$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2015 Check-out: Feb 28, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
123 reviews
Great location and price

Great hotel for the money you pay. By far the best location in downtown Dallas, even better than... See full review

  • Pete and Memphis
  • Jan 5, 2015
Lovely stay!!!

I currently live in Dallas TX, but I needed to get away from things and have some me time. Overall... See full review

  • yumyum214
  • Sep 18, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent dallas traveler
Business
New Jersey/ Dallas
Jun 18, 2009

Lawrence Hotel

Friendly and helpful hotel staff. Utilized free shuttle to my office downtown several times. Good free continental breakfast. Wifi was free but reception in room on 9th floor was weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free shuttle to/from downtown was helpful and saved me money in cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pflugerville, Texas
Aug 8, 2009

A nice place to stay

I was attending a conference at the Hyatt Regency and the Hotel Lawrence was an affordable hotel within walking distance of the Hyatt. The Hotel Lawrence was definitely build in 1925 and you can tell that just from the size of everything. The lobby, elevators, and rooms were all small compared to modern hotel rooms. I would have to say that the rooms, including bathroom, could literally fit into a modern day home's master bedroom. So if you do not like cramped spaces, you may not like the Hotel Lawrence. But if you're just using the room as a place to lay your head, then this place is great because it is within walking distance to the market district and the light rail system. The only real complaint I would have with the Hotel Lawrence is that it does look a little run down and I'm just hoping they have some remodeling plans in their future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Lawrence is within a short walking distance to a lot of interesting sites; Reunion Tower, The Book Depository, The JFk Memorial, The Assisination Parade Route and the Market District; which has several great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H-town
Business
Houston, Tx.
Jul 10, 2009

A great night sleep.

I was in Dallas on business and only stayed one night. The employees were friendly and the room was extremely clean. I really enjoyed the second shower head which showers your body from an angle. My only issue is that they have a limited parking. Once valet fills up you have to find your own parking. This parking my be by a meter several blocks away or at a city parking lot that you have to pay again everytime you re-enter. PLEASE correct you parking issue Hotel Lawrence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stillwater, OK
Dec 26, 2010

Out on the town

The internet did not work with my laptop. We had trouble signing in with even the id number. Also, i was not able to raise the temp in the room. The high temp. knob did not work or there was no knob. Room #309

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
From Denver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Not Bad

I was in town for business and stayed two nights. Close to downtown and the convention center was nice but not the nicest part of the downtown area. I wouldn't want my wife walking alone there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free hotel shuttle was nice for getting around. Rooms were nice but nothing extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ldysrches
Business
Fairfield, California
Sep 12, 2011

Quaint old hotel

The hotel and staff were fine and, while the rooms are on the small side, they did put you a step back in time. The only bad thing I could say is the breakfast was not up to standards (my standards). While "continental" means different things to different people, different was what was missing. There was no variety and we stayed 4 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a GREAT restaurant around the corner, Cindy's Deli - best Nova Lox I have ever had! The restaurant is so good, even if I stay somewhere else next time, I'm coming back to Cindy's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SAWA bound
Business
Arizona
Nov 17, 2014

Good location.

The hotel is definitely showing its age. Staff was great, continental breakfast was included and appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main Street downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Francis S.
Business
Denver
Jan 14, 2015

50th anniversay of JFK

This was a perfect fit for the trip I took. I was only there for 8 hours to sleep. I had a shower and a bed. It did the job. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christi2012
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Apr 5, 2012

One Night Stay

The hotel was okay to stay in for one night, especially since it's priced well for the downtown area. Not a place I would recommend to anyone with kids though. The building had a creepy haunted feeling because of it's age. Within walking distance to West End district and other good restaurant spots. Be careful of parking on the street - meter checkers are there as soon as your time expires. Hotel charges approx. $16 to valet and park overnight... it would have been a cheaper choice for me. Learned my lesson!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disgusted in Dallas
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2012

Unclean and badly in need of renovation

I checked in to find the outside of the toile bowl covered with dried vomit. Rooms badly in need of a renovation. Would make a great boutique hotel, but now is a dump! Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top