$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ramada Blah
Friends
Ventura, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Amazing hotel

The room was much larger than I had anticipated. The beds were comfy and the amentities plenty. This hotel had a lot of character and the perfect location. I would recommend it to anyone looking to visity downtown Dallas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Dallas, Texas
Dec 13, 2010

Needs Help

Usually this hotel has terrific service. However, this particular trip was wrought with problems and issues. The front desk did not have the correct reservation and had to resort to the confirmation to verify the reservation. The French Room bar, which is associated with a 5 diamond restaurant had no wait staff and EXTREMELY SLOW to non-existent service...maybe the "diamonds" should be changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ROBinTEXAS
Couples
Savoy, Texas
Dec 12, 2010

Elegant older Dallas Hotel

We stayed at the Adolphus to extend a wonderful night at the Dallas theater. From the valet staff to the front desk staff, to our hotel room, everything was perfect. This is not a flashy, upscale new hotel. It's more like visiting your well-to-do grandmother's home. The room is decorated with old, classic design -- old lamps and fixtures, but clean and workable and elegant in a way that makes you feel like you've been swept back to the mid 1900's. The televisions are small and big (the old style thick kind) and are shelved in a cabinet across the room from the bed, which is quite a ways from the bed because the room is quite large. There is room for the bed, a couch and end tables, a coffee table and yet more furniture. It's like having your own little living room in a giant bedroom but without the tackiness of a economy suite hotel (there is no kitchenette). A little nook for coffee and a small but servicable bathroom (two women cannot do their makeup at once in this bathroom). Free wi-fi in the rooms was nice as well. The only thing about this hotel that we didn't love was the lack of inviting bars to sit and have a glass of wine in. There was a cowboy bar downstairs at street level, but it seemed more suited to the stockyards of Fort Worth than it did downtown Dallas. That said, the bartender was super nice and accommodating and we did enjoy a cocktail there. I guess we were just wishing for a slightly nicer place to sit back, enjoy a cocktail and watch people pass by. Nonetheless, we got a GREAT deal on this hotel and would go back again in a heartbeat! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas TX
Dec 10, 2010

Very nice hotel, but some service issues

Gorgeous hotel, very friendly staff. Some lapses in the quality of the servce: 1. Housekeeper didn't leave any shampoo/lotion/conditioner in our room. 2. Battery on one of the TV remotes (two large flat screen HDTVs in the room) were dead. 3. Worst of all, the valets who parked and retrieved our car were VERY slow and seemed to lose track of the cars. They almost made us very late for our dinner reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wolfgang Puck's 560 in Reunion Tower. Unbelievable views from the rotating restaurant and the food is incredible.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Canton, Mississippi
Dec 6, 2010

Beautiful hotel, nice staf

We stayed just one night (Dec.4th) and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful. The room was not large, but very well appointed with lovely decor. There was no hairdryer, which I thought was weird since everything else was available. Great location, just 2 blocks from the Dart and around the corner from great restaurants and shopping (Neiman Marcus.) Overall it was a great experience. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Ravenna on Main Street. Authentic Italian, great prices and the best I've ever eaten.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cctexas
Friends
Mesquite
Dec 6, 2010

overall good deal

We were there for our company Christmas Party and to watch the Prade. The Room was great for the Prade. The only 2 things that I was surprise at was that there is no parking beside valet which cost $25 a night and anyone can charge valet to your room. The rooms where ok however not update to technology. No flat scree tv and to acess internet there is web tv. Besides that the stay was overall good but could have spent the same amount at the la quinta and not get surprise by lack of technology and valet parking that cost that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Dallas, TX
Dec 5, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

To start off I had a company outing which everybody (over400 people) decided to stay at the Sheraton me and 17 friend decided to all book at the Adolphus hotel. We called 2 weeks early to ask if we can have rooms near each other and where told we could not do that until we check in so we get there and they put almost all o us on different floors. When I called in my room I was very disappointed the drapes had dirty food marks all over them there were peanuts all over the floor and to top it off there was blood on my sheets. I called down to the front desk to ask if I can some new sheets they sound 2 woman up there one was the maid and the other was the cleaning lady. The cleaning lady was yelling at her supervisor!. The supervisor walk out the room while the cleaning lady stay and changed the sheets she started yelling at me telling we that I could of slept on the them and that it wasn't that much blood… I got upset and decied to go down stairs to talk to a manager which said she would send the lady home and will make up for what happened 3hrs later I get a knock on the door and they give me some cheap sparkling wine to make up for what happened but never changed the drapes or vacuum the floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Murphy, TX
Dec 4, 2010

Great Holiday Treat

We stayed at the Adolphus as a fun "stay-cation". We were attending the Children's Medical Center Parade the next morning which the Adolphus is affiliated with. The location, hotel and service was wonderful. The first thing my son said when he stepped in the room was "This is a NICE room!" Room service was delivered within 30 minutes of ordering even though the hotel was very busy due to the parade. We hope to do this again next year! Also, did not eat there this stay, but would highly recommend the French Room. The food there is fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Nov 23, 2010

Adolphus

Check in was seemless and the service was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French Room is fabulous!

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Nov 22, 2010

Great hotel

The hotel is great. Good location. Great price. Nicely remodeled old style rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Texas
Nov 21, 2010

Generally good, but ...

We frequently stay at the Adolphus and will continue to do so even with the problems noted. Nice room and lobby and a good value. However two problems. The first I reported to the management when there a month ago. There is no table service in the lounge. The bartender is swamped and can't begin to take care of things on the floor. I ended up busing the empties to make room for our drinks– which you pick up at the bar. Other tables had empties for the full hour we were there. Not what you expect from an upscale hotel. After my evaluation a month ago, I received a letter from the manager saying that this would be looked into. Obviously it was not. The second was probably a one-time happening. It took 25 minutes for our car to brought down by valet parking after we turned in our claim check. At least 6 to 8 others were brought to people who were in line behind us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top