$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
141 reviews
Adolphus Elegance!

We absolutely loved everything about the Adolphus in downtown Dallas! From the moment we pulled up... See full review

  • Laura Lappies
  • Nov 3, 2014
Helpful staff

A beautiful old-line hotel. No as special as it was during its golden age, but still a very nice... See full review

  • DFWDAL.
  • Mar 12, 2015
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 
General
Adolphus Hotel, Dallas 
Location

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Dining
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Rooms
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Highlights
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Policies
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$159
4.1 / 5 74 reviews
★★★
$99
3.6 / 5 94 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 235 reviews
★★★
$98
4.2 / 5 68 reviews
★★★★
$259
4.1 / 5 203 reviews
★★★
$119
2.9 / 5 116 reviews
★★★★
$103
4.1 / 5 92 reviews
★★★
$109
4.4 / 5 36 reviews
★★★★
$169
3.8 / 5 67 reviews

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 141
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicago CJ
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 24, 2012

Are you kidding? A service elevator next to my bed?

I think the title says it all. I have one law and two rules for supposedly business-class or luxury hotels. Rule #1 - Good work area and wifi. They did OK here. Rule #2 - Comfortable bed. Adequate. Not Westin or W class, but adequate. Law (the big one) - I should be able to sleep and work when I want to, not when it's convenient for you. Honestly, why does this surprise so many hotel professionals? The hotel can't do anything about noise from the street or from guests in the hallway - but they certainly can control their own noise. My bed (room 924) was the opposite side of a flimsy wall from the service elevators. Starting early in the morning was the roar of the elevators running (sounds vaguely like jets flying overhead) and the ding of the bell. At least I didn't need a wakeup call. Other things. The rooms are dingy and outdated. The lobby is nice, but unless I'm sleeping there, it's not too important to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 30, 2009

not impressed, way too hyped

I was not impressed by this place. Reading all the reviews it seemed as though everyone loved this place and raved about it. I ran into several issues that would not be the end of the world in most places but this place screams 5 star service, quality, ambiance from the rooftops so when they underdeliver it's very disappointing and they should suffer the consequences of not living up to their claims. The comforter in my room was stained. I had an awful view of a brick wall from my room. My wakeup call was about 10 minutes late. The much ballyhooed French Room was closed for two weeks for renovations/cleaning--nothing was posted about that prior to my trip and was planning on having a business dinner there. I tried to eat dinner at the Rodeo bar which is one of their restaurants--after sending back one dish for still being frozen and the next order taking nearly 30 minutes and made completely wrong I actually left without eating. At checkout when the lady at the desk asked me how my stay was and I said "Disappointing" she simply said "I'm sorry"--she showed no concern or care and didn't even want to know why it was disappointing--why even ask the question if you don't care about the answer--CERTAINLY NOT 5 STAR SERVICE. It was adequate and I got a great deal on the room so it's not the end of the world but it certainly wasn't a great experience and if I had paid top dollar I would've left very angry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
President
Business
LA CA
Sep 28, 2011

Needs a complete makeover

Dark, dull old fashioned, uninviting room. Not enough reception staff. Slow service. This hotel rests on it's laurels from a bygone era.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 30, 2010

Yuck! Very, very disappointed!

I was extremely disappointed with the hotel. I chose specifically because of all of the glowing reviews. Previous reviewers must have VERY LOW expectations for a hotel. The decor is very dark and dingy, old decor (yes, OLD, not antique--think of circa 1980 grandma's house--busy florals everywhere, lots of knick-knackery). Ancient TV, brown toilet, old dark bedspread, uncomfortable room set-up, no ice on any of the floors (you have to call room service to get ice), no business center. I was really looking forward to having a lovely room to come back to at the end of long workdays (I was traveling on business)--not a chance. If I had not prepaid, I would have left and gone somewhere else asap. Do not believe the photos on the hotel website; it looks nothing like that. From now on, I am only staying at the Fairmont or ALOFT when staying downtown Dallas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donkeys
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Adolphus

The hotel is beautifully historic and fun to see. The French Room restaurant in the hotel is fantastic and worth the money. Unfortunately, the maid service was terrible-didn't even show up one day and the other days didn't clean, just made the beds. The front desk staff and concierge acted as if they were being bothered and even argued with me about my reservation until I showed my printed copy. Don't think we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Lonesome Dove Bistro in Ft. Worth definitely worth the drive from Dallas-especially if Chef Tim Love is in the kitchen!

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
katya koshmar2
Business
Moscow, город Москва, Russia
Apr 28, 2012

My room was cleaned once in 4 days!

This hotel was conveniently located and certainly has its charms, but housekeeping was not one of them. I had to call to request things like my trash being taken out and even then, no one would come. In 4 days, my room was cleaned once. My room was also directly under the fitness center, which meant pounding every morning around 6 am. Not quite as relaxing as I had hoped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dallas Art Museum and Nasher Sculpture Center are literally steps away, and are a lovely way to spend a sunny afternoon.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judy HOT SHOT LEADER
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 28, 2012

Working Stay

Over all it is a great place. however the internet connections was an ongoing problem. Got 3 difference "case" numbers from AT&T....when I called the front desk for help...they said: " Thats pretty much what you get with complementary internet."... I stay at this hotel every time I come to Dallas.... They most likely lost a customer over this one... I cannot be without internet when I am traveling. so sad about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nipnipnip
Business
Dallas
Oct 20, 2012

Average

Out of date. But comfortable. The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Hills, California
Mar 4, 2011

A pleasant stay for business

My stay was a goood one. In Dallas for business and decided to stay in downtown. The hotel is certainly a jewel in the doentown area but is needs to be shined up a bit. The room was comfy, could use some updating. Hotel staff were attentive and helpful but it just seems that the hotel needs a good dose of "hey it is 2011" style and look. All in all a value for the money if you are not looking for the latest and greatest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lightime
Business
California
Jan 22, 2012

Adolphis hotel Dallas trip

House keeping has a problem. we were missing bathroom linens 2 of the 4 days and coffee for coffe maker and had to call to have sent to room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top