$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
139 reviews
Adolphus Elegance!

We absolutely loved everything about the Adolphus in downtown Dallas! From the moment we pulled up... See full review

  • Laura Lappies
  • Nov 3, 2014
Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel... See full review

  • Goodeagle07
  • Nov 13, 2013

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Key Facts
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Neighborhood
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Hints and tips
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7801 -96.7995
Area served
Dallas, Ft Worth,
Nearby airports
Dallas/Ft Worth International Airport (DFW) Dallas Love Field (DAL)
Area description
The Adolphus is located on Commerce and Field in the heart of Dallas' financial district, close to business headquarters, restaurants, historic sites, entertainment centers and the city's great cultural attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family Guzman
Business
México
Nov 7, 2011

Excellent hotel!

The hotel is located very convenient and the staff is very friendly and always able to help you. This combination makes it a very good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
positive
Business
Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
Nov 5, 2011

wedding

staff was exceptional ! the room was very luxurious and comfortable ! Lobby was very historial & therfore interesting ! The afternoon tea was a reminder of London !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great chance to experience "Afternoon Tea " ! Breakfast and Dinner value is exceptional !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetson
Business
Potter, NE 69156, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Family wedding. Reception was at hotel and was amazing.

Everything was very good, although did not realize the parking was not part of the Adolphus and had to pay the parking garage and additional $24.00 a night over and above the room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not many of the places are open for breakfast on Saturday or Sunday in downtown Dallas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emzer
Business
Tulsa, OK, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Wonderful!

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The staff was amazing! Dave who is one of the drivers made our trip wonderful! He was personable and professional at the same time. The staff is what makes this hotel great. Everyone remembered us and made us feel like we were at home. It was also nice since we were right in downtown we could just walk to all these amazing restaurants. The only downfall that I could think of it the bed isn't very comfortable and the pillows are so flat there is really no use for them. All in all my Husband and I are most def coming back! I can't wait to stay there again...will be bringing our own pillows this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
President
Business
LA CA
Sep 28, 2011

Needs a complete makeover

Dark, dull old fashioned, uninviting room. Not enough reception staff. Slow service. This hotel rests on it's laurels from a bygone era.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Efren
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Perfect to spend the night away...

Adolphus in downtown Dallas was a great experience. Celebrated my anniversary and booked a room to spend the night away. Room requested wasn't available but I was given an even larger room, felt like in apartment. The staff, rooms, hotel and experience was amazing, will be going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stephmiflo
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Above-average hotel

Great! But, could do better in room cleanliness! Great! But, could do better in room cleanliness! Great! But, could do better in room cleanliness!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeannieM
Business
Hilton Head, SC
Sep 19, 2011

The Adolphus

We enjoyed everyt detail about the Adolphus Hotel. It was exactly what we had hoped it would be and would absolutely return. Also, we would highly recommend the hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSU Tiger
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 6, 2011

LSU Game in Cowboy Stadium

Our experience was excellent!! The only complaint we have is that the AC didn't cool like we would like. The one vent was in the seating area w/no vents in the bedroom area! A ceiling fan would have helped, but there wasn't one. We also had to leave a day early due to our camp being flooded by TD Lee!! The hotel and Orbitz agreed to refund us our last night stay due to our emergency. I haven't received the credit, but will look for it on my next Amex bill. Thank you in advance for your cooperation and understanding! We book everything we can thru Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dakota's Steakhouse was great!! We also saw a wonderful concert at the House of Blues!! All very close!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Audry
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Business

Everyone was very nice. I felt at home. The local grill & bar is a great place to have a beer! The late night ora of the hotel is kind of scary. The elevator buttons started to light up themselves when I was riding up at 3 am. Kind of makes you wonder about the hotels history! Overall, it was nice, safe, and just beautiful inside. I felt like a princess walking through the main lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to NorthPark mall. It has everything! Great for day shopping !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top