$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
118 reviews
Lovely stay!!!

I currently live in Dallas TX, but I needed to get away from things and have some me time. Overall... See full review

  • yumyum214
  • Sep 18, 2014
great place

Always a pleasant staygreat people great location always a clean establishment See full review

  • eric white
  • Aug 8, 2014
Historic charm in a central Dallas location
Hotel Lawrence has been welcoming guests since 1925 with its European-style charm. Intimate and richly decorated, the hotel is close to the central business district in Dallas, the Historic West End and Union Station. The hotel has several pet-friendly amenities, including walking services, treats and toys. Hotel Lawrence is close to many Dallas attractions, including the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Square, Dallas Museum of Natural History, Dallas Arts District and Dallas Zoo.
Highlights
  • Located close to central business district in Dallas
  • Historic property
  • Pet-friendly amenities
Rooms

Guest rooms at Hotel Lawrence feature rich colors and elegant decor, for a feeling of intimate comfort. Each of the 118 rooms offer coffee maker, hair dryer, CD player and wireless Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms are artistically designed, with funky, round mirrors and distinctive tiles. Eight junior suites are available, each with a separate sitting area.

Features

Every evening, cookies and milk are served in the lobby.

Hotel Lawrence makes pets feel welcome. At check-in, dogs and cats receive a personalized letter from the general manager's dog or cat, highlighting all the places for a pet to visit during their stay. Suggested pet destinations include pet-friendly shops, restaurants and dog parks. Each dog receives an edible treat and chew toy, and each cat is given a catnip toy and treats. Walking services can be arranged by the bellman. Fees apply for pet stays. Pets over 30 pounds are not allowed.

For business travelers, meeting rooms are just as comfortable as the hotel's rooms. Each function room is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Hotel Lawrence has an audio/visual service on-site.

Transportation
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (19 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • American Airlines Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Market Center (1.7 mi/6.5 km)
  • Texas Stadium (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Six Flags Over Texas (15.4 mi/24.9 km)
  • Texas Motor Speedway (33 mi/53 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Borance Hotel
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 30, 2012

Ok, if you only need your room to sleep

First off, the this place is old...not "Historic" as it's description claims. Secondly, it is WAY understaffed. I checked in at 3 and thank goodness I was there early because there was a line of about 10 parties behind me. I checked in, went to my room and unpacked, ironed clothes and changed outfits. By the time I had finished I went out back through the lobby and over half of those people were STILL waiting in line. I felt bad for the ONE PERSON that was working the front desk, but he was in way over his head. Next, the rooms.....sheesh. I don't even know what to say. They're old....real old. Old fuzzy TVs, no comforter (yeah, that's right..no comforter...just a knitted blanket and two sheets# and just flat out lacking what normal hotels consider the basics. Also, our TV remote died. I went to see if they had a knew one and to also see about getting something that resembled a quilt, but when I got to the lobby, there was a line about 5 people deep. From my earlier experience I estimated the wate to be at least 20 minutes so I turned right around and said no thanks to that and went back to my room. If you are only looking for a place to sleep at night...I guess it was fine. We were hardly in our room and only there two nights, but I think next time I would suck it up and pay the extra $30 bucks to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aquariuspurplegirl
Business
salt lake city, utah
Oct 23, 2012

not good!

I booked based upon a few good reviews. Do not stay here. Hotel charges for valet service yet you have to get your own car-not valet! Our car was broken into and the window smashed. Other cars also vandalized. Shower was horrible-tub wouldn't drain. Staff was unfriendly and non responsive. Rooms were dirty. Elevator (only 1 operating) was slow and didnt always work. The wait time for elevator took about 10 minutes. Only positive was the downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beno from Australia
Business
Australia
Oct 11, 2012

Overnight stay

The hotel was run down. It had a noisy lift that was dirty. That was just some of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truth20122012
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 4, 2012

Stay Away

This hotel is old, falling apartment and dirty. 10 minutes into the stay we already wanted to leave. But they have a 24 hour cancelation policy so we had to stay another 2 days. As soon as you walk in you will notice the discolored sealing , the entire hotel needs a serious touch up. They also charge $15 dollar a day to park there, if not you have to find your own parking at the closest lot. The room had an awful smell and the bathroom tub was discolored. This was hands down the worst hotel i've ever stayed at. Save yourself the bad experience and do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ranafonk
Business
Mexico City
Oct 4, 2012

Good choice

Nice place, clean, good food in the bar! I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marina johnny
Business
Tx
Jul 30, 2012

Happy

i was happy , i enjoy my stay. yes i would let everyone know about the staff they are helpfull .........awsome job ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Show Business Mom
Business
San Juan
Jul 18, 2012

Great Service!

I had a good time. Breakfast was great! The room was practical to my needs. The price range was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PP70
Business
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Jun 10, 2012

good location downtown dallas

downtown dallas to walk. but dont expect high quality, bathrooms are refurnished. it is absolutely ok what you get for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

dallas art museum, a great place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disgusted in Dallas
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2012

Unclean and badly in need of renovation

I checked in to find the outside of the toile bowl covered with dried vomit. Rooms badly in need of a renovation. Would make a great boutique hotel, but now is a dump! Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayVG
Business
NYC
Apr 17, 2012

Cheap, threadbare

They do their best and it's priced right. There is a van that will run you to a local destination and a free breakfast. However, the fitness center machines were all broken, paint cracking in the bathroom, and generally threadbare. Not a romatic getaway place, but clean, safe and does the trick. Right near Dealy Plaze for all you JFK buffs, dont think there is a closer hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top