$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marina johnny
Tx
Jul 30, 2012

Happy

i was happy , i enjoy my stay. yes i would let everyone know about the staff they are helpfull .........awsome job ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hepcat
Business
Memphis, TN
Oct 23, 2010

Dallas visit

Very nice hotel, it took a while for the place to get my reservation confirmation, but I did book same-day, so not too upsetting. The hotel was exactly as the reviews said, nice, good service, a little old, but great value! I will go back if in Dallas again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Very charming old-school bar in the hotel

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeZone
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Oct 8, 2010

It's cool to be surrounded by the old

Wonderful hotel, dated but that's to be expected considering it's history. The walls are a little thin so some nights had me listening to the next room's TV. The fitness room was a mess, most of the equipment was broken. The location was fantastic, a short walk to the historic district where the eatting selection was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
p-funk fan
Business
houston
Apr 10, 2011

very nice

great location. not far from venue(The Loft). Only downside don't try to order food after midnite, it was a thursday nite and there was no downtown delivery or room service. room great,staff great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference Attendee Chris
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 10, 2010

My Stay at the Lawrence

The room was small, but fine for just one. Might have felt cramped with two. Carpet could have used a good cleaning, and did see one cockroach, but otherwise the room seemed reasonably clean. Some of the paint was peeling, though, which gave a subtle ick factor. Really appreciated the free breakfast each day, and bottled water. Neither was supplied to friends who stayed at the Hyatt Regency, at more than twice the cost. Just a 2-block walk to the Texas Schoolbook Depository and museum. The shuttle bus (free within 3 miles) was generally available when needed, although this was subject to chance, but the drivers were cheerful and very helpful. The Founder's Grill was very good, and reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LBk travel
Business
Lubbock, TX
Jul 31, 2011

A+

Very clean, very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The City Tavern

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duri, Indonesia
Jul 1, 2009

Good value for the money

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they made cookies for everyone from 6-8 PM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Gator's! You can try fried alligator, and the service is top notch.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kent Island, MD
May 22, 2010

Fun Dallas Trip

Picked this hotel because of it location, one block from Dealy Plaza. Hotel is old with small rooms but I knew this when I picked it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Shuttle van available to take you places and pick you up. Hotel was very clean. Parking is around the block (downtown hotel) and cost ten dollars for one day and you are able to go in and out of the lot during your stay. A few places to eat within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMS Professional Educator/Paramedic
Business
Lawton, Oklahoma
Oct 1, 2010

Nice and Great Location

Over all a very pleasant experience. The location was easy to get to. Check in was fast and efficient, Valet parking was different than most would expect but not a problem and my vehicle was secured properly, safe, and available to me as needed. It is one of the remaining old downtown hotels and in very good shape for it's age. It is not a modern chain hotel and so long as you remember that it is worth every cent. Staff was super friendly and very helpful at all times. Lounge beverage prices were very reasonable however Dinner Menu was horribly high for the location type of food service it was ($13 for a Hamburger is simply unacceptable). Downtown food district was not too far by foot and for the most part the part of downtown where the hotel is located is fairly safe for the business traveler to walk around in the evening. I would consider staying there again should the need araise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the short walk up to the West End for the Tourist/Downtown experience, or drive a short distance to one of the many excellent opportunitys Dallas has to offer.

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 1, 2010

Wonderful people

I was there for a conference at another hotel. The room was nice and clean enough, but the best part was the shuttle service and the staff at the front desk. [...] drove us back and forth with minimal wait time and a great attitude. For the price, it can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 16, 2010

Great Location

I had a great time and the hotel has shuttle service that took me to and from my conference center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top