$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vince see the world
Business
Chicago
Dec 26, 2013

Decent stay

Good complementary breakfast. Decent location. The room is a bit crowded and there is no drinkable water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goldenchild06
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 6, 2014

It was ok...

The stay was cool. Didn't want anything major, just in downtown Dallas to hang out without going back home. The hospitality was subpar. Not too much interactions with guests. Place could've used some touching up in regards to the inside decor. (We stayed on e 10th floor)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milpitas, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Don't let the pictures fool you!

This place was nice, but by the pictures and the regular price you would expect this place to be a lot nicer. I called the hotel first to see how much they charged. Orbitz saved me a lot off the hotels quoted price for the night. So for the price it was good. Good location. The rooms seemed clean, but old looking like it needed a paint job. Parking was not good, $15 extra for Valet Parking per night. There is supposed to be self parking a block away. You can park on the street between 6pm and 7am, if you can find a spot. Oh yeah, the one elevator is slow. It could take up to 10 min to get down from the 9th floor, especially at breakfast time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston tx
Apr 5, 2011

Just Good

In general is a OK... I think they could do better. The breakfast is just bad... I would prefer to pay for it. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent dallas traveler
Business
New Jersey/ Dallas
Jun 18, 2009

Lawrence Hotel

Friendly and helpful hotel staff. Utilized free shuttle to my office downtown several times. Good free continental breakfast. Wifi was free but reception in room on 9th floor was weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free shuttle to/from downtown was helpful and saved me money in cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pflugerville, Texas
Aug 8, 2009

A nice place to stay

I was attending a conference at the Hyatt Regency and the Hotel Lawrence was an affordable hotel within walking distance of the Hyatt. The Hotel Lawrence was definitely build in 1925 and you can tell that just from the size of everything. The lobby, elevators, and rooms were all small compared to modern hotel rooms. I would have to say that the rooms, including bathroom, could literally fit into a modern day home's master bedroom. So if you do not like cramped spaces, you may not like the Hotel Lawrence. But if you're just using the room as a place to lay your head, then this place is great because it is within walking distance to the market district and the light rail system. The only real complaint I would have with the Hotel Lawrence is that it does look a little run down and I'm just hoping they have some remodeling plans in their future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Lawrence is within a short walking distance to a lot of interesting sites; Reunion Tower, The Book Depository, The JFk Memorial, The Assisination Parade Route and the Market District; which has several great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H-town
Business
Houston, Tx.
Jul 10, 2009

A great night sleep.

I was in Dallas on business and only stayed one night. The employees were friendly and the room was extremely clean. I really enjoyed the second shower head which showers your body from an angle. My only issue is that they have a limited parking. Once valet fills up you have to find your own parking. This parking my be by a meter several blocks away or at a city parking lot that you have to pay again everytime you re-enter. PLEASE correct you parking issue Hotel Lawrence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stillwater, OK
Dec 26, 2010

Out on the town

The internet did not work with my laptop. We had trouble signing in with even the id number. Also, i was not able to raise the temp in the room. The high temp. knob did not work or there was no knob. Room #309

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
From Denver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Not Bad

I was in town for business and stayed two nights. Close to downtown and the convention center was nice but not the nicest part of the downtown area. I wouldn't want my wife walking alone there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free hotel shuttle was nice for getting around. Rooms were nice but nothing extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ldysrches
Business
Fairfield, California
Sep 12, 2011

Quaint old hotel

The hotel and staff were fine and, while the rooms are on the small side, they did put you a step back in time. The only bad thing I could say is the breakfast was not up to standards (my standards). While "continental" means different things to different people, different was what was missing. There was no variety and we stayed 4 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a GREAT restaurant around the corner, Cindy's Deli - best Nova Lox I have ever had! The restaurant is so good, even if I stay somewhere else next time, I'm coming back to Cindy's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top