Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 27, 2011

Worn and Dusty

I was in town for a week at a convention held at the Dallas Convention Center. There is no mention on the website or at the hotel that the hotel is 1/2 block away from the train station or that there is a train every 10 minutes to the DCC. This is a great convenience. No one at the front desk mentioned this to guests. A local map with hints for travelers could be a big help. There is a great breakfast place next door named Cindi's Deli. No mention of this to the guests. My room was very worn. The drapes were gray with dust. The bath room was nice and newly renovated. Heating and air conditioning worked well. The bed was comfortable. The pea-green hallways need a new color. Neighborhood is safe at night. This place has a great location, but needs renovation to justify the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The train station is 1/2 block away with transport to the Dallas Convention Cntr. and there is a great breakfast place (Cindi's) just around the block.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Dallas,tx
Sep 27, 2010

The ancient

I used the free wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Money

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dallas Traveler from Richmond
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 11, 2010

Tired old Hotel

This hotel, built in 1925 needs some serious renovations. The hotel looks a bit dingy and smells musty. The exercise "room" has equipment that is dated and half of it does not work. the only thing that can be said about the place is that for the location, the price is hard to beat, but next time, I'll spend a few extra dollars and get a better hotel. On the good side, the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gueyhoo
Friends
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 5, 2009

Hotel Lawrence

I am trying to keep in mind that this is an older hotel in downtown Dallas. That being said a lot of improvements need to be made. Our room was tiny, had peeling paint and scuff marks on the walls. There was only one elevator for the 10 level hotel and it was so slow. The breakfast didn't have much to choose from, and its gravy and biscuits were cold. Valet wasn't that great. Needed to have given them at least 20 minutes warning before requesting your car. This hotel didn't seem all that busy the weekend we were there either. However, the staff was so helpful and friendly. This would be my only reason for staying that this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Texas
Oct 19, 2009

Some perks

It was in a great location. Wen't for UT/OU weekend. The hotel provided a convenient shuttle that made it easy to navigate to dinner as well as the state fair. The rooms were very old, the door did not close properly, the doors/walls were very thin. The hotel room felt "grimy". Also the drain in the shower was clogged, and the bathrooms were TINY! There was only 1 elevator working, so on a busy weekend the stairs came in handy. Breakfast was alright, no real problems there. Overall, I don't think the quality of the hotel room was worth the price. The only reason I would consider staying here again was the shuttle that the hotel provides. The shuttle driver took us to many places that were not too far away from the hotel, and it was much better than taking a taxi or the DART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 10, 2010

Should have been $50/night

Pros: Great location and free shuttle. If you are interested in the JFK memorial it is just across the street. Cons: Noisy--train, clock tower, maids blasting their radio at 9:45am which is 7:45am for me due to time change. Shuttle is free but you have to wait a long time. Not enough hot water and our toilet was broken so we had to leave the lid off and pull!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Simorhinos
Couples
Sydney, Australia
May 5, 2010

Poor stay in Dallas

Worst hotel we have stayed at in the US!! Don't stay here the staff are extremely unhelpful and cancelled our booking without notifying us because [...] rate was $1 per day less than their own rate. If you like small rooms and poor service this is the hotel for you.Only good point is that it is a block from dealy plaza and 6th floor museum which was our highlight of staying in Dallas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
May 26, 2008

Okay

Hotel seemed underutilized. Few guests. Neighborhood iffy. Valet parking many blocks away and expensive. On street parking recommended only near street lights. Television sets easily heard as muffled sound through walls. No hot water in shower. On the positive side, the staff were very cordial. And there was a nice continental breakfast. The neighborhood is probably more lively during the week--I stayed on a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Quite a few good eating options several blocks away. Long walk in the heat of summer.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Apr 19, 2008

poor

don't drive...no parking. rooms are very small and the hotel shows its age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sngalloway
Couples
San Antonio TX
Nov 16, 2009

The Hotel Lawerence

We were in town for a conference and were drawn to this hotel because of its gay friendly status and lower rate compared to the conference hotel. Over all our stay was ok except for a few complaiments:(1) a serious lack of parking (2) breakfast was not compatible for a vegan diet although many options if you are not concerned about eating healthy (3) there were ants in our room, although we were told that maintence would spray after we checked out (4) to persuade us to use the valet service they assured us the complimentary service runs every 10 minutes. Which would in theory save us money so we would not have to pay daily at both hotels. We asked to be driven by the shuttle to the conference hotel 5 minutes away an hour beofre we were expected to be there. We were told the driver was out and would be back in 30 minutes, although were told upon check in it would be 10 minute wait max. After 30 minutes we asked how much longer and were told it would be another 30 minutes. We were forced to get our car from valet and pay double the amount of the valet to park daily at the conference. However, the staff was apologetic but did nothing. Overall the hotel was a cute place to dtay and the staff friendly. I will not be staying there again nor would I recommend it to friends or family in the future solely because of the lack of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A local amazing vegan resturant is about a 10 minute drive away.

Back to menu Return to top