$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
140 reviews
Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel... See full review

  • Goodeagle07
  • Nov 13, 2013
Dallas Classic

The hotel is a Dallas classic old Lady. Great location close to Main St. and many excellent... See full review

  • Dr.Ed
  • May 18, 2014

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Key Facts
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Neighborhood
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Hints and tips
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7801 -96.7995
Area served
Dallas, Ft Worth,
Nearby airports
Dallas/Ft Worth International Airport (DFW) Dallas Love Field (DAL)
Area description
The Adolphus is located on Commerce and Field in the heart of Dallas' financial district, close to business headquarters, restaurants, historic sites, entertainment centers and the city's great cultural attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judy HOT SHOT LEADER
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 28, 2012

Working Stay

Over all it is a great place. however the internet connections was an ongoing problem. Got 3 difference "case" numbers from AT&T....when I called the front desk for help...they said: " Thats pretty much what you get with complementary internet."... I stay at this hotel every time I come to Dallas.... They most likely lost a customer over this one... I cannot be without internet when I am traveling. so sad about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caesar3031
Columbus, OH
Sep 10, 2012

Great Location, So-So Accomodations

The location, staff, and lobby were terrific. However, the room showed its age and was a little dirty. There were stains on the furniture and some trash near the night stand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to Dealey Plaza and JFK Museum. Must see!

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nipnipnip
Business
Dallas
Oct 20, 2012

Average

Out of date. But comfortable. The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davenkrs
Dana Point, California
Mar 19, 2013

Beautiful place

more good than bad. I had the concierge call the hotel car for a short trip up town, said it would take 10 minutes so we waited. whe the car arrived the bell hop gave it to another couple. i explained it to the bell hop and he said to bad and you can not reserve the car. i explained i did not reserve it as you say but the concierge called the driver to let him know he had a couple to pick up. The next day we did use the car to take us to the st patricks day parade and he took us to the wrong part of town. That was the only poor event we had. i would go back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

if you go to the JFK museum make sure you see the conspiracy booth on the corner, its not part of the museum but it is pretty interesting. It is right on the corner outside of the building.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cctexas
Mesquite
Dec 6, 2010

overall good deal

We were there for our company Christmas Party and to watch the Prade. The Room was great for the Prade. The only 2 things that I was surprise at was that there is no parking beside valet which cost $25 a night and anyone can charge valet to your room. The rooms where ok however not update to technology. No flat scree tv and to acess internet there is web tv. Besides that the stay was overall good but could have spent the same amount at the la quinta and not get surprise by lack of technology and valet parking that cost that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
abilene, tx
Sep 20, 2010

nice stay

Hotel in heart of downtown Dallas, valet parking only, costs $24 a day. Historic place, the lobby and common areas were very impressive with antique furniture and art, intricate architecture. The room was ok, you could tell it was old, I prefer modern rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abby85
Dallas, Texas
Nov 14, 2010

Had to evacuate

Came to the Adolphus wtih my boyfriend for a "staycation" for his birthday-- the hotel is beautiful and we had a great time listening to jazz in the bar. The next morning, we shaken awake by the fire alarm and were told to evacuate. We rushed out of the room and down 16 flights of stairs. We joined around 75 other guests to sit in the lobby in pajamas and wait. No hotel staff offered any explanation and after an hour, we had to climb back up 16 flights of stairs to retrieve our belongings and check out. Even when checking out, no hotel staff gave any apology for the inconvenience. It was pretty disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Nice jazz bar in the hotel. Beautiful lobby.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inge the Explorer
New York, NY
May 26, 2010

Distance to Art District

Weekend trip to visit the Art District's Museums, Symphony Hall, Winspear Opera, Wyly Theater and Rachofsky House. Best place to stay without renting a car, is the Fairmont Hotel, because of close walking distance to most events, could not get in (lots of weddings), Adolphus next best. [...] guaranteed deluxe kingbed room, only got a queenbed,on a low floor. I was charged $9.50 for a bottle of Fiji Water (maybe 1 liter)which had been sitting on top of the mini bar (crazy), never opened the minibar. No concierge was ever on duty, and bellhops pretended to be concierges and claimed to be able to get you tickets to the opera, which never happened. When I called the reception at 11pm to complain about this lack of service, security answered and laughed. There definitely was no 5 star service!!!!I had read that the hotel serves high tea in the lobby in the afternoon and when I happened to walk into the lobby tired from walking back from the Arts District in 90 degree heat,I asked to be served tea. I was told that only if I had made a reservation could I get this service. I finally found a waiter who was willing to get me a pot of tea after I explained that I was a hotel guest and not a walk-in with a reservation.....it's a convention hotel that does not care about individual travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marcus Flagship store

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Feb 8, 2010

Lovely hotel, bad bed

The Adolphus is a grand old hotel, nicely rennovated a few years ago. It is in the heart of downtown within walking distance of Neiman Marcus and other notable attractions. The staff is gracious and friendly, beginning with the doorman and the valet, to the front desk, the housekeeping personnel, and the restaurant staff. [...] The decor was attractive but a little faded, and we had the usual ammenities such as minibar, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, etc. One downside was the lack of good lighting especially in the bathroom. Doing makeup there was a challenge. The only full length mirror was in the walk-in closet with the dimmest light I've ever seen. But the worst thing was the mattress. On the side nearest the bedside phone, the mattress was completely broken down, presumably by people sitting there to make phone calls. Sleeping on that side of the bed was not just uncomfortable, it was impossible. Fortunately, it was a king bed, so there was room to move away from the broken portion. I should have notified the hotel of the problem and perhaps they would have moved us to another room but, since we were there only two nights, it seemed a hassle to pack up and move. I did mention this at checkout and was told they would "check into it." No hotel should let their mattresses become so old and broken down -- even in those rooms that they offer to discounters. I was very disappointed with this part of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Hills, California
Mar 4, 2011

A pleasant stay for business

My stay was a goood one. In Dallas for business and decided to stay in downtown. The hotel is certainly a jewel in the doentown area but is needs to be shined up a bit. The room was comfy, could use some updating. Hotel staff were attentive and helpful but it just seems that the hotel needs a good dose of "hey it is 2011" style and look. All in all a value for the money if you are not looking for the latest and greatest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search