$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
140 reviews
Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel... See full review

  • Goodeagle07
  • Nov 13, 2013
Dallas Classic

The hotel is a Dallas classic old Lady. Great location close to Main St. and many excellent... See full review

  • Dr.Ed
  • May 18, 2014

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Key Facts
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Neighborhood
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Hints and tips
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7801 -96.7995
Area served
Dallas, Ft Worth,
Nearby airports
Dallas/Ft Worth International Airport (DFW) Dallas Love Field (DAL)
Area description
The Adolphus is located on Commerce and Field in the heart of Dallas' financial district, close to business headquarters, restaurants, historic sites, entertainment centers and the city's great cultural attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KirstenJ
Plano, TX, USA
Aug 27, 2012

Excellent!

Had a great time. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Dallas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sisterpk
Business
New York
Mar 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a sense of history

Great staff, super clean room and free taxi to wherever I wanted to go, Good breakfasts in Bistro. An extremely pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms KLOC
Boston
Apr 9, 2013

Lovely Dallas Experience

I was very pleased by this hotel. It was quite a little gem in the city. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The room was incredibly clean and each day was beautifully refreshed. I was only disappointed that The French Room was not open on Sunday night. That was one of the things I was looking forward to....but next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pcturner33
Brooklyn, NY
May 14, 2013

Beautiful old-style hotel

Loved staying at the Adolphus. Huge room and beautiful amenities and old world style comfort. That being said, my room was overlooked for housekeeping on a Sunday. Apparently, there was some miscommunication between the front desk and housekeeping. After I commented on it to the front desk staff, they put in a request, but housekeeping had already gone for the day. It was not a big issue (I didn't make much of a mess!), but for a hotel that bills itself as the top of the line, that is something that shouldn't happen. Otherwise, hotel is beautiful and the room was large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast can be expensive in the Hotel Bistro ($29 dollars for one person after tip).

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs 10 Years
Desoto, TX
Sep 4, 2013

Anniversary Getaway

We are Desoto residents are decided to stay here for a mini getaway for our anniversary Labor Day weekend. We had such a relaxing time! As soon as we checked in they gave us a free up-grade to a suite. The room was cozy and the staff helped us with whatever we needed! The location of the hotel was perfect for walking around Dallas and there were several restaurants aroun us to enjoy dinner. While we were there we went to a show at Trees in Deep Ellum and were we're close enough to take a cheap cab ride down. We will be back here again, for sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ROBinTEXAS
Savoy, Texas
Dec 12, 2010

Elegant older Dallas Hotel

We stayed at the Adolphus to extend a wonderful night at the Dallas theater. From the valet staff to the front desk staff, to our hotel room, everything was perfect. This is not a flashy, upscale new hotel. It's more like visiting your well-to-do grandmother's home. The room is decorated with old, classic design -- old lamps and fixtures, but clean and workable and elegant in a way that makes you feel like you've been swept back to the mid 1900's. The televisions are small and big (the old style thick kind) and are shelved in a cabinet across the room from the bed, which is quite a ways from the bed because the room is quite large. There is room for the bed, a couch and end tables, a coffee table and yet more furniture. It's like having your own little living room in a giant bedroom but without the tackiness of a economy suite hotel (there is no kitchenette). A little nook for coffee and a small but servicable bathroom (two women cannot do their makeup at once in this bathroom). Free wi-fi in the rooms was nice as well. The only thing about this hotel that we didn't love was the lack of inviting bars to sit and have a glass of wine in. There was a cowboy bar downstairs at street level, but it seemed more suited to the stockyards of Fort Worth than it did downtown Dallas. That said, the bartender was super nice and accommodating and we did enjoy a cocktail there. I guess we were just wishing for a slightly nicer place to sit back, enjoy a cocktail and watch people pass by. Nonetheless, we got a GREAT deal on this hotel and would go back again in a heartbeat! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Nov 21, 2010

Generally good, but ...

We frequently stay at the Adolphus and will continue to do so even with the problems noted. Nice room and lobby and a good value. However two problems. The first I reported to the management when there a month ago. There is no table service in the lounge. The bartender is swamped and can't begin to take care of things on the floor. I ended up busing the empties to make room for our drinks– which you pick up at the bar. Other tables had empties for the full hour we were there. Not what you expect from an upscale hotel. After my evaluation a month ago, I received a letter from the manager saying that this would be looked into. Obviously it was not. The second was probably a one-time happening. It took 25 minutes for our car to brought down by valet parking after we turned in our claim check. At least 6 to 8 others were brought to people who were in line behind us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canton, Mississippi
Dec 6, 2010

Beautiful hotel, nice staf

We stayed just one night (Dec.4th) and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful. The room was not large, but very well appointed with lovely decor. There was no hairdryer, which I thought was weird since everything else was available. Great location, just 2 blocks from the Dart and around the corner from great restaurants and shopping (Neiman Marcus.) Overall it was a great experience. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Ravenna on Main Street. Authentic Italian, great prices and the best I've ever eaten.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, Mass
Dec 20, 2010

Charming older hotel with few amenities

Hotel is an old grand dame; pleasant staff, large rooms, but none of the modern amenities a "W" or a renovated Westin would offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dallas Fish Market restaurant. AWESOME and I thought I'd be stuck eating beef in Dallas.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Agonaba
Chicago
Apr 18, 2011

Elegant and well kept up.

Had a nice and quite vacation Needs ice machines on the floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Truluck and Y O Ranch Steakhouse

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Dec 19, 2010

Great hotel, Great Service

We had a corner room with a noce view of downtown. The only issue we had we the lack of a sound machine, and the pillows were way too soft. Our necks felt stiff when we woke up. When taking a shower there was not very stong pressure and felt like we were taking a shower in a water fountain. Also, there was no key to our mini bar. Overall it was beautiful and we got a good rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search