$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
View map of 302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusting Bed Bug Bites
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 13, 2013

Bed Bug Infestation

Thanks to this dump I am now dealing with a Bed Bug infestation. I called the Health Department. The lobby is dingy and dark. There are crickets of the variety that look like roaches everywhere... if they're not alive, there are remnants everywhere. The room I stayed in was dusty and unkempt. There are loiterers and homeless folks walking about. The only covered parking is a lot that closes at 6pm. STAY AWAY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Happy Happy Payne
Business
Georgia
Sep 4, 2013

The Adam's Family

This Hotel is nothing like it look on line. The entry was OLD and dark. The rooms are small, the bathroom is small ans who every picked out the tile need to be fired. The TV is old as the hotel. Friday night the TV blow up and electrical smoke was all in the room, I reach for the telephone and it was dead, someone had pulled the cord out the wall, I had to call down to the front desk with my cell phone, had to change room at 1:30am, with no assistant from the one staff. The Fire Alarm went off Sat morning about 6:30/7am. Some one burned something in the kitchen. The night shift staff was like he was lost, He kept saying "I'm the only one here" and didn't want to come up to see what was wrong. Don't waste your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dallas was Great, Don't stay at the Lawrence Hotel. My Nick name is not Happy Happy Payne

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juli Juli
Business
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Jul 15, 2013

Very good amenities

The hotel offer great amenities, but is a kind old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dragonsamor
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Jun 15, 2013

How My Car Got Stolen. A Story of The Hotel Lawrence

Do not valet your car here!! My boyfriend and I decided to stay in Dallas for one night. We chose The Hotel Lawrence because there was a coupon for it online. The only plus about that hotel is the location. There is no parking except for a $12 lot with no in/out privileges. We decided to valet my car for the night (for $15+ tax). The next morning we asked for my car to be brought to the front so we could check out. 10 minutes later the valet who claims to have parked my car the night before asks us, "Where did you park your car?" Not a good sign. He had no recollection of my car. My boyfriend goes with the valet to see if he can spot my car. Guess where the valet lot is? That $12 lot that I mentioned earlier. My car isn't there. After about 90 minutes the valet reports that my car was stolen. Although the valet admitted to leaving my car unlocked when the police arrived, the hotel is claiming no responsibility for the theft of my car. They were SO kind as to refund my my valet charge, but told me to my face that I would have to sue them in order for them to do anything else. This has been a nightmare and I hope no one else has to go through this after reading my experience. Please heed my story.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Kia
Business
Dallas , Tx
Jun 11, 2013

Nice for the price

Overall my stay was good. For what I payed the room was worth it, Although I did not get the room I payed for. You can tell the hotel is older but it is kept up-to-date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDTT
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 7, 2013

Great Staff

Among the positive things I have to say about Hotel Lawrence, the best would be the folks who work here. All personable, helpful and knowledgable. The place is clean and well put together in a building that actually has character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KPC Traveler
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
May 29, 2013

Business Stay

The decor of the entrance and lobby needs some help. It is very dark and not very appealling. The elevators are old and work slow. The rooms are very clean. The bed was very comfortable. TV and computer access. Bathroom is small with updated fixtures. Towels changed daily. Two bottles of water daily. You had continental breakfast service on the 2nd floor every morning and cookies with milk in the evening. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was very close to my conference in the Dallas conventionl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Business Stay @ Dallas Convention Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DallasJuke
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Apr 3, 2013

Average

Parking is horrible, meaning that it does not come with the hotel. The only overnight parking does not allow in-and-out and has a daily fee. The valet parking is the only option for those who want to get out everyday; however, it also comes with a daily fee! Room amenities, like microwaves and irons, were non-existent. Also, staff were not always friendly. The TV was ordinary (not modern), and the toilet carried a stench after every flush (even when we first arrived in the room). However, the location was great, complimentary breakfast was good, and our car never got "banged up". We slept pretty good as well with barely any interruptions. It's an okay hotel if you don't plan to be there every waking moment of your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's practically in the center of downtown, so there are a variety of dining and entertainment places for you. The hotel also provides a shuttle that goes in a three mile radius of the hotel, which means dining is covered without walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hardtoname
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 25, 2013

Average

a bit away from downtown, but really close to Dallas convention center. The room was really small, but it was fine for two of us. Breakfast was pretty good, but the gym was really small, and... not for exercise...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lexi Super Dog
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2013

Don't Stay Here!!

Before I decided to stay here, I looked up the hotel's website. Their website made the hotel look luxurious and chic. That was not the case at all. We arrived in the room and everything was horrible. The carpet was incredibly old and stained; it was disgusting to even walk on it. The television was from 1980 with a remote that didn't work. The bathtub looked disgusting and had growths. The room was 80 degrees. The elevator took 10 minutes to come down or to our floor. This place reminded me of a cheap European hostel. I would not recommend staying here at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There are bars less than a mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top