$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
141 reviews
Adolphus Elegance!

We absolutely loved everything about the Adolphus in downtown Dallas! From the moment we pulled up... See full review

  • Laura Lappies
  • Nov 3, 2014
Helpful staff

A beautiful old-line hotel. No as special as it was during its golden age, but still a very nice... See full review

  • DFWDAL.
  • Mar 12, 2015
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 
General
Adolphus Hotel, Dallas 
Location

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Dining
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Rooms
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Highlights
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Policies
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 141
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Your Regular Mom
Business
Sachse, Texas
Sep 9, 2013

History is all that is left

I am tired of "fancy" hotels trying to get away with everything! I honestly have had nicer stays in two star hotels. We had requested a King Room. The room we received was spacious, clean, as clean as ancient carpet can get and the comforter was newer. That was where the positives ended. It was a queen bed. We could have lived with that, except the center was completely cratered out. There is no way two people can comfortably sleep in that bed. The springs were strung! The sink and bath tub did not drain. The bathroom door did not close. The mini fridge was not stocked. We informed the front desk and were not compensated at all. Even with empathy. The front desk basically said you get what you pay for. Which yes, this was a Groupon. On the Groupon we paid for a king room! We explained. She shrugged. To sour our visit even more. We waited in line for valet for 1/2 and hour. Then another 20 mins for our car. Once in the car I needed to adjust my seat. No problem, until the valet guy told us we needed to leave. I would say this hotel would not need to use the Groupon service to advertise if they actual stood up to what their reputation has been said to be. We will never stay at the hotel again and urge every person looking for a nice hotel to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andrew G.
Business
Richmond
Dec 16, 2014

Don't Do It.....! Look Elsewhere....

I am sorry to say, but this hotel leaves a lot to be desired. It is obvious that management is not detail-oriented and that they either don't have experience running a nicer hotel or they just don't care. The rooms are dated, lamps are crooked, bathtubs are far from luxurious and have stained tiles and mold. The furnishings and overall feel of the hotel are long overdue for a revamp. There are crates with glasses stacked next to the bar and many other careless flaws that detract from the experience. I love the architecture and the old elevators, it has potential, but in the current hands it sadly is lacking. There are far better options for your dollar. Come on management - get with the program and up your game here. Your customers and employees deserve better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caesar3031
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 10, 2012

Great Location, So-So Accomodations

The location, staff, and lobby were terrific. However, the room showed its age and was a little dirty. There were stains on the furniture and some trash near the night stand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to Dealey Plaza and JFK Museum. Must see!

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davenkrs
Business
Dana Point, California
Mar 19, 2013

Beautiful place

more good than bad. I had the concierge call the hotel car for a short trip up town, said it would take 10 minutes so we waited. whe the car arrived the bell hop gave it to another couple. i explained it to the bell hop and he said to bad and you can not reserve the car. i explained i did not reserve it as you say but the concierge called the driver to let him know he had a couple to pick up. The next day we did use the car to take us to the st patricks day parade and he took us to the wrong part of town. That was the only poor event we had. i would go back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

if you go to the JFK museum make sure you see the conspiracy booth on the corner, its not part of the museum but it is pretty interesting. It is right on the corner outside of the building.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abby85
Business
Dallas, Texas
Nov 14, 2010

Had to evacuate

Came to the Adolphus wtih my boyfriend for a "staycation" for his birthday-- the hotel is beautiful and we had a great time listening to jazz in the bar. The next morning, we shaken awake by the fire alarm and were told to evacuate. We rushed out of the room and down 16 flights of stairs. We joined around 75 other guests to sit in the lobby in pajamas and wait. No hotel staff offered any explanation and after an hour, we had to climb back up 16 flights of stairs to retrieve our belongings and check out. Even when checking out, no hotel staff gave any apology for the inconvenience. It was pretty disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Nice jazz bar in the hotel. Beautiful lobby.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Feb 8, 2010

Lovely hotel, bad bed

The Adolphus is a grand old hotel, nicely rennovated a few years ago. It is in the heart of downtown within walking distance of Neiman Marcus and other notable attractions. The staff is gracious and friendly, beginning with the doorman and the valet, to the front desk, the housekeeping personnel, and the restaurant staff. [...] The decor was attractive but a little faded, and we had the usual ammenities such as minibar, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, etc. One downside was the lack of good lighting especially in the bathroom. Doing makeup there was a challenge. The only full length mirror was in the walk-in closet with the dimmest light I've ever seen. But the worst thing was the mattress. On the side nearest the bedside phone, the mattress was completely broken down, presumably by people sitting there to make phone calls. Sleeping on that side of the bed was not just uncomfortable, it was impossible. Fortunately, it was a king bed, so there was room to move away from the broken portion. I should have notified the hotel of the problem and perhaps they would have moved us to another room but, since we were there only two nights, it seemed a hassle to pack up and move. I did mention this at checkout and was told they would "check into it." No hotel should let their mattresses become so old and broken down -- even in those rooms that they offer to discounters. I was very disappointed with this part of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeremy B.
Business
N/A
May 20, 2015

Dallas Work Trip

The photos of the hotel don't represent the hotel very accurately. It is an original Dallas hotel and it definitely looks it. They are apparently starting renovations to update the look but I do not know when that will be complete. The price is a little misleading as it doesn't include all the services you will pay for each day you are staying (i.e. wifi, valet, etc.) In person the staff was wonderful and very helpful and the location was very nice. The coffee shop (Weekend) next door is one of the best i have ever visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetson
Business
Potter, NE 69156, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Family wedding. Reception was at hotel and was amazing.

Everything was very good, although did not realize the parking was not part of the Adolphus and had to pay the parking garage and additional $24.00 a night over and above the room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not many of the places are open for breakfast on Saturday or Sunday in downtown Dallas

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rock Princess
Business
Lafayette, la
May 14, 2012

Great weekend getaway

We went to a concert at the palladium ballroom and had a fantastic stay at the Adolphus! Didn't know what to expect. We were swept away from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The staff was excellent, and the hotel is full of history. We will definitely stay there in Dallas again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie's Dad
Business
Kentucky
Jul 19, 2012

Great hotel

Large room, comfortable bed, great lobby, easy to get to, valet parking. Really like it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top