$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chazer67
Business
Frankston, TX
Apr 17, 2011

Atlas Shrugged Weekend

Good service, The hotel is old but fairly well maintained. Finding parking nearby was difficult. Location is within a short walk to the West End.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dick's Last Resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
p-funk fan
Business
houston
Apr 10, 2011

very nice

great location. not far from venue(The Loft). Only downside don't try to order food after midnite, it was a thursday nite and there was no downtown delivery or room service. room great,staff great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston tx
Apr 5, 2011

Just Good

In general is a OK... I think they could do better. The breakfast is just bad... I would prefer to pay for it. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 1, 2011

Hotel Lawrence

The hotel is a dump. The manager on duty is very rude. And they say parking available, but it is not. I called in the afternoon and asked about parking, I was told it would be available upon my arrival. When I got here this evening, there were not spots. When I asked about additional parking, he could only direct me to a lot but knew nothing about the cost or rules. I would think if you are a downtown hotel you would know all parking options if you only have 16 spots available. Do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 27, 2011

Worn and Dusty

I was in town for a week at a convention held at the Dallas Convention Center. There is no mention on the website or at the hotel that the hotel is 1/2 block away from the train station or that there is a train every 10 minutes to the DCC. This is a great convenience. No one at the front desk mentioned this to guests. A local map with hints for travelers could be a big help. There is a great breakfast place next door named Cindi's Deli. No mention of this to the guests. My room was very worn. The drapes were gray with dust. The bath room was nice and newly renovated. Heating and air conditioning worked well. The bed was comfortable. The pea-green hallways need a new color. Neighborhood is safe at night. This place has a great location, but needs renovation to justify the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The train station is 1/2 block away with transport to the Dallas Convention Cntr. and there is a great breakfast place (Cindi's) just around the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Patton
Business
Houston TX
Mar 2, 2011

Highly recommended Dallas hotel option

This charming old facility, built in 1925, lacks "luxury" and is a bit out of date, but it didn't affect my enjoyment of the accomodations. The visit started with a fascinating & kind gentleman behind the desk who made us feel completely welcome, and who was the source of my only regret upon checkout - the inability to shake his hand and personally thank him for his hospitality. The rooms are small but clean; the elevators are old and slow but quite reliable; the carpet could stand to be replaced, I suppose, but was neat and clean; the attention to detail in room preparation was extreme - I could have bounced a quarter off the sheets on the very comfortable queen sized bed; the TV was of the CRT variety, but I didn't care - I never watch hotel TV. From 8 to 10PM they offered warm cookies and milk on the second floor. I didn't partake, but am certain, based on the rest of my experience there, that these too were very well done. I highly recommend this hotel to any downtown Dallas visitor. The fact that it's so very reasonably priced is icing on the cake, but the cake itself was quite good - don't let the price scare you away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

West End restaurants are only a several block walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leesah
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 2, 2011

NYE 2010

Non-functional, overly creative shower. The bed would have been more comfortable with a comforter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leesah
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 2, 2011

NYE 2010

Non-functional, overly creative shower. The bed would have been more comfortable with a comforter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stillwater, OK
Dec 26, 2010

Out on the town

The internet did not work with my laptop. We had trouble signing in with even the id number. Also, i was not able to raise the temp in the room. The high temp. knob did not work or there was no knob. Room #309

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 7, 2010

Unique

Reminded me of European Hotel rooms. Small bathroom, only a queen bed, but lots of character and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top