn't there. After about 90 minutes the valet reports that my car was stolen. Although the valet admitted to leaving my car unlocked when the police arrived, the hotel is claiming no responsibility for the theft of my car. They were SO kind as to refund my my valet charge, but told me to my face that I would have to sue them in order for them to do anything else. This has been a nightmare and I hope no one else has to go through this after reading my experience. Please heed my story.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Happy Happy Payne
Friends
Georgia
Sep 4, 2013

The Adam's Family

This Hotel is nothing like it look on line. The entry was OLD and dark. The rooms are small, the bathroom is small ans who every picked out the tile need to be fired. The TV is old as the hotel. Friday night the TV blow up and electrical smoke was all in the room, I reach for the telephone and it was dead, someone had pulled the cord out the wall, I had to call down to the front desk with my cell phone, had to change room at 1:30am, with no assistant from the one staff. The Fire Alarm went off Sat morning about 6:30/7am. Some one burned something in the kitchen. The night shift staff was like he was lost, He kept saying "I'm the only one here" and didn't want to come up to see what was wrong. Don't waste your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dallas was Great, Don't stay at the Lawrence Hotel. My Nick name is not Happy Happy Payne

Back to menu Return to top