$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
123 reviews
Great location and price

Great hotel for the money you pay. By far the best location in downtown Dallas, even better than... See full review

  • Pete and Memphis
  • Jan 5, 2015
Lovely stay!!!

I currently live in Dallas TX, but I needed to get away from things and have some me time. Overall... See full review

  • yumyum214
  • Sep 18, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 123
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dweezy
Business
Central Texas
Mar 14, 2014

It was okay

We went down for a concert which was within a mile of the hotel, so that aspect was nice. However, there was not a comforter on the bed, very few outlets, and there was not a king size bed as advertised. Also, there was not hot water in the morning when I went to shower. I probably won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

American Airlines center within a mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller worldwide
Business
Mexico city
Feb 5, 2014

Good location

The location is good, close to the west end. Although the hotel is old, is well conditioned. It' s clean. The only complain, is that there is only one elevator working and the staff from the hotel is not very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Maybe is good for a short stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
albertsantjulia
Business
Dallas
Dec 31, 2013

Chep Hotel, Cheap Quality

To start with, they only have one real slow elevator for almost 10 floors. None of the ice cubes maker machines worked unless the ones at the top floors. The water get off the tap white, I told and showed that to the receptionist and he told me that that was what they had and if I wanted clean water, I should BUY it in the vending machine at the 2nd floor... Very poor personal attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lights All Night Music Festival in the Dallas Convention Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Happy Happy Payne
Business
Georgia
Sep 4, 2013

The Adam's Family

This Hotel is nothing like it look on line. The entry was OLD and dark. The rooms are small, the bathroom is small ans who every picked out the tile need to be fired. The TV is old as the hotel. Friday night the TV blow up and electrical smoke was all in the room, I reach for the telephone and it was dead, someone had pulled the cord out the wall, I had to call down to the front desk with my cell phone, had to change room at 1:30am, with no assistant from the one staff. The Fire Alarm went off Sat morning about 6:30/7am. Some one burned something in the kitchen. The night shift staff was like he was lost, He kept saying "I'm the only one here" and didn't want to come up to see what was wrong. Don't waste your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dallas was Great, Don't stay at the Lawrence Hotel. My Nick name is not Happy Happy Payne

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston tx
Apr 5, 2011

Just Good

In general is a OK... I think they could do better. The breakfast is just bad... I would prefer to pay for it. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stillwater, OK
Dec 26, 2010

Out on the town

The internet did not work with my laptop. We had trouble signing in with even the id number. Also, i was not able to raise the temp in the room. The high temp. knob did not work or there was no knob. Room #309

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kent Island, MD
May 22, 2010

Fun Dallas Trip

Picked this hotel because of it location, one block from Dealy Plaza. Hotel is old with small rooms but I knew this when I picked it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Shuttle van available to take you places and pick you up. Hotel was very clean. Parking is around the block (downtown hotel) and cost ten dollars for one day and you are able to go in and out of the lot during your stay. A few places to eat within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mooresville, NC
May 4, 2010

Just what we needed

The hotel service was great. The hotel is older and the rooms are smaller but was just what we needed for a one night stay. We were visiting Dealey Plaza and the location is great. Two blocks from the Sixth Floor Museum and one block from the public transit system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Founder's Grill was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 19, 2010

Great location

Good location for what I wanted. Walls in rooms were too thin. Desk undermanned and had to wait quite awhile for an answer to phone call or check out. Valet parking limited times. Clean and comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gueyhoo
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 5, 2009

Hotel Lawrence

I am trying to keep in mind that this is an older hotel in downtown Dallas. That being said a lot of improvements need to be made. Our room was tiny, had peeling paint and scuff marks on the walls. There was only one elevator for the 10 level hotel and it was so slow. The breakfast didn't have much to choose from, and its gravy and biscuits were cold. Valet wasn't that great. Needed to have given them at least 20 minutes warning before requesting your car. This hotel didn't seem all that busy the weekend we were there either. However, the staff was so helpful and friendly. This would be my only reason for staying that this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top