$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black n Yellow fan
Business
bay area
Jan 20, 2013

Good Times

We were in town to watch a football game and decided to discover the downtown dallas area while there. We were within walking distance of the nightlife and the JFK memorial. Overall a very place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the block

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sisterpk
Business
New York
Mar 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a sense of history

Great staff, super clean room and free taxi to wherever I wanted to go, Good breakfasts in Bistro. An extremely pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms KLOC
Business
Boston
Apr 9, 2013

Lovely Dallas Experience

I was very pleased by this hotel. It was quite a little gem in the city. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The room was incredibly clean and each day was beautifully refreshed. I was only disappointed that The French Room was not open on Sunday night. That was one of the things I was looking forward to....but next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pcturner33
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 14, 2013

Beautiful old-style hotel

Loved staying at the Adolphus. Huge room and beautiful amenities and old world style comfort. That being said, my room was overlooked for housekeeping on a Sunday. Apparently, there was some miscommunication between the front desk and housekeeping. After I commented on it to the front desk staff, they put in a request, but housekeeping had already gone for the day. It was not a big issue (I didn't make much of a mess!), but for a hotel that bills itself as the top of the line, that is something that shouldn't happen. Otherwise, hotel is beautiful and the room was large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast can be expensive in the Hotel Bistro ($29 dollars for one person after tip).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs 10 Years
Business
Desoto, TX
Sep 4, 2013

Anniversary Getaway

We are Desoto residents are decided to stay here for a mini getaway for our anniversary Labor Day weekend. We had such a relaxing time! As soon as we checked in they gave us a free up-grade to a suite. The room was cozy and the staff helped us with whatever we needed! The location of the hotel was perfect for walking around Dallas and there were several restaurants aroun us to enjoy dinner. While we were there we went to a show at Trees in Deep Ellum and were we're close enough to take a cheap cab ride down. We will be back here again, for sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ROBinTEXAS
Business
Savoy, Texas
Dec 12, 2010

Elegant older Dallas Hotel

We stayed at the Adolphus to extend a wonderful night at the Dallas theater. From the valet staff to the front desk staff, to our hotel room, everything was perfect. This is not a flashy, upscale new hotel. It's more like visiting your well-to-do grandmother's home. The room is decorated with old, classic design -- old lamps and fixtures, but clean and workable and elegant in a way that makes you feel like you've been swept back to the mid 1900's. The televisions are small and big (the old style thick kind) and are shelved in a cabinet across the room from the bed, which is quite a ways from the bed because the room is quite large. There is room for the bed, a couch and end tables, a coffee table and yet more furniture. It's like having your own little living room in a giant bedroom but without the tackiness of a economy suite hotel (there is no kitchenette). A little nook for coffee and a small but servicable bathroom (two women cannot do their makeup at once in this bathroom). Free wi-fi in the rooms was nice as well. The only thing about this hotel that we didn't love was the lack of inviting bars to sit and have a glass of wine in. There was a cowboy bar downstairs at street level, but it seemed more suited to the stockyards of Fort Worth than it did downtown Dallas. That said, the bartender was super nice and accommodating and we did enjoy a cocktail there. I guess we were just wishing for a slightly nicer place to sit back, enjoy a cocktail and watch people pass by. Nonetheless, we got a GREAT deal on this hotel and would go back again in a heartbeat! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Nov 21, 2010

Generally good, but ...

We frequently stay at the Adolphus and will continue to do so even with the problems noted. Nice room and lobby and a good value. However two problems. The first I reported to the management when there a month ago. There is no table service in the lounge. The bartender is swamped and can't begin to take care of things on the floor. I ended up busing the empties to make room for our drinks– which you pick up at the bar. Other tables had empties for the full hour we were there. Not what you expect from an upscale hotel. After my evaluation a month ago, I received a letter from the manager saying that this would be looked into. Obviously it was not. The second was probably a one-time happening. It took 25 minutes for our car to brought down by valet parking after we turned in our claim check. At least 6 to 8 others were brought to people who were in line behind us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canton, Mississippi
Dec 6, 2010

Beautiful hotel, nice staf

We stayed just one night (Dec.4th) and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful. The room was not large, but very well appointed with lovely decor. There was no hairdryer, which I thought was weird since everything else was available. Great location, just 2 blocks from the Dart and around the corner from great restaurants and shopping (Neiman Marcus.) Overall it was a great experience. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Ravenna on Main Street. Authentic Italian, great prices and the best I've ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, Mass
Dec 20, 2010

Charming older hotel with few amenities

Hotel is an old grand dame; pleasant staff, large rooms, but none of the modern amenities a "W" or a renovated Westin would offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dallas Fish Market restaurant. AWESOME and I thought I'd be stuck eating beef in Dallas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Agonaba
Business
Chicago
Apr 18, 2011

Elegant and well kept up.

Had a nice and quite vacation Needs ice machines on the floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Truluck and Y O Ranch Steakhouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top