$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisa Smitherman
Business
Austin, Texas
Jan 14, 2013

My much anticipated stay was a FLOP.

AC was broken, engineer had to come and take the wall plate off to fix it late evening. Toilet ran ALL night the first night there and woke up to water on the floor. Engineer had to replace a broken part so my 10 year old had to be taken to the lobby to go the restroom since we had to leave and he wasn't back with the part. Room wasn't as clean as you would expect it to be. (maybe since it was booked on a discount site I didn't get the "True Adolphus experience" ) I raved about to my friends prior to this trip. I even talked two of my friends into canceling their reservation at a very upscale, comparable hotel and staying there. One friend I talked into changing hotels is an assistant to Gov. Perry so needless to say I was very embarrassed. She fortunately got a nicer room and didn't have all the problems I did. After that, day of check out the car service took over FOURTY minutes to get my car. My error at first giving them the wrong ticket but realized after about 8 minutes and gave them the right one. I even had Valet parkers asking what my car was so they could go look for it since the lady in the booth didn't seem to care and said the tikcets were given out and pretty much could of cared less. Three folks made the stay a little nicer, Phillip who greeted us at Valet on check in Friday night. Edward at the front desk on check out who sincerely seemed to care about all the problems I had and did comp my parking. (The lady I spoke with originally at the front desk about my broken toilet didn't seem to concerned or even apologize for the inconvenience, I asked to speak to a manager but she said she'd contact the engiineer.) Not to mention no follow up once returning to see if the problems had been reseollved. Customer service not what one would expect from such a place. If I treated my client's that way, I wouldn't have any. Lastly, the Valet manager on my check out, can't recall his name but a wonderful older gentleman who kept on top of my car problems and kept checking on me and my daughter. I also forgot to mention I had the bellman come get my bags and wasn't quite ready so he said he'd be back in five, never showed up again. Lugged my bags to the elevator after waiting 20 minutes and called for another one. I got engaged at this hotel and was to say the least beyond disappointed. I was so excited for my daughter to experience the Adolphus hotel and even she commented, mom, that wasn't what you thought it would be, let's don't stay there next time we are in Dallas. I agreed. Stark contrast to the recent stays I had there in the past years. I wouldn't stay there again and I can only wonder if it was just because I had a discount price so the lack of concern for quality wasn't there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jwzville
Business
Zionsville, IN
Jan 4, 2013

Back in Time

The Adolphous was state of the art when it was built in 1912 and it has not lost any of its charm. The gorgeous woodwork, art, friendly staff and a great location makes this a great place to stay in downtown Dallas. The room was about twice the size of a standard hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Only a couple of blocks to the DART light rail station, which gets you to many attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ramada Blah
Business
Ventura, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Amazing hotel

The room was much larger than I had anticipated. The beds were comfy and the amentities plenty. This hotel had a lot of character and the perfect location. I would recommend it to anyone looking to visity downtown Dallas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Photon Warrior
Business
Scottsdale AZ
Nov 15, 2012

Rich in history with Unparalleled Staff

You can just go the French Room for one of the few 5 Star meals available, but don't miss out on the charm, opulence, and attention this hotel lavishes on its guests. Yes the rooms are not brand spanking new, but neither is that prized antique family heirloom armoire you love. Enjoy the downtown locale - don't forget the Neiman Marcus around the corner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JazzJaponica2
Business
Texas
Oct 22, 2012

Very Nice

We arrived and left at peak times and the service was very good. Room was very nice, clean and a good view. Large room. We visited the state fair and spent time with family in Dallas. Very good workout room. TV set up did not give a guide so as to know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the DART to get around town. Very reliable and inexpensive. Day Pass available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nipnipnip
Business
Dallas
Oct 20, 2012

Average

Out of date. But comfortable. The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super OU Mom
Business
Norman, OK
Oct 15, 2012

OU/TX Weekend

The rooms were nice. The only problem I experienced was the maid didn't really clean very well the second day. Trash was left in the floor in the bathroom, etc.. Plus she didn't leave new shampoo and conditioner and I had to hunt her down the next day for more. Great location though and a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caesar3031
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 10, 2012

Great Location, So-So Accomodations

The location, staff, and lobby were terrific. However, the room showed its age and was a little dirty. There were stains on the furniture and some trash near the night stand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to Dealey Plaza and JFK Museum. Must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KirstenJ
Business
Plano, TX, USA
Aug 27, 2012

Excellent!

Had a great time. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Dallas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judy HOT SHOT LEADER
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 28, 2012

Working Stay

Over all it is a great place. however the internet connections was an ongoing problem. Got 3 difference "case" numbers from AT&T....when I called the front desk for help...they said: " Thats pretty much what you get with complementary internet."... I stay at this hotel every time I come to Dallas.... They most likely lost a customer over this one... I cannot be without internet when I am traveling. so sad about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top