$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
140 reviews
Adolphus Elegance!

We absolutely loved everything about the Adolphus in downtown Dallas! From the moment we pulled up... See full review

  • Laura Lappies
  • Nov 3, 2014
Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel... See full review

  • Goodeagle07
  • Nov 13, 2013

Named after German-born brewer Adolphus Busch, of the famed Anheuser-Busch brewing firm, the Beaux-Arts architecture at the Adolphus Hotel nods back to his time, showcasing baroque elegance across plush lobbies and executive suites that date back to 1912. The Dallas hotel's French Room is a city treasure serving up cosmopolitan dishes washed down with award-winning wines, while afternoon tea can be booked in the Lobby Living Room – where you can savor scones, finger sandwiches and confections while listening to relaxing piano music. Dubbed one of the top 10 hotels in the US by Conde Nast, former guests include Queen Elizabeth II, the Vanderbilts, Oscar de la Renta and Babe Ruth.

Key Facts
  • 422 guestrooms, 127 executive suites and 12 luxury suites
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Complimentary sedan transportation for guests at the hotel – three mile radius until 8pm. Ask at the front desk for more details. 
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting and catering space
  • The private athletic club – fees apply
  • 3 restaurants: The French Room, The Rodeo Bar and The Bistro
  • Boutique gift shop
  • 24-hour business center
Neighborhood
The hotel is located on Commerce Street at the heart of the city’s financial district, with attractions like the Texas Longhorn Cattle Drive Sculpture just a few blocks away. Browse the lotions, designer labels, handbags and heels on offer in the flagship Neiman Marcus store before partying at clubs such as Mantus Ultralounge or Opus where you can sip wine on plush couches. Meanwhile, the Sixth Floor Museum in Dealy Plaza highlights the death and legacy of arguably one of the most famous US presidents, John F. Kennedy. 
Hints and tips
The hotel is a historic building and the 19th floor is reputedly haunted. Staff are more than happy to accommodate interested ghost-hunters with rooms on this floor – if you dare! The Adolphus also allows dogs of a certain size to stay in some rooms at the hotel. Charges and restrictions apply so make sure you take a look at the Adolphus pet policy before bringing your dog. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Adolphus Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Adolphus Hotel Rooms

Executive Suite
King or Queen bed. Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Superior Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.
Deluxe Room:King, Queen or Two Double Beds
Rooms offer an array of rare features, many with specially commissioned fabrics, furniture and carpeting, walk-in closets, marbled bathrooms and separate sitting areas. There is remote control television with cable and on-demand movies, multiline speakerphones with voice-mail and dataport, and mini bars stocked with gourmet treats.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Fair Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fountain Place: 0.3 mi
  • Dallas Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas World Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Dallas Holocost Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old Red museum: 0.5 mi
  • Dealy Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Dallas Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nasher Scupture Center: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Nature and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Klyde Warren Park: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Cente: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cotton Bowl: 2.3 mi
  • Dallas Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • The Texas Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Kessler Theater: 3.3 mi
  • Gerald J. Ford Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Medows Museum of Art: 4.2 mi
  • Dallas Angelika film Center: 4.3 mi
  • Southern Methodist University: 4.5 mi
  • Frontiers of Flight Museum: 4.8 mi
  • White Rock Lake Park: 5.1 mi
  • Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Zero Gravity Thrill Amusement Park Dallas: 9.4 mi
  • Cowboys Stadium: 17.2 mi
  • Magnolia Theatre: 225.8 mi

Dining

The Bistro
The Bistro is found in a sunny setting of limestone floors and high ceilings, serving gourmet coffees and a creative blend of classical and contemporary cuisine.
The French Room
The French Room serves classic French cuisine transformed to contemporary American tastes in a setting that The New York Times describes as, "...indisputably the most striking and sumptuous restaurant in Dallas..."
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill
Walt Garrison Rodeo Bar & Grill offers diners a taste of the Old West, featuring hearty Texas fare.
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Living Room offers a selection of scones topped with Devonshire cream and raspberry marmalade, finger sandwiches, fruit tarts, and hand-dipped chocolate truffles, as a pianist entertains.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Adolphus is located in the heart of Dallas' financial district, near business headquarters and cultural attractions, and an ideal environment for nurturing grand ideas or celebrating important events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
katya koshmar2
Business
Moscow, город Москва, Russia
Apr 28, 2012

My room was cleaned once in 4 days!

This hotel was conveniently located and certainly has its charms, but housekeeping was not one of them. I had to call to request things like my trash being taken out and even then, no one would come. In 4 days, my room was cleaned once. My room was also directly under the fitness center, which meant pounding every morning around 6 am. Not quite as relaxing as I had hoped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dallas Art Museum and Nasher Sculpture Center are literally steps away, and are a lovely way to spend a sunny afternoon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicago CJ
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 24, 2012

Are you kidding? A service elevator next to my bed?

I think the title says it all. I have one law and two rules for supposedly business-class or luxury hotels. Rule #1 - Good work area and wifi. They did OK here. Rule #2 - Comfortable bed. Adequate. Not Westin or W class, but adequate. Law (the big one) - I should be able to sleep and work when I want to, not when it's convenient for you. Honestly, why does this surprise so many hotel professionals? The hotel can't do anything about noise from the street or from guests in the hallway - but they certainly can control their own noise. My bed (room 924) was the opposite side of a flimsy wall from the service elevators. Starting early in the morning was the roar of the elevators running (sounds vaguely like jets flying overhead) and the ding of the bell. At least I didn't need a wakeup call. Other things. The rooms are dingy and outdated. The lobby is nice, but unless I'm sleeping there, it's not too important to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knubby
Business
Connecticut, USA
Feb 16, 2012

Luxury at its finest

Nice place. Nice location. Within walking distance to the convention center and American Airlines Center. Near a good selection of resturaunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donkeys
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Adolphus

The hotel is beautifully historic and fun to see. The French Room restaurant in the hotel is fantastic and worth the money. Unfortunately, the maid service was terrible-didn't even show up one day and the other days didn't clean, just made the beds. The front desk staff and concierge acted as if they were being bothered and even argued with me about my reservation until I showed my printed copy. Don't think we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Lonesome Dove Bistro in Ft. Worth definitely worth the drive from Dallas-especially if Chef Tim Love is in the kitchen!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Oxford
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Blissfully uneventful

The spacious wood-paneled lobby with its cut crystal vases and soaring skylight embodies the feel of the hotel: classic, elegant, generous, and leisurely. I instantly felt calmer every time I walked in. I don't have any heart-warming stories, but the staff was friendly and the room was huge. I travel for work and my having nothing to complain about is in itself a huge compliment. The lamps in my room had three-way bulbs which I appreciated. (I'm surprised more hotels don't have dimmers and other subtle lighting options.) The convention center is only a three-block walk, which is also very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Association Traveler
Business
Lexington, KY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great for a business trip

I had a great experience at the Adolphus Hotel. The common areas were beautiful and the staff was pleasant to work with. Location was great as well - right in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lightime
Business
California
Jan 22, 2012

Adolphis hotel Dallas trip

House keeping has a problem. we were missing bathroom linens 2 of the 4 days and coffee for coffe maker and had to call to have sent to room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skappy
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Great night in Dallas

We only stayed one night but the staff and the value of our fantastic room made us wish we could have stayed longer!! Great hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Out of town Regulars
Business
Rapid Ciy, SD
Dec 27, 2011

Perfect long weekend

We were going to Dallas for the Cowboys/Giants game over Christmas and decided to stay in downtown Dallas. After looking at various hotels online, we chose the Adolphus. The location and staff are great! The hotel has so much character compared to your average Franchise places. We will definitely be back at the Adolphus! Loved everything about Dallas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a taxi to Perry's Steakhouse and had a fabulous meal! The hotel shuttle would probably take you but it was Christmas Eve so they weren't running it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarcInMD
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 10, 2011

Elegance in Downtown Dallas

The Adolphus is a well appointed and elegant hotel property on Commerce St. in the heart of the downtown business district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top