$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
142 reviews
Adolphus Elegance!

We absolutely loved everything about the Adolphus in downtown Dallas! From the moment we pulled up... See full review

  • Laura Lappies
  • Nov 3, 2014
Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel... See full review

  • Goodeagle07
  • Nov 13, 2013

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Key Facts
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Neighborhood
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Hints and tips
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ramada Blah
Ventura, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Amazing hotel

The room was much larger than I had anticipated. The beds were comfy and the amentities plenty. This hotel had a lot of character and the perfect location. I would recommend it to anyone looking to visity downtown Dallas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Dec 13, 2010

Needs Help

Usually this hotel has terrific service. However, this particular trip was wrought with problems and issues. The front desk did not have the correct reservation and had to resort to the confirmation to verify the reservation. The French Room bar, which is associated with a 5 diamond restaurant had no wait staff and EXTREMELY SLOW to non-existent service...maybe the "diamonds" should be changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ROBinTEXAS
Business
Savoy, Texas
Dec 12, 2010

Elegant older Dallas Hotel

We stayed at the Adolphus to extend a wonderful night at the Dallas theater. From the valet staff to the front desk staff, to our hotel room, everything was perfect. This is not a flashy, upscale new hotel. It's more like visiting your well-to-do grandmother's home. The room is decorated with old, classic design -- old lamps and fixtures, but clean and workable and elegant in a way that makes you feel like you've been swept back to the mid 1900's. The televisions are small and big (the old style thick kind) and are shelved in a cabinet across the room from the bed, which is quite a ways from the bed because the room is quite large. There is room for the bed, a couch and end tables, a coffee table and yet more furniture. It's like having your own little living room in a giant bedroom but without the tackiness of a economy suite hotel (there is no kitchenette). A little nook for coffee and a small but servicable bathroom (two women cannot do their makeup at once in this bathroom). Free wi-fi in the rooms was nice as well. The only thing about this hotel that we didn't love was the lack of inviting bars to sit and have a glass of wine in. There was a cowboy bar downstairs at street level, but it seemed more suited to the stockyards of Fort Worth than it did downtown Dallas. That said, the bartender was super nice and accommodating and we did enjoy a cocktail there. I guess we were just wishing for a slightly nicer place to sit back, enjoy a cocktail and watch people pass by. Nonetheless, we got a GREAT deal on this hotel and would go back again in a heartbeat! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Dec 10, 2010

Very nice hotel, but some service issues

Gorgeous hotel, very friendly staff. Some lapses in the quality of the servce: 1. Housekeeper didn't leave any shampoo/lotion/conditioner in our room. 2. Battery on one of the TV remotes (two large flat screen HDTVs in the room) were dead. 3. Worst of all, the valets who parked and retrieved our car were VERY slow and seemed to lose track of the cars. They almost made us very late for our dinner reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wolfgang Puck's 560 in Reunion Tower. Unbelievable views from the rotating restaurant and the food is incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cctexas
Business
Mesquite
Dec 6, 2010

overall good deal

We were there for our company Christmas Party and to watch the Prade. The Room was great for the Prade. The only 2 things that I was surprise at was that there is no parking beside valet which cost $25 a night and anyone can charge valet to your room. The rooms where ok however not update to technology. No flat scree tv and to acess internet there is web tv. Besides that the stay was overall good but could have spent the same amount at the la quinta and not get surprise by lack of technology and valet parking that cost that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canton, Mississippi
Dec 6, 2010

Beautiful hotel, nice staf

We stayed just one night (Dec.4th) and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful. The room was not large, but very well appointed with lovely decor. There was no hairdryer, which I thought was weird since everything else was available. Great location, just 2 blocks from the Dart and around the corner from great restaurants and shopping (Neiman Marcus.) Overall it was a great experience. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Ravenna on Main Street. Authentic Italian, great prices and the best I've ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 5, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

To start off I had a company outing which everybody (over400 people) decided to stay at the Sheraton me and 17 friend decided to all book at the Adolphus hotel. We called 2 weeks early to ask if we can have rooms near each other and where told we could not do that until we check in so we get there and they put almost all o us on different floors. When I called in my room I was very disappointed the drapes had dirty food marks all over them there were peanuts all over the floor and to top it off there was blood on my sheets. I called down to the front desk to ask if I can some new sheets they sound 2 woman up there one was the maid and the other was the cleaning lady. The cleaning lady was yelling at her supervisor!. The supervisor walk out the room while the cleaning lady stay and changed the sheets she started yelling at me telling we that I could of slept on the them and that it wasn't that much blood… I got upset and decied to go down stairs to talk to a manager which said she would send the lady home and will make up for what happened 3hrs later I get a knock on the door and they give me some cheap sparkling wine to make up for what happened but never changed the drapes or vacuum the floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murphy, TX
Dec 4, 2010

Great Holiday Treat

We stayed at the Adolphus as a fun "stay-cation". We were attending the Children's Medical Center Parade the next morning which the Adolphus is affiliated with. The location, hotel and service was wonderful. The first thing my son said when he stepped in the room was "This is a NICE room!" Room service was delivered within 30 minutes of ordering even though the hotel was very busy due to the parade. We hope to do this again next year! Also, did not eat there this stay, but would highly recommend the French Room. The food there is fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Nov 23, 2010

Adolphus

Check in was seemless and the service was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French Room is fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 22, 2010

Great hotel

The hotel is great. Good location. Great price. Nicely remodeled old style rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Nov 21, 2010

Generally good, but ...

We frequently stay at the Adolphus and will continue to do so even with the problems noted. Nice room and lobby and a good value. However two problems. The first I reported to the management when there a month ago. There is no table service in the lounge. The bartender is swamped and can't begin to take care of things on the floor. I ended up busing the empties to make room for our drinks– which you pick up at the bar. Other tables had empties for the full hour we were there. Not what you expect from an upscale hotel. After my evaluation a month ago, I received a letter from the manager saying that this would be looked into. Obviously it was not. The second was probably a one-time happening. It took 25 minutes for our car to brought down by valet parking after we turned in our claim check. At least 6 to 8 others were brought to people who were in line behind us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top