$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
113 reviews
great place

Always a pleasant staygreat people great location always a clean establishment See full review

  • eric white
  • Aug 8, 2014
Great place great people great stay!!

Very friendly quiet comfy establishment! I would be pleased to go back and stay with these guys... See full review

  • eric white
  • Aug 4, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marina johnny
Tx
Jul 30, 2012

Happy

i was happy , i enjoy my stay. yes i would let everyone know about the staff they are helpfull .........awsome job ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ldysrches
Fairfield, California
Sep 12, 2011

Quaint old hotel

The hotel and staff were fine and, while the rooms are on the small side, they did put you a step back in time. The only bad thing I could say is the breakfast was not up to standards (my standards). While "continental" means different things to different people, different was what was missing. There was no variety and we stayed 4 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a GREAT restaurant around the corner, Cindy's Deli - best Nova Lox I have ever had! The restaurant is so good, even if I stay somewhere else next time, I'm coming back to Cindy's.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hardtoname
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 25, 2013

Average

a bit away from downtown, but really close to Dallas convention center. The room was really small, but it was fine for two of us. Breakfast was pretty good, but the gym was really small, and... not for exercise...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Realtor Susan
Business
Floirda
Feb 22, 2013

Definately different

Not what I expected. Hotel was established in 1925, so think small rooms, small bathrooms, etc. Had problems with the heat, staff corrected immediately. Restaurant food was good, a special shout out to Thomas, our waiter and bartender! A little concerned at first, but the room was clean and staff friendly and helpful. Free shuttle to anywhere within a three mile radius was a fantastic perk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get out and walk a bit, some great restaurants and shopping and museums within easy walking distance.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H-town
Business
Houston, Tx.
Jul 10, 2009

A great night sleep.

I was in Dallas on business and only stayed one night. The employees were friendly and the room was extremely clean. I really enjoyed the second shower head which showers your body from an angle. My only issue is that they have a limited parking. Once valet fills up you have to find your own parking. This parking my be by a meter several blocks away or at a city parking lot that you have to pay again everytime you re-enter. PLEASE correct you parking issue Hotel Lawrence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dallas First-Timers
Kansas City, MO
Jun 21, 2009

A good deal

Hotel Lawrence was perfectly adequate for the price. It is at a great location if you plan on exploring Downtown Dallas. When we requested towels, the staff brought them to our rooms in 2 minutes. The staff patiently answered all of our numerous questions. The only downside was a leaky bathtub and the parking situation. Either valet park in the hotel's parking garage or bring lots of change. The meters are free after 6PM, but on the weekdays, the metermaids start checking the meters at 7AM (and parking tickets are $35)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants within walking distance are pricey. For those that are price sensitive, you might want to extend your search beyond the west end of downtown.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 7, 2008

Pleased overall

The rooms were nice, modern but small. A very quaint and historic hotel with friendly employees. Good Location. Only negative is lack of parking, but overall I was pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Victory Park was nice.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pflugerville, Texas
Aug 8, 2009

A nice place to stay

I was attending a conference at the Hyatt Regency and the Hotel Lawrence was an affordable hotel within walking distance of the Hyatt. The Hotel Lawrence was definitely build in 1925 and you can tell that just from the size of everything. The lobby, elevators, and rooms were all small compared to modern hotel rooms. I would have to say that the rooms, including bathroom, could literally fit into a modern day home's master bedroom. So if you do not like cramped spaces, you may not like the Hotel Lawrence. But if you're just using the room as a place to lay your head, then this place is great because it is within walking distance to the market district and the light rail system. The only real complaint I would have with the Hotel Lawrence is that it does look a little run down and I'm just hoping they have some remodeling plans in their future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Lawrence is within a short walking distance to a lot of interesting sites; Reunion Tower, The Book Depository, The JFk Memorial, The Assisination Parade Route and the Market District; which has several great restaurants.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Felix and EM
Powhatan, Va
Sep 23, 2009

Are you ready for some football???

We enjoyed our stay. They even had a computer that allowed us to view & print our boarding pass for our flight. This saved a lot of time and hassle. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to interstate that lead us right to Cowboys Stadium, which was totally awesome.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KPC Traveler
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
May 29, 2013

Business Stay

The decor of the entrance and lobby needs some help. It is very dark and not very appealling. The elevators are old and work slow. The rooms are very clean. The bed was very comfortable. TV and computer access. Bathroom is small with updated fixtures. Towels changed daily. Two bottles of water daily. You had continental breakfast service on the 2nd floor every morning and cookies with milk in the evening. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was very close to my conference in the Dallas conventionl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Business Stay @ Dallas Convention Center

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leesah
Dallas, TX
Jan 2, 2011

NYE 2010

Non-functional, overly creative shower. The bed would have been more comfortable with a comforter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search