$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
113 reviews
great place

Always a pleasant staygreat people great location always a clean establishment See full review

  • eric white
  • Aug 8, 2014
Great place great people great stay!!

Very friendly quiet comfy establishment! I would be pleased to go back and stay with these guys... See full review

  • eric white
  • Aug 4, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milpitas, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Don't let the pictures fool you!

This place was nice, but by the pictures and the regular price you would expect this place to be a lot nicer. I called the hotel first to see how much they charged. Orbitz saved me a lot off the hotels quoted price for the night. So for the price it was good. Good location. The rooms seemed clean, but old looking like it needed a paint job. Parking was not good, $15 extra for Valet Parking per night. There is supposed to be self parking a block away. You can park on the street between 6pm and 7am, if you can find a spot. Oh yeah, the one elevator is slow. It could take up to 10 min to get down from the 9th floor, especially at breakfast time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston tx
Apr 5, 2011

Just Good

In general is a OK... I think they could do better. The breakfast is just bad... I would prefer to pay for it. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gueyhoo
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 5, 2009

Hotel Lawrence

I am trying to keep in mind that this is an older hotel in downtown Dallas. That being said a lot of improvements need to be made. Our room was tiny, had peeling paint and scuff marks on the walls. There was only one elevator for the 10 level hotel and it was so slow. The breakfast didn't have much to choose from, and its gravy and biscuits were cold. Valet wasn't that great. Needed to have given them at least 20 minutes warning before requesting your car. This hotel didn't seem all that busy the weekend we were there either. However, the staff was so helpful and friendly. This would be my only reason for staying that this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Oct 19, 2009

Some perks

It was in a great location. Wen't for UT/OU weekend. The hotel provided a convenient shuttle that made it easy to navigate to dinner as well as the state fair. The rooms were very old, the door did not close properly, the doors/walls were very thin. The hotel room felt "grimy". Also the drain in the shower was clogged, and the bathrooms were TINY! There was only 1 elevator working, so on a busy weekend the stairs came in handy. Breakfast was alright, no real problems there. Overall, I don't think the quality of the hotel room was worth the price. The only reason I would consider staying here again was the shuttle that the hotel provides. The shuttle driver took us to many places that were not too far away from the hotel, and it was much better than taking a taxi or the DART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sngalloway
San Antonio TX
Nov 16, 2009

The Hotel Lawerence

We were in town for a conference and were drawn to this hotel because of its gay friendly status and lower rate compared to the conference hotel. Over all our stay was ok except for a few complaiments:(1) a serious lack of parking (2) breakfast was not compatible for a vegan diet although many options if you are not concerned about eating healthy (3) there were ants in our room, although we were told that maintence would spray after we checked out (4) to persuade us to use the valet service they assured us the complimentary service runs every 10 minutes. Which would in theory save us money so we would not have to pay daily at both hotels. We asked to be driven by the shuttle to the conference hotel 5 minutes away an hour beofre we were expected to be there. We were told the driver was out and would be back in 30 minutes, although were told upon check in it would be 10 minute wait max. After 30 minutes we asked how much longer and were told it would be another 30 minutes. We were forced to get our car from valet and pay double the amount of the valet to park daily at the conference. However, the staff was apologetic but did nothing. Overall the hotel was a cute place to dtay and the staff friendly. I will not be staying there again nor would I recommend it to friends or family in the future solely because of the lack of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A local amazing vegan resturant is about a 10 minute drive away.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 26, 2008

Okay

Hotel seemed underutilized. Few guests. Neighborhood iffy. Valet parking many blocks away and expensive. On street parking recommended only near street lights. Television sets easily heard as muffled sound through walls. No hot water in shower. On the positive side, the staff were very cordial. And there was a nice continental breakfast. The neighborhood is probably more lively during the week--I stayed on a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Quite a few good eating options several blocks away. Long walk in the heat of summer.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disgusted in Dallas
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2012

Unclean and badly in need of renovation

I checked in to find the outside of the toile bowl covered with dried vomit. Rooms badly in need of a renovation. Would make a great boutique hotel, but now is a dump! Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas,tx
Sep 27, 2010

The ancient

I used the free wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Money

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Simorhinos
Sydney, Australia
May 5, 2010

Poor stay in Dallas

Worst hotel we have stayed at in the US!! Don't stay here the staff are extremely unhelpful and cancelled our booking without notifying us because [...] rate was $1 per day less than their own rate. If you like small rooms and poor service this is the hotel for you.Only good point is that it is a block from dealy plaza and 6th floor museum which was our highlight of staying in Dallas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 19, 2008

poor

don't drive...no parking. rooms are very small and the hotel shows its age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search