$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
168 reviews
Great Staff

Among the positive things I have to say about Hotel Lawrence, the best would be the folks who work... See full review

  • JDTT
  • Jun 7, 2013
Great Historic Location

Fine hotel, although restaurant now closed. Apparently, serious remodeling scheduled for the future. See full review

  • Robt
  • Jun 23, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Degs
Kent, England
Nov 15, 2012

Good basic hotel

Good, friendly service from staff. Room clean but basic, in room coffee and water bottles provided, tv remote did not always work. Good location for historic sites, not so good for food, etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dallas Traveler from Richmond
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 11, 2010

Tired old Hotel

This hotel, built in 1925 needs some serious renovations. The hotel looks a bit dingy and smells musty. The exercise "room" has equipment that is dated and half of it does not work. the only thing that can be said about the place is that for the location, the price is hard to beat, but next time, I'll spend a few extra dollars and get a better hotel. On the good side, the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sngalloway
San Antonio TX
Nov 16, 2009

The Hotel Lawerence

We were in town for a conference and were drawn to this hotel because of its gay friendly status and lower rate compared to the conference hotel. Over all our stay was ok except for a few complaiments:(1) a serious lack of parking (2) breakfast was not compatible for a vegan diet although many options if you are not concerned about eating healthy (3) there were ants in our room, although we were told that maintence would spray after we checked out (4) to persuade us to use the valet service they assured us the complimentary service runs every 10 minutes. Which would in theory save us money so we would not have to pay daily at both hotels. We asked to be driven by the shuttle to the conference hotel 5 minutes away an hour beofre we were expected to be there. We were told the driver was out and would be back in 30 minutes, although were told upon check in it would be 10 minute wait max. After 30 minutes we asked how much longer and were told it would be another 30 minutes. We were forced to get our car from valet and pay double the amount of the valet to park daily at the conference. However, the staff was apologetic but did nothing. Overall the hotel was a cute place to dtay and the staff friendly. I will not be staying there again nor would I recommend it to friends or family in the future solely because of the lack of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A local amazing vegan resturant is about a 10 minute drive away.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ainsy1
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 8, 2013

Downtown Location, but shows it's age

The room was clean, bed comfy, but had a tiny bathroom and dingy carpeting and pretty old furniture. The B-Fast food was ok... This place appears to have had some renovations, but it simply isn't enough for this 1925 landmark. The City of Dallas needs to get the vocal vagrants out of the Downtown area if they want tourists to stay downtown. I was approached 3 out of the 5 times I was out in front of the hotel. I'm sure a woman would be much more uncomfortable with this concern. Staff was friendly and accommodating, it's just that the facility has pasted it's prime. Probably needs a complete gutting to bring up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Valet Park at Hotel for $19/night. I don't think I'd want to walk around DT Dallas after dark...especially alone.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 19, 2008

poor

don't drive...no parking. rooms are very small and the hotel shows its age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dweezy
Central Texas
Mar 14, 2014

It was okay

We went down for a concert which was within a mile of the hotel, so that aspect was nice. However, there was not a comforter on the bed, very few outlets, and there was not a king size bed as advertised. Also, there was not hot water in the morning when I went to shower. I probably won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

American Airlines center within a mile.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 27, 2011

Worn and Dusty

I was in town for a week at a convention held at the Dallas Convention Center. There is no mention on the website or at the hotel that the hotel is 1/2 block away from the train station or that there is a train every 10 minutes to the DCC. This is a great convenience. No one at the front desk mentioned this to guests. A local map with hints for travelers could be a big help. There is a great breakfast place next door named Cindi's Deli. No mention of this to the guests. My room was very worn. The drapes were gray with dust. The bath room was nice and newly renovated. Heating and air conditioning worked well. The bed was comfortable. The pea-green hallways need a new color. Neighborhood is safe at night. This place has a great location, but needs renovation to justify the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The train station is 1/2 block away with transport to the Dallas Convention Cntr. and there is a great breakfast place (Cindi's) just around the block.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller worldwide
Mexico city
Feb 5, 2014

Good location

The location is good, close to the west end. Although the hotel is old, is well conditioned. It' s clean. The only complain, is that there is only one elevator working and the staff from the hotel is not very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Maybe is good for a short stay

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LouLin
Austin
Jan 6, 2014

Oh My......

We stayed here a few years ago....so sad to see the decline. We arrived at our room to no bedspread/comforter/blanket.....just sheets on the bed. In trying to call down to the desk to have them brought up, well....the phone didn't work. My husband went down to the desk to tell them of both issues. They asked if he wanted a blanket or comforter...he said "comforter". In a few minutes a blanket was delivered to our room. They were quick in fixing the phone (switched out the handset with another room). Then the search for ice....our floor ice machine out of order and said to go to the floor above. No ice there or floor below. Found ice later three floors up. TV remote didn't work. Northern blew in during the night.....literally blew and howled through the cracks around the window. All furniture and woodwork/mouldings very scuffed and nicked. . At least it was mostly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dallas Traveler from Richmond
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 11, 2010

Tired old Hotel

This hotel, built in 1925 needs some serious renovations. The hotel looks a bit dingy and smells musty. The exercise "room" has equipment that is dated and half of it does not work. the only thing that can be said about the place is that for the location, the price is hard to beat, but next time, I'll spend a few extra dollars and get a better hotel. On the good side, the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
albertsantjulia
Dallas
Dec 31, 2013

Chep Hotel, Cheap Quality

To start with, they only have one real slow elevator for almost 10 floors. None of the ice cubes maker machines worked unless the ones at the top floors. The water get off the tap white, I told and showed that to the receptionist and he told me that that was what they had and if I wanted clean water, I should BUY it in the vending machine at the 2nd floor... Very poor personal attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lights All Night Music Festival in the Dallas Convention Center

Back to menu Return to top