$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Hotel Lawrence

3 stars
302 S. Houston St., Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
114 reviews
great place

Always a pleasant staygreat people great location always a clean establishment See full review

  • eric white
  • Aug 8, 2014
Great place great people great stay!!

Very friendly quiet comfy establishment! I would be pleased to go back and stay with these guys... See full review

  • eric white
  • Aug 4, 2014
The Hotel Lawrence, Dallas' newest Luxury Landmark Hotel has a glorious history that dates back to 1925, and a future that reflects a magnificent collaboration of signature style and technology. Every part of the hotel has been re-invented to bring you the finest guest comfort, convenience, personalized service and amenities. Best of all, it is wrapped in a luxurious, European inspired, interior design package.

Hotel Map

32.7772 -96.807
Area served
Addison, Arlington, Dallas, Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Mesquite, Plano, Richardson
Nearby airports
Dallas Love Field, Dallas/Fort Worth International
Area description
Nearby Airports * Dallas Love Field - 5 miles * Dallas/Fort Worth International - 19 miles Nearby Areas * Arlington, TX - 15 miles * Fort Worth, TX - 30 miles * Grand Prairie, TX - 10 miles * Irving, TX - 10 miles * Plano, TX - 20 miles * Richardson, TX - 15 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lawrence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Lawrence Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed and large European style pillow.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.1 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.7 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.8 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.8 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.9 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 1 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.6 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.7 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.6 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.6 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.3 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 16.8 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our intimate function rooms is appointed with elegant leather chairs and a handsome boardroom table. Each room also has the added flexibility of being set in theater or classroom style. We have complete audio visual and catering service to attend to all of your needs. Small meetings become memorable events at The Hotel Lawrence, where our personal style of service and unique dcor are our hallmark.

Dining

Restrictions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in to the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lawrence

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sngalloway
San Antonio TX
Nov 16, 2009

The Hotel Lawerence

We were in town for a conference and were drawn to this hotel because of its gay friendly status and lower rate compared to the conference hotel. Over all our stay was ok except for a few complaiments:(1) a serious lack of parking (2) breakfast was not compatible for a vegan diet although many options if you are not concerned about eating healthy (3) there were ants in our room, although we were told that maintence would spray after we checked out (4) to persuade us to use the valet service they assured us the complimentary service runs every 10 minutes. Which would in theory save us money so we would not have to pay daily at both hotels. We asked to be driven by the shuttle to the conference hotel 5 minutes away an hour beofre we were expected to be there. We were told the driver was out and would be back in 30 minutes, although were told upon check in it would be 10 minute wait max. After 30 minutes we asked how much longer and were told it would be another 30 minutes. We were forced to get our car from valet and pay double the amount of the valet to park daily at the conference. However, the staff was apologetic but did nothing. Overall the hotel was a cute place to dtay and the staff friendly. I will not be staying there again nor would I recommend it to friends or family in the future solely because of the lack of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A local amazing vegan resturant is about a 10 minute drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Oct 19, 2009

Some perks

It was in a great location. Wen't for UT/OU weekend. The hotel provided a convenient shuttle that made it easy to navigate to dinner as well as the state fair. The rooms were very old, the door did not close properly, the doors/walls were very thin. The hotel room felt "grimy". Also the drain in the shower was clogged, and the bathrooms were TINY! There was only 1 elevator working, so on a busy weekend the stairs came in handy. Breakfast was alright, no real problems there. Overall, I don't think the quality of the hotel room was worth the price. The only reason I would consider staying here again was the shuttle that the hotel provides. The shuttle driver took us to many places that were not too far away from the hotel, and it was much better than taking a taxi or the DART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Felix and EM
Powhatan, Va
Sep 23, 2009

Are you ready for some football???

We enjoyed our stay. They even had a computer that allowed us to view & print our boarding pass for our flight. This saved a lot of time and hassle. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to interstate that lead us right to Cowboys Stadium, which was totally awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milpitas, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Don't let the pictures fool you!

This place was nice, but by the pictures and the regular price you would expect this place to be a lot nicer. I called the hotel first to see how much they charged. Orbitz saved me a lot off the hotels quoted price for the night. So for the price it was good. Good location. The rooms seemed clean, but old looking like it needed a paint job. Parking was not good, $15 extra for Valet Parking per night. There is supposed to be self parking a block away. You can park on the street between 6pm and 7am, if you can find a spot. Oh yeah, the one elevator is slow. It could take up to 10 min to get down from the 9th floor, especially at breakfast time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pflugerville, Texas
Aug 8, 2009

A nice place to stay

I was attending a conference at the Hyatt Regency and the Hotel Lawrence was an affordable hotel within walking distance of the Hyatt. The Hotel Lawrence was definitely build in 1925 and you can tell that just from the size of everything. The lobby, elevators, and rooms were all small compared to modern hotel rooms. I would have to say that the rooms, including bathroom, could literally fit into a modern day home's master bedroom. So if you do not like cramped spaces, you may not like the Hotel Lawrence. But if you're just using the room as a place to lay your head, then this place is great because it is within walking distance to the market district and the light rail system. The only real complaint I would have with the Hotel Lawrence is that it does look a little run down and I'm just hoping they have some remodeling plans in their future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Lawrence is within a short walking distance to a lot of interesting sites; Reunion Tower, The Book Depository, The JFk Memorial, The Assisination Parade Route and the Market District; which has several great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gueyhoo
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 5, 2009

Hotel Lawrence

I am trying to keep in mind that this is an older hotel in downtown Dallas. That being said a lot of improvements need to be made. Our room was tiny, had peeling paint and scuff marks on the walls. There was only one elevator for the 10 level hotel and it was so slow. The breakfast didn't have much to choose from, and its gravy and biscuits were cold. Valet wasn't that great. Needed to have given them at least 20 minutes warning before requesting your car. This hotel didn't seem all that busy the weekend we were there either. However, the staff was so helpful and friendly. This would be my only reason for staying that this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H-town
Business
Houston, Tx.
Jul 10, 2009

A great night sleep.

I was in Dallas on business and only stayed one night. The employees were friendly and the room was extremely clean. I really enjoyed the second shower head which showers your body from an angle. My only issue is that they have a limited parking. Once valet fills up you have to find your own parking. This parking my be by a meter several blocks away or at a city parking lot that you have to pay again everytime you re-enter. PLEASE correct you parking issue Hotel Lawrence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duri, Indonesia
Jul 1, 2009

Good value for the money

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they made cookies for everyone from 6-8 PM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Gator's! You can try fried alligator, and the service is top notch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dallas First-Timers
Kansas City, MO
Jun 21, 2009

A good deal

Hotel Lawrence was perfectly adequate for the price. It is at a great location if you plan on exploring Downtown Dallas. When we requested towels, the staff brought them to our rooms in 2 minutes. The staff patiently answered all of our numerous questions. The only downside was a leaky bathtub and the parking situation. Either valet park in the hotel's parking garage or bring lots of change. The meters are free after 6PM, but on the weekdays, the metermaids start checking the meters at 7AM (and parking tickets are $35)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants within walking distance are pricey. For those that are price sensitive, you might want to extend your search beyond the west end of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent dallas traveler
Business
New Jersey/ Dallas
Jun 18, 2009

Lawrence Hotel

Friendly and helpful hotel staff. Utilized free shuttle to my office downtown several times. Good free continental breakfast. Wifi was free but reception in room on 9th floor was weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free shuttle to/from downtown was helpful and saved me money in cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search