$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
228 reviews
Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel... See full review

  • Goodeagle07
  • Nov 13, 2013
Adolphus 4 me

I loved EVERYTHING about my stay here. Service! Service! Service! The spacious room. Interior- old... See full review

  • Entrepreneurial woman
  • Feb 13, 2013

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Key Facts
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Neighborhood
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Hints and tips
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7801 -96.7995
Area served
Dallas, Ft Worth,
Nearby airports
Dallas/Ft Worth International Airport (DFW) Dallas Love Field (DAL)
Area description
The Adolphus is located on Commerce and Field in the heart of Dallas' financial district, close to business headquarters, restaurants, historic sites, entertainment centers and the city's great cultural attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 228
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisa Smitherman
Austin, Texas
Jan 14, 2013

My much anticipated stay was a FLOP.

AC was broken, engineer had to come and take the wall plate off to fix it late evening. Toilet ran ALL night the first night there and woke up to water on the floor. Engineer had to replace a broken part so my 10 year old had to be taken to the lobby to go the restroom since we had to leave and he wasn't back with the part. Room wasn't as clean as you would expect it to be. (maybe since it was booked on a discount site I didn't get the "True Adolphus experience" ) I raved about to my friends prior to this trip. I even talked two of my friends into canceling their reservation at a very upscale, comparable hotel and staying there. One friend I talked into changing hotels is an assistant to Gov. Perry so needless to say I was very embarrassed. She fortunately got a nicer room and didn't have all the problems I did. After that, day of check out the car service took over FOURTY minutes to get my car. My error at first giving them the wrong ticket but realized after about 8 minutes and gave them the right one. I even had Valet parkers asking what my car was so they could go look for it since the lady in the booth didn't seem to care and said the tikcets were given out and pretty much could of cared less. Three folks made the stay a little nicer, Phillip who greeted us at Valet on check in Friday night. Edward at the front desk on check out who sincerely seemed to care about all the problems I had and did comp my parking. (The lady I spoke with originally at the front desk about my broken toilet didn't seem to concerned or even apologize for the inconvenience, I asked to speak to a manager but she said she'd contact the engiineer.) Not to mention no follow up once returning to see if the problems had been reseollved. Customer service not what one would expect from such a place. If I treated my client's that way, I wouldn't have any. Lastly, the Valet manager on my check out, can't recall his name but a wonderful older gentleman who kept on top of my car problems and kept checking on me and my daughter. I also forgot to mention I had the bellman come get my bags and wasn't quite ready so he said he'd be back in five, never showed up again. Lugged my bags to the elevator after waiting 20 minutes and called for another one. I got engaged at this hotel and was to say the least beyond disappointed. I was so excited for my daughter to experience the Adolphus hotel and even she commented, mom, that wasn't what you thought it would be, let's don't stay there next time we are in Dallas. I agreed. Stark contrast to the recent stays I had there in the past years. I wouldn't stay there again and I can only wonder if it was just because I had a discount price so the lack of concern for quality wasn't there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jwzville
Zionsville, IN
Jan 4, 2013

Back in Time

The Adolphous was state of the art when it was built in 1912 and it has not lost any of its charm. The gorgeous woodwork, art, friendly staff and a great location makes this a great place to stay in downtown Dallas. The room was about twice the size of a standard hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Only a couple of blocks to the DART light rail station, which gets you to many attractions

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JazzJaponica2
Texas
Oct 22, 2012

Very Nice

We arrived and left at peak times and the service was very good. Room was very nice, clean and a good view. Large room. We visited the state fair and spent time with family in Dallas. Very good workout room. TV set up did not give a guide so as to know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the DART to get around town. Very reliable and inexpensive. Day Pass available.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family Guzman
México
Nov 7, 2011

Excellent hotel!

The hotel is located very convenient and the staff is very friendly and always able to help you. This combination makes it a very good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeannieM
Hilton Head, SC
Sep 19, 2011

The Adolphus

We enjoyed everyt detail about the Adolphus Hotel. It was exactly what we had hoped it would be and would absolutely return. Also, we would highly recommend the hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeannieM
Hilton Head, SC
Sep 19, 2011

The Adolphus

We enjoyed everyt detail about the Adolphus Hotel. It was exactly what we had hoped it would be and would absolutely return. Also, we would highly recommend the hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin
Mar 6, 2011

It was perfect!

Everything has been perfect, from the front door desk to the barman...the room was huge, super clean, I love every detail! Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin
Mar 6, 2011

It was perfect!

Everything has been perfect, from the front door desk to the barman...the room was huge, super clean, I love every detail! Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TexasSleeper
Winnsboro, TX
Jan 30, 2011

Adolphus

Super nice hotel in Downtown dallas. Distance to the American Airlines center was 5min by car. Nice amenities, very helpful staff, great dining!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TexasSleeper
Winnsboro, TX
Jan 30, 2011

Adolphus

Super nice hotel in Downtown dallas. Distance to the American Airlines center was 5min by car. Nice amenities, very helpful staff, great dining!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top