$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
140 reviews
Adolphus Elegance!

We absolutely loved everything about the Adolphus in downtown Dallas! From the moment we pulled up... See full review

  • Laura Lappies
  • Nov 3, 2014
Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel... See full review

  • Goodeagle07
  • Nov 13, 2013

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Key Facts
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Neighborhood
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Hints and tips
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 140
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalynn
Business
Dallas, Texas
Nov 24, 2014

Quaint escape

This hotel has a lot of history & it's in a great location. I've never been in elevators like theirs. The beautiful chandelier at the entrance is a nice historic touch. Overall, it's a unique hotel at a good value in the heart of the downtown!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laura Lappies
Business
Homer, Alaska
Nov 3, 2014

Adolphus Elegance!

We absolutely loved everything about the Adolphus in downtown Dallas! From the moment we pulled up at the valet, through check-in/out, everything was true perfect elegance. The entire hotel staff we encountered were professional and extremely courteous with a smile! Our room was simply breathtaking, old world charm, comfortable, and very spacious! We truly loved everything, and we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Absolutely LOVE the Iron Cactus, just a block or so from the Adolphus! We sat outside on the third floor, with a view of the park and amazing night lights. Fabulous food, margaritas, and atmosphere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wife of Mike
Business
Arlington Texas
Sep 15, 2014

Romantic getaway

We had a lovely experience at this hotel. My husband and I spent the night to celebrate our anniversary. The room was quaint but beautiful. We didn't have much of a view of the city which was a lil bit of a downer. A few areas needs a paint makeover. The bed was very comfortable. We took several baths since we had awesome hot water. The disappointment came when we went to get our leftovers from the mini fridge the next day. The refrigerator didn't work properly so the food spoiled. Great history retold in the lobby of the hotel and previous tenants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Your Regular Mom
Business
Sachse, Texas
Sep 9, 2013

History is all that is left

I am tired of "fancy" hotels trying to get away with everything! I honestly have had nicer stays in two star hotels. We had requested a King Room. The room we received was spacious, clean, as clean as ancient carpet can get and the comforter was newer. That was where the positives ended. It was a queen bed. We could have lived with that, except the center was completely cratered out. There is no way two people can comfortably sleep in that bed. The springs were strung! The sink and bath tub did not drain. The bathroom door did not close. The mini fridge was not stocked. We informed the front desk and were not compensated at all. Even with empathy. The front desk basically said you get what you pay for. Which yes, this was a Groupon. On the Groupon we paid for a king room! We explained. She shrugged. To sour our visit even more. We waited in line for valet for 1/2 and hour. Then another 20 mins for our car. Once in the car I needed to adjust my seat. No problem, until the valet guy told us we needed to leave. I would say this hotel would not need to use the Groupon service to advertise if they actual stood up to what their reputation has been said to be. We will never stay at the hotel again and urge every person looking for a nice hotel to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs 10 Years
Business
Desoto, TX
Sep 4, 2013

Anniversary Getaway

We are Desoto residents are decided to stay here for a mini getaway for our anniversary Labor Day weekend. We had such a relaxing time! As soon as we checked in they gave us a free up-grade to a suite. The room was cozy and the staff helped us with whatever we needed! The location of the hotel was perfect for walking around Dallas and there were several restaurants aroun us to enjoy dinner. While we were there we went to a show at Trees in Deep Ellum and were we're close enough to take a cheap cab ride down. We will be back here again, for sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davenkrs
Business
Dana Point, California
Mar 19, 2013

Beautiful place

more good than bad. I had the concierge call the hotel car for a short trip up town, said it would take 10 minutes so we waited. whe the car arrived the bell hop gave it to another couple. i explained it to the bell hop and he said to bad and you can not reserve the car. i explained i did not reserve it as you say but the concierge called the driver to let him know he had a couple to pick up. The next day we did use the car to take us to the st patricks day parade and he took us to the wrong part of town. That was the only poor event we had. i would go back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

if you go to the JFK museum make sure you see the conspiracy booth on the corner, its not part of the museum but it is pretty interesting. It is right on the corner outside of the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super OU Mom
Business
Norman, OK
Oct 15, 2012

OU/TX Weekend

The rooms were nice. The only problem I experienced was the maid didn't really clean very well the second day. Trash was left in the floor in the bathroom, etc.. Plus she didn't leave new shampoo and conditioner and I had to hunt her down the next day for more. Great location though and a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caesar3031
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 10, 2012

Great Location, So-So Accomodations

The location, staff, and lobby were terrific. However, the room showed its age and was a little dirty. There were stains on the furniture and some trash near the night stand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to Dealey Plaza and JFK Museum. Must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KirstenJ
Business
Plano, TX, USA
Aug 27, 2012

Excellent!

Had a great time. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Dallas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie's Dad
Business
Kentucky
Jul 19, 2012

Great hotel

Large room, comfortable bed, great lobby, easy to get to, valet parking. Really like it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top