$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
114 reviews
Lovely stay!!!

I currently live in Dallas TX, but I needed to get away from things and have some me time. Overall... See full review

  • yumyum214
  • Sep 18, 2014
great place

Always a pleasant staygreat people great location always a clean establishment See full review

  • eric white
  • Aug 8, 2014
The Hotel Lawrence, Dallas' newest Luxury Landmark Hotel has a glorious history that dates back to 1925, and a future that reflects a magnificent collaboration of signature style and technology. Every part of the hotel has been re-invented to bring you the finest guest comfort, convenience, personalized service and amenities. Best of all, it is wrapped in a luxurious, European inspired, interior design package.

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDTT
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 7, 2013

Great Staff

Among the positive things I have to say about Hotel Lawrence, the best would be the folks who work here. All personable, helpful and knowledgable. The place is clean and well put together in a building that actually has character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 19, 2010

great

great location. great views. friendly staff. great bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy, Busy Kiannaa
Business
Vancouver, WA
Oct 13, 2010

Old style hotel

I broke my foot just a day before traveling and called the hotel to get a handicap room as I was in a wheelchair. They were very accomdating on the phone and when I arrived they were extremely kind and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with Hotel Lawrence and will definitely return..hopefully not in a wheelchair! The hotel is old, but updated and I would refer those I know going to Dallas, TX to book there. The restaurant attached to the hotel has EXCELLENT food and friendly like being at Cheers! Oh, almost forgot...the hotel has a fantastic breakfast that is FREE! They had lots of food and lots of choices! Thank you! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a lot to do within a short distance as they have a hotel shuttle and there is a in-town train. As I was in a wheelchair, I chose to stay close to the hotel. The shuttle took me each day to the Hyatt where my meetings were held and picked me up at night. Wonderful people!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
7 Camo
Dallas, Texas
Jun 9, 2014

great location

Great location. I was told to park in the lot behind the building for $10 machine took my money but didn't print out anything ended up with a $50 ticket on my car but at least they didn't tow. Only one elevator was working so when staying on the 7th floor you would have to wait a little bit to go up or down. Other than that lovely stay and would comfortablly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

West End was about 2 blocks away with many restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMS Professional Educator/Paramedic
Business
Lawton, Oklahoma
Oct 1, 2010

Nice and Great Location

Over all a very pleasant experience. The location was easy to get to. Check in was fast and efficient, Valet parking was different than most would expect but not a problem and my vehicle was secured properly, safe, and available to me as needed. It is one of the remaining old downtown hotels and in very good shape for it's age. It is not a modern chain hotel and so long as you remember that it is worth every cent. Staff was super friendly and very helpful at all times. Lounge beverage prices were very reasonable however Dinner Menu was horribly high for the location type of food service it was ($13 for a Hamburger is simply unacceptable). Downtown food district was not too far by foot and for the most part the part of downtown where the hotel is located is fairly safe for the business traveler to walk around in the evening. I would consider staying there again should the need araise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the short walk up to the West End for the Tourist/Downtown experience, or drive a short distance to one of the many excellent opportunitys Dallas has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JSoliz
Houston, Texas
Sep 1, 2014

Good Value

Rooms were clean and quiet. Good breakfast provided. Good location. Close to Convention Center. Walking distance to many good restaurants. Had lunch at nearby Hoffbrau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 20, 2007

Good hotel

Overall, my experience at the Hotel Lawrence was great. I loved the complimentry transportation; it was a great help. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a little small, but decently furnished. The continental breakfast had quite a few options and the evening cookie reception was nice. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner since they only had a bottle of shampoo. The location was good since it was in close walking distance to the West End and a DART (Dallas Area Rapid Transit) Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeZone
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Oct 8, 2010

It's cool to be surrounded by the old

Wonderful hotel, dated but that's to be expected considering it's history. The walls are a little thin so some nights had me listening to the next room's TV. The fitness room was a mess, most of the equipment was broken. The location was fantastic, a short walk to the historic district where the eatting selection was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DallasJuke
Baton Rouge, LA
Apr 3, 2013

Average

Parking is horrible, meaning that it does not come with the hotel. The only overnight parking does not allow in-and-out and has a daily fee. The valet parking is the only option for those who want to get out everyday; however, it also comes with a daily fee! Room amenities, like microwaves and irons, were non-existent. Also, staff were not always friendly. The TV was ordinary (not modern), and the toilet carried a stench after every flush (even when we first arrived in the room). However, the location was great, complimentary breakfast was good, and our car never got "banged up". We slept pretty good as well with barely any interruptions. It's an okay hotel if you don't plan to be there every waking moment of your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's practically in the center of downtown, so there are a variety of dining and entertainment places for you. The hotel also provides a shuttle that goes in a three mile radius of the hotel, which means dining is covered without walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stillwater, OK
Dec 26, 2010

Out on the town

The internet did not work with my laptop. We had trouble signing in with even the id number. Also, i was not able to raise the temp in the room. The high temp. knob did not work or there was no knob. Room #309

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayVG
Business
NYC
Apr 17, 2012

Cheap, threadbare

They do their best and it's priced right. There is a van that will run you to a local destination and a free breakfast. However, the fitness center machines were all broken, paint cracking in the bathroom, and generally threadbare. Not a romatic getaway place, but clean, safe and does the trick. Right near Dealy Plaze for all you JFK buffs, dont think there is a closer hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search