$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Degs
Single
Kent, England
Nov 15, 2012

Good basic hotel

Good, friendly service from staff. Room clean but basic, in room coffee and water bottles provided, tv remote did not always work. Good location for historic sites, not so good for food, etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hepcat
Single
Memphis, TN
Oct 23, 2010

Dallas visit

Very nice hotel, it took a while for the place to get my reservation confirmation, but I did book same-day, so not too upsetting. The hotel was exactly as the reviews said, nice, good service, a little old, but great value! I will go back if in Dallas again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Very charming old-school bar in the hotel

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 10, 2010

Should have been $50/night

Pros: Great location and free shuttle. If you are interested in the JFK memorial it is just across the street. Cons: Noisy--train, clock tower, maids blasting their radio at 9:45am which is 7:45am for me due to time change. Shuttle is free but you have to wait a long time. Not enough hot water and our toilet was broken so we had to leave the lid off and pull!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeZone
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Oct 8, 2010

It's cool to be surrounded by the old

Wonderful hotel, dated but that's to be expected considering it's history. The walls are a little thin so some nights had me listening to the next room's TV. The fitness room was a mess, most of the equipment was broken. The location was fantastic, a short walk to the historic district where the eatting selection was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMS Professional Educator/Paramedic
Business
Lawton, Oklahoma
Oct 1, 2010

Nice and Great Location

Over all a very pleasant experience. The location was easy to get to. Check in was fast and efficient, Valet parking was different than most would expect but not a problem and my vehicle was secured properly, safe, and available to me as needed. It is one of the remaining old downtown hotels and in very good shape for it's age. It is not a modern chain hotel and so long as you remember that it is worth every cent. Staff was super friendly and very helpful at all times. Lounge beverage prices were very reasonable however Dinner Menu was horribly high for the location type of food service it was ($13 for a Hamburger is simply unacceptable). Downtown food district was not too far by foot and for the most part the part of downtown where the hotel is located is fairly safe for the business traveler to walk around in the evening. I would consider staying there again should the need araise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the short walk up to the West End for the Tourist/Downtown experience, or drive a short distance to one of the many excellent opportunitys Dallas has to offer.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Dallas,tx
Sep 27, 2010

The ancient

I used the free wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Money

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 1, 2010

Wonderful people

I was there for a conference at another hotel. The room was nice and clean enough, but the best part was the shuttle service and the staff at the front desk. [...] drove us back and forth with minimal wait time and a great attitude. For the price, it can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dallas Traveler from Richmond
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 11, 2010

Tired old Hotel

This hotel, built in 1925 needs some serious renovations. The hotel looks a bit dingy and smells musty. The exercise "room" has equipment that is dated and half of it does not work. the only thing that can be said about the place is that for the location, the price is hard to beat, but next time, I'll spend a few extra dollars and get a better hotel. On the good side, the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Kent Island, MD
May 22, 2010

Fun Dallas Trip

Picked this hotel because of it location, one block from Dealy Plaza. Hotel is old with small rooms but I knew this when I picked it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Shuttle van available to take you places and pick you up. Hotel was very clean. Parking is around the block (downtown hotel) and cost ten dollars for one day and you are able to go in and out of the lot during your stay. A few places to eat within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference Attendee Chris
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 10, 2010

My Stay at the Lawrence

The room was small, but fine for just one. Might have felt cramped with two. Carpet could have used a good cleaning, and did see one cockroach, but otherwise the room seemed reasonably clean. Some of the paint was peeling, though, which gave a subtle ick factor. Really appreciated the free breakfast each day, and bottled water. Neither was supplied to friends who stayed at the Hyatt Regency, at more than twice the cost. Just a 2-block walk to the Texas Schoolbook Depository and museum. The shuttle bus (free within 3 miles) was generally available when needed, although this was subject to chance, but the drivers were cheerful and very helpful. The Founder's Grill was very good, and reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Simorhinos
Couples
Sydney, Australia
May 5, 2010

Poor stay in Dallas

Worst hotel we have stayed at in the US!! Don't stay here the staff are extremely unhelpful and cancelled our booking without notifying us because [...] rate was $1 per day less than their own rate. If you like small rooms and poor service this is the hotel for you.Only good point is that it is a block from dealy plaza and 6th floor museum which was our highlight of staying in Dallas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top