$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
168 reviews
Great Staff

Among the positive things I have to say about Hotel Lawrence, the best would be the folks who work... See full review

  • JDTT
  • Jun 7, 2013
Great Historic Location

Fine hotel, although restaurant now closed. Apparently, serious remodeling scheduled for the future. See full review

  • Robt
  • Jun 23, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marina johnny
Tx
Jul 30, 2012

Happy

i was happy , i enjoy my stay. yes i would let everyone know about the staff they are helpfull .........awsome job ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DallasJuke
Baton Rouge, LA
Apr 3, 2013

Average

Parking is horrible, meaning that it does not come with the hotel. The only overnight parking does not allow in-and-out and has a daily fee. The valet parking is the only option for those who want to get out everyday; however, it also comes with a daily fee! Room amenities, like microwaves and irons, were non-existent. Also, staff were not always friendly. The TV was ordinary (not modern), and the toilet carried a stench after every flush (even when we first arrived in the room). However, the location was great, complimentary breakfast was good, and our car never got "banged up". We slept pretty good as well with barely any interruptions. It's an okay hotel if you don't plan to be there every waking moment of your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's practically in the center of downtown, so there are a variety of dining and entertainment places for you. The hotel also provides a shuttle that goes in a three mile radius of the hotel, which means dining is covered without walking.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stillwater, OK
Dec 26, 2010

Out on the town

The internet did not work with my laptop. We had trouble signing in with even the id number. Also, i was not able to raise the temp in the room. The high temp. knob did not work or there was no knob. Room #309

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayVG
Business
NYC
Apr 17, 2012

Cheap, threadbare

They do their best and it's priced right. There is a van that will run you to a local destination and a free breakfast. However, the fitness center machines were all broken, paint cracking in the bathroom, and generally threadbare. Not a romatic getaway place, but clean, safe and does the trick. Right near Dealy Plaze for all you JFK buffs, dont think there is a closer hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quick Stay
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Small hotel, still nice

The hotel was older so the rooms were small and not spacious, The hotel was in a nice location for downtown and was still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeComics
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 3, 2013

I loved the hotel but there were problems.

There was a problem with my room. I will not mention what it was. What it was bad enough that I couldn't stay in it. I had to wait a hour for them to clear it up. They ended up giving me a upgrade that I was very happy with. I would recommend this hotel. The situation that happened to me isn't common.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chazer67
Frankston, TX
Apr 17, 2011

Atlas Shrugged Weekend

Good service, The hotel is old but fairly well maintained. Finding parking nearby was difficult. Location is within a short walk to the West End.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dick's Last Resort

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S.L. Rampey
Columbia, SC
Jan 25, 2012

Friendly Staff

The room I stayed in was perfect for one person. The room was kept clean and the staff was very courteous. The only complaint I have is the water valves seemed to have been mixed up between the sink and shower. The sink only spurted forth warm and hot water whereas the shower only provided lukewarm or cold water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The tap room and grill had great food and friendly staff.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vince see the world
Chicago
Dec 26, 2013

Decent stay

Good complementary breakfast. Decent location. The room is a bit crowded and there is no drinkable water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Mar 19, 2010

Great location

Good location for what I wanted. Walls in rooms were too thin. Desk undermanned and had to wait quite awhile for an answer to phone call or check out. Valet parking limited times. Clean and comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chazer67
Frankston, TX
Apr 17, 2011

Atlas Shrugged Weekend

Good service, The hotel is old but fairly well maintained. Finding parking nearby was difficult. Location is within a short walk to the West End.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dick's Last Resort

Back to menu Return to top