$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
121 reviews
Lovely stay!!!

I currently live in Dallas TX, but I needed to get away from things and have some me time. Overall... See full review

  • yumyum214
  • Sep 18, 2014
great place

Always a pleasant staygreat people great location always a clean establishment See full review

  • eric white
  • Aug 8, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
From Denver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Not Bad

I was in town for business and stayed two nights. Close to downtown and the convention center was nice but not the nicest part of the downtown area. I wouldn't want my wife walking alone there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free hotel shuttle was nice for getting around. Rooms were nice but nothing extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ldysrches
Business
Fairfield, California
Sep 12, 2011

Quaint old hotel

The hotel and staff were fine and, while the rooms are on the small side, they did put you a step back in time. The only bad thing I could say is the breakfast was not up to standards (my standards). While "continental" means different things to different people, different was what was missing. There was no variety and we stayed 4 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a GREAT restaurant around the corner, Cindy's Deli - best Nova Lox I have ever had! The restaurant is so good, even if I stay somewhere else next time, I'm coming back to Cindy's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SAWA bound
Business
Arizona
Nov 17, 2014

Good location.

The hotel is definitely showing its age. Staff was great, continental breakfast was included and appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main Street downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 20, 2007

Good hotel

Overall, my experience at the Hotel Lawrence was great. I loved the complimentry transportation; it was a great help. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a little small, but decently furnished. The continental breakfast had quite a few options and the evening cookie reception was nice. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner since they only had a bottle of shampoo. The location was good since it was in close walking distance to the West End and a DART (Dallas Area Rapid Transit) Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 19, 2010

great

great location. great views. friendly staff. great bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy, Busy Kiannaa
Business
Vancouver, WA
Oct 13, 2010

Old style hotel

I broke my foot just a day before traveling and called the hotel to get a handicap room as I was in a wheelchair. They were very accomdating on the phone and when I arrived they were extremely kind and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with Hotel Lawrence and will definitely return..hopefully not in a wheelchair! The hotel is old, but updated and I would refer those I know going to Dallas, TX to book there. The restaurant attached to the hotel has EXCELLENT food and friendly like being at Cheers! Oh, almost forgot...the hotel has a fantastic breakfast that is FREE! They had lots of food and lots of choices! Thank you! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a lot to do within a short distance as they have a hotel shuttle and there is a in-town train. As I was in a wheelchair, I chose to stay close to the hotel. The shuttle took me each day to the Hyatt where my meetings were held and picked me up at night. Wonderful people!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP70
Business
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Jun 10, 2012

good location downtown dallas

downtown dallas to walk. but dont expect high quality, bathrooms are refurnished. it is absolutely ok what you get for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

dallas art museum, a great place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ranafonk
Business
Mexico City
Oct 4, 2012

Good choice

Nice place, clean, good food in the bar! I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy in NY
Business
NY, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Enjoyed the stay

First, what the hotel lacks in 'charm' it is made up for in Southern Hospitality. The entire staff was both friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast...you must try the biscuits and gravy. The biscuits alone are amazing. They're moist and buttery...not dry like most biscuits. While you sit down to eat your breakfast, you can look out the window and see the book depository, Dealey Square and the Red Museum. It's the same view when you eat at The Founders Grill. As for the restaurant...AMAZING! It may be a little pricey for some, but the food is phenomenal. The tilapia roma was superb. The caesar salad was one of the best I've ever had. I also had the salmon dish and the fettucine alfredo with blackened shrimp. Everything was so good. If you're a foodie...they do not disappoint. The shuttle service was a great feature. The driver was also able to drive me to the airport on his day off, so it pays to be friendly to the staff. Each time the shuttle took me out, they always pointed out places to go. Since I was there for the Dallas Stars, they also made sure I knew I had to take a cab back to the hotel and where I could find the cab after the game. After the game, I walked into the lobby and was greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie before I headed up to my room. The hotel is great for the food, location and service. The room and hotel could use an update, but overall, it was clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. If you're visiting Dallas and plan on visiting the JFK stuff, this hotel is in a great location. The JFK Memorial is a block and a half away (next to Red Museum). Dealey Square (grassy knoll area) is a block away, the book depository (aka The Sixth Floor Museum) is 2 blocks away. Overall, it was the staff that helped make this trip to Dallas an amazing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not shop in Dallas. You'll be greeted with an 8.25% sales tax. But if you must shop, West Village is a nice little neighborhood to shop. Dining Tip: Beyond Founders Grill, there is a whole street filled with restaurants on Market Street, which is one block up from the JFK area, and to the left. TOURISM: Perot Museum recently opened up. If you have kids, this is the perfect place to take them. There's a children's museum on the bottom floor, as well as a sports exhibit. As you walk around through the museum, you may find one of its coolest features...a live tornado inside the museum. Also, if you are there to go to the book depository, try and get tickets early (I don't know if this is possible). The long line (and one ticket seller) was beyond annoying. I left. I guesstimated it was a 1.5 hour long wait to get tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juli Juli
Business
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Jul 15, 2013

Very good amenities

The hotel offer great amenities, but is a kind old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top