Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Degs
Single
Kent, England
Nov 15, 2012

Good basic hotel

Good, friendly service from staff. Room clean but basic, in room coffee and water bottles provided, tv remote did not always work. Good location for historic sites, not so good for food, etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
From Denver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Not Bad

I was in town for business and stayed two nights. Close to downtown and the convention center was nice but not the nicest part of the downtown area. I wouldn't want my wife walking alone there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free hotel shuttle was nice for getting around. Rooms were nice but nothing extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ldysrches
Couples
Fairfield, California
Sep 12, 2011

Quaint old hotel

The hotel and staff were fine and, while the rooms are on the small side, they did put you a step back in time. The only bad thing I could say is the breakfast was not up to standards (my standards). While "continental" means different things to different people, different was what was missing. There was no variety and we stayed 4 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a GREAT restaurant around the corner, Cindy's Deli - best Nova Lox I have ever had! The restaurant is so good, even if I stay somewhere else next time, I'm coming back to Cindy's.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Dallas, TX
Mar 19, 2010

Great location

Good location for what I wanted. Walls in rooms were too thin. Desk undermanned and had to wait quite awhile for an answer to phone call or check out. Valet parking limited times. Clean and comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Felix and EM
Couples
Powhatan, Va
Sep 23, 2009

Are you ready for some football???

We enjoyed our stay. They even had a computer that allowed us to view & print our boarding pass for our flight. This saved a lot of time and hassle. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to interstate that lead us right to Cowboys Stadium, which was totally awesome.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 7, 2008

Pleased overall

The rooms were nice, modern but small. A very quaint and historic hotel with friendly employees. Good Location. Only negative is lack of parking, but overall I was pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Victory Park was nice.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quick Stay
Couples
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Small hotel, still nice

The hotel was older so the rooms were small and not spacious, The hotel was in a nice location for downtown and was still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dallas First-Timers
Couples
Kansas City, MO
Jun 21, 2009

A good deal

Hotel Lawrence was perfectly adequate for the price. It is at a great location if you plan on exploring Downtown Dallas. When we requested towels, the staff brought them to our rooms in 2 minutes. The staff patiently answered all of our numerous questions. The only downside was a leaky bathtub and the parking situation. Either valet park in the hotel's parking garage or bring lots of change. The meters are free after 6PM, but on the weekdays, the metermaids start checking the meters at 7AM (and parking tickets are $35)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants within walking distance are pricey. For those that are price sensitive, you might want to extend your search beyond the west end of downtown.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chazer67
Couples
Frankston, TX
Apr 17, 2011

Atlas Shrugged Weekend

Good service, The hotel is old but fairly well maintained. Finding parking nearby was difficult. Location is within a short walk to the West End.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dick's Last Resort

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SAWA bound
Business
Arizona
Nov 17, 2014

Good location.

The hotel is definitely showing its age. Staff was great, continental breakfast was included and appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main Street downtown.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Francis S.
Single
Denver
Jan 14, 2015

50th anniversay of JFK

This was a perfect fit for the trip I took. I was only there for 8 hours to sleep. I had a shower and a bed. It did the job. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top