$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference Attendee Chris
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 10, 2010

My Stay at the Lawrence

The room was small, but fine for just one. Might have felt cramped with two. Carpet could have used a good cleaning, and did see one cockroach, but otherwise the room seemed reasonably clean. Some of the paint was peeling, though, which gave a subtle ick factor. Really appreciated the free breakfast each day, and bottled water. Neither was supplied to friends who stayed at the Hyatt Regency, at more than twice the cost. Just a 2-block walk to the Texas Schoolbook Depository and museum. The shuttle bus (free within 3 miles) was generally available when needed, although this was subject to chance, but the drivers were cheerful and very helpful. The Founder's Grill was very good, and reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LBk travel
Business
Lubbock, TX
Jul 31, 2011

A+

Very clean, very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The City Tavern

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duri, Indonesia
Jul 1, 2009

Good value for the money

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they made cookies for everyone from 6-8 PM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Gator's! You can try fried alligator, and the service is top notch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kent Island, MD
May 22, 2010

Fun Dallas Trip

Picked this hotel because of it location, one block from Dealy Plaza. Hotel is old with small rooms but I knew this when I picked it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Shuttle van available to take you places and pick you up. Hotel was very clean. Parking is around the block (downtown hotel) and cost ten dollars for one day and you are able to go in and out of the lot during your stay. A few places to eat within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMS Professional Educator/Paramedic
Business
Lawton, Oklahoma
Oct 1, 2010

Nice and Great Location

Over all a very pleasant experience. The location was easy to get to. Check in was fast and efficient, Valet parking was different than most would expect but not a problem and my vehicle was secured properly, safe, and available to me as needed. It is one of the remaining old downtown hotels and in very good shape for it's age. It is not a modern chain hotel and so long as you remember that it is worth every cent. Staff was super friendly and very helpful at all times. Lounge beverage prices were very reasonable however Dinner Menu was horribly high for the location type of food service it was ($13 for a Hamburger is simply unacceptable). Downtown food district was not too far by foot and for the most part the part of downtown where the hotel is located is fairly safe for the business traveler to walk around in the evening. I would consider staying there again should the need araise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the short walk up to the West End for the Tourist/Downtown experience, or drive a short distance to one of the many excellent opportunitys Dallas has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 1, 2010

Wonderful people

I was there for a conference at another hotel. The room was nice and clean enough, but the best part was the shuttle service and the staff at the front desk. [...] drove us back and forth with minimal wait time and a great attitude. For the price, it can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 16, 2010

Great Location

I had a great time and the hotel has shuttle service that took me to and from my conference center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 24, 2010

Nice spot

Older hotel, but well kept. Free breakfast, free cookies and milk at night, free wifi. Located very close to Book Depository Museum, business district, and restaurants. Bathroom is very modern and cool looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...] then email hotel and they will upgrade the room to a 2 bed for $20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Patton
Business
Houston TX
Mar 2, 2011

Highly recommended Dallas hotel option

This charming old facility, built in 1925, lacks "luxury" and is a bit out of date, but it didn't affect my enjoyment of the accomodations. The visit started with a fascinating & kind gentleman behind the desk who made us feel completely welcome, and who was the source of my only regret upon checkout - the inability to shake his hand and personally thank him for his hospitality. The rooms are small but clean; the elevators are old and slow but quite reliable; the carpet could stand to be replaced, I suppose, but was neat and clean; the attention to detail in room preparation was extreme - I could have bounced a quarter off the sheets on the very comfortable queen sized bed; the TV was of the CRT variety, but I didn't care - I never watch hotel TV. From 8 to 10PM they offered warm cookies and milk on the second floor. I didn't partake, but am certain, based on the rest of my experience there, that these too were very well done. I highly recommend this hotel to any downtown Dallas visitor. The fact that it's so very reasonably priced is icing on the cake, but the cake itself was quite good - don't let the price scare you away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

West End restaurants are only a several block walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 23, 2007

European Style Hotel

This hotel had a European style to it. The hotel is old (1925) so the rooms were very quaint. They have a great continental breakfast. The only drawback was the parking. The hotel does not have a lot so the best choice is to valet park. The valet service is available only up to 10:00 p.m. which almost became a probelm for me because I had an event to go to. A woman alone is not safe to self park after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel does not have a parking garage. Parking is at Union Station, 2 blocks from the hotel. Valet parking is available between 6:00 am and 10:00 pm pnly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top