$165 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
136 reviews
Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel... See full review

  • Goodeagle07
  • Nov 13, 2013
Romantic getaway

We had a lovely experience at this hotel. My husband and I spent the night to celebrate our... See full review

  • The Wife of Mike
  • Sep 15, 2014

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Key Facts
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Neighborhood
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Hints and tips
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7801 -96.7995
Area served
Dallas, Ft Worth,
Nearby airports
Dallas/Ft Worth International Airport (DFW) Dallas Love Field (DAL)
Area description
The Adolphus is located on Commerce and Field in the heart of Dallas' financial district, close to business headquarters, restaurants, historic sites, entertainment centers and the city's great cultural attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Feb 3, 2010

Beautiful Hotel.

Great Room although alittle small for what we paid for it. Very comfortable bed and the hotel looks gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Feb 5, 2011

Grand Old Dame oozes old World Charm

Excellent breakfast room and food...nice but standard size hotel room and nice size bathroom with old tub but new shower head. Huge walk-in closet and the lobby is grand and beautiful! The bar is out of a hunting lodge in super comfortable to meet for a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Nick And Sam's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chattanooga, TN
Jun 13, 2009

Fantastic hotel for the price

This is a great place to stay. Staff very friendly and hotel located downtown. We attended our son's graduation at UT Southwestern and was looking for a place downtown. Really enjoyed the stay and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSU Tiger
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 6, 2011

LSU Game in Cowboy Stadium

Our experience was excellent!! The only complaint we have is that the AC didn't cool like we would like. The one vent was in the seating area w/no vents in the bedroom area! A ceiling fan would have helped, but there wasn't one. We also had to leave a day early due to our camp being flooded by TD Lee!! The hotel and Orbitz agreed to refund us our last night stay due to our emergency. I haven't received the credit, but will look for it on my next Amex bill. Thank you in advance for your cooperation and understanding! We book everything we can thru Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dakota's Steakhouse was great!! We also saw a wonderful concert at the House of Blues!! All very close!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Photon Warrior
Business
Scottsdale AZ
Nov 15, 2012

Rich in history with Unparalleled Staff

You can just go the French Room for one of the few 5 Star meals available, but don't miss out on the charm, opulence, and attention this hotel lavishes on its guests. Yes the rooms are not brand spanking new, but neither is that prized antique family heirloom armoire you love. Enjoy the downtown locale - don't forget the Neiman Marcus around the corner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr.Ed
Business
Midwest
May 18, 2014

Dallas Classic

The hotel is a Dallas classic old Lady. Great location close to Main St. and many excellent restaurants as well as shopping and attractions. The Lobby is full of dark wood, classic furniture as well as greenery. Rooms are updated, comfortable with classic features like crown molding, granite in the bathrooms and large windows. Upper floors have a minimum of street noise. Rooms are very large; mine was a bit smaller, but was a corner room with windows on both sides. Staff are friendly. Now for a few negatives; First, the lighting in the bathroom was terrible; very low light from small bulbs in fixtures either side of the mirror. Was a bit challenging to shave, let alone attempt to put on makeup. Second, for some reason, no waist basket provided anywhere in the room. First day, I took a plastic shopping bag and hung it off the bathroom sink for trash. The house cleaner dutifully emptied the trash bag every day and put it back in place!! There was a small fridge in the room and a small digital safe, but no in-room servi-bar, if that is important to you. Decent 40 inch flat screen TV with movies and usual cable. I am told the hotel, which is over 100 years old is due for a big update, but honestly the rooms and public areas are just fine now Rate on this site was very good and competitive to rates at some of the big name national chain hotels that are within 6-7 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a short walk from the Dallas light rail. A cab from DFW is about $55. Airport shuttle is about $18. You can, however walk over to the light rail about 2 blocks away, take that to the TRE rail to Central stop, half way to Ft. Worth, then take a bus from the rail stop to the south side DFW remote parking. Change bus for the terminal bus which stops at all terminals. I know that sounds complicated, but if you are traveling light, you can do the entire trip with very little walking and for $2.50 or $5.00 total, depending on time of day. There are reduced trains on Saturday, and none on Sunday. I managed to make the trip in under 1 hour and for $2.50 on a Saturday. Check the on-line schedule.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Audry
St Louis, MO, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Business

Everyone was very nice. I felt at home. The local grill & bar is a great place to have a beer! The late night ora of the hotel is kind of scary. The elevator buttons started to light up themselves when I was riding up at 3 am. Kind of makes you wonder about the hotels history! Overall, it was nice, safe, and just beautiful inside. I felt like a princess walking through the main lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to NorthPark mall. It has everything! Great for day shopping !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, New York
May 8, 2009

Great hotel, excellent staff

Great location for walking and checking out the city of Dallas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denison, TX
Feb 16, 2011

Romantic Valentines Night Stay

Staff very professional, friendly, courteous and helpful. Jr. Suite was very clean, spacious and nice. Bathroom was very nice as well. For a 100 year old hotel this was something. Lobby and bar decor FANTASTIC!! I had always heard about this hotel since I was a little kid and had always wanted to stay due to reputation. I WAS NOT disappointed one bit. Only problem with room was one wall outlet did not work on either sockett.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All sorts of restaurants within short walk of hotel as well as tourist sites and a 7-11 and Neiman Marcus walking distance also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Worth, Texas
Apr 22, 2009

Lovely hotel

The Good: Since we are accustomed to staying at the new ultra-sleek, contemporary style of hotels (like The W), we were pleasantly surprised at how this older hotel has retained it's elegant charm. The rooms are lovely, spotless, and very well kept. Check-in was just fine (the girl was new and this took a while, but she was so professional and sweet that it was no problem at all). The BAD: The only bad experience we had was with the girl who checked us out. The manager the evening before had told us to be at the front desk as close to 6am to receive one of the few late check-outs they disperse; we did just that, & this girl was extremely rude & rigid about granting our request (saying they don't give out late-check outs, even though her manager had told me otherwise). Amazingly, after asking for her name so I could contact her manager did she start to turn on the charm. Despite this discourteous service from this girl, EVERYONE else at the hotel was extremely helpful and accomodating...from the valet, to the bellman, to room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iron Cactus restaurant is right around the corner...great margaritas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top