$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr.Ed
Business
Midwest
May 18, 2014

Dallas Classic

The hotel is a Dallas classic old Lady. Great location close to Main St. and many excellent restaurants as well as shopping and attractions. The Lobby is full of dark wood, classic furniture as well as greenery. Rooms are updated, comfortable with classic features like crown molding, granite in the bathrooms and large windows. Upper floors have a minimum of street noise. Rooms are very large; mine was a bit smaller, but was a corner room with windows on both sides. Staff are friendly. Now for a few negatives; First, the lighting in the bathroom was terrible; very low light from small bulbs in fixtures either side of the mirror. Was a bit challenging to shave, let alone attempt to put on makeup. Second, for some reason, no waist basket provided anywhere in the room. First day, I took a plastic shopping bag and hung it off the bathroom sink for trash. The house cleaner dutifully emptied the trash bag every day and put it back in place!! There was a small fridge in the room and a small digital safe, but no in-room servi-bar, if that is important to you. Decent 40 inch flat screen TV with movies and usual cable. I am told the hotel, which is over 100 years old is due for a big update, but honestly the rooms and public areas are just fine now Rate on this site was very good and competitive to rates at some of the big name national chain hotels that are within 6-7 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a short walk from the Dallas light rail. A cab from DFW is about $55. Airport shuttle is about $18. You can, however walk over to the light rail about 2 blocks away, take that to the TRE rail to Central stop, half way to Ft. Worth, then take a bus from the rail stop to the south side DFW remote parking. Change bus for the terminal bus which stops at all terminals. I know that sounds complicated, but if you are traveling light, you can do the entire trip with very little walking and for $2.50 or $5.00 total, depending on time of day. There are reduced trains on Saturday, and none on Sunday. I managed to make the trip in under 1 hour and for $2.50 on a Saturday. Check the on-line schedule.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goodeagle07
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel

From the start, the staff was helpful, attentive, patient, and just really pleasant. The hotel itself has so much charm and it feels incredibly rich. Our room was nice; the bathroom was great. Plenty of room for a group of girls to get ready for a night on the town. I will definitely be back and I recommend the Adolphus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Your Regular Mom
Business
Sachse, Texas
Sep 9, 2013

History is all that is left

I am tired of "fancy" hotels trying to get away with everything! I honestly have had nicer stays in two star hotels. We had requested a King Room. The room we received was spacious, clean, as clean as ancient carpet can get and the comforter was newer. That was where the positives ended. It was a queen bed. We could have lived with that, except the center was completely cratered out. There is no way two people can comfortably sleep in that bed. The springs were strung! The sink and bath tub did not drain. The bathroom door did not close. The mini fridge was not stocked. We informed the front desk and were not compensated at all. Even with empathy. The front desk basically said you get what you pay for. Which yes, this was a Groupon. On the Groupon we paid for a king room! We explained. She shrugged. To sour our visit even more. We waited in line for valet for 1/2 and hour. Then another 20 mins for our car. Once in the car I needed to adjust my seat. No problem, until the valet guy told us we needed to leave. I would say this hotel would not need to use the Groupon service to advertise if they actual stood up to what their reputation has been said to be. We will never stay at the hotel again and urge every person looking for a nice hotel to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs 10 Years
Business
Desoto, TX
Sep 4, 2013

Anniversary Getaway

We are Desoto residents are decided to stay here for a mini getaway for our anniversary Labor Day weekend. We had such a relaxing time! As soon as we checked in they gave us a free up-grade to a suite. The room was cozy and the staff helped us with whatever we needed! The location of the hotel was perfect for walking around Dallas and there were several restaurants aroun us to enjoy dinner. While we were there we went to a show at Trees in Deep Ellum and were we're close enough to take a cheap cab ride down. We will be back here again, for sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pcturner33
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 14, 2013

Beautiful old-style hotel

Loved staying at the Adolphus. Huge room and beautiful amenities and old world style comfort. That being said, my room was overlooked for housekeeping on a Sunday. Apparently, there was some miscommunication between the front desk and housekeeping. After I commented on it to the front desk staff, they put in a request, but housekeeping had already gone for the day. It was not a big issue (I didn't make much of a mess!), but for a hotel that bills itself as the top of the line, that is something that shouldn't happen. Otherwise, hotel is beautiful and the room was large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast can be expensive in the Hotel Bistro ($29 dollars for one person after tip).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms KLOC
Business
Boston
Apr 9, 2013

Lovely Dallas Experience

I was very pleased by this hotel. It was quite a little gem in the city. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The room was incredibly clean and each day was beautifully refreshed. I was only disappointed that The French Room was not open on Sunday night. That was one of the things I was looking forward to....but next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sisterpk
Business
New York
Mar 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a sense of history

Great staff, super clean room and free taxi to wherever I wanted to go, Good breakfasts in Bistro. An extremely pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davenkrs
Business
Dana Point, California
Mar 19, 2013

Beautiful place

more good than bad. I had the concierge call the hotel car for a short trip up town, said it would take 10 minutes so we waited. whe the car arrived the bell hop gave it to another couple. i explained it to the bell hop and he said to bad and you can not reserve the car. i explained i did not reserve it as you say but the concierge called the driver to let him know he had a couple to pick up. The next day we did use the car to take us to the st patricks day parade and he took us to the wrong part of town. That was the only poor event we had. i would go back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

if you go to the JFK museum make sure you see the conspiracy booth on the corner, its not part of the museum but it is pretty interesting. It is right on the corner outside of the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Entrepreneurial woman
Business
Martinsville, VA
Feb 13, 2013

Adolphus 4 me

I loved EVERYTHING about my stay here. Service! Service! Service! The spacious room. Interior- old world feel. Staff. A real doorman and bellman to help with luggage. Room service was outstanding!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel has a car to take you to destinations w/in approx 3miles. Also offers same rate to take you to airport as Super Shuttle etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Entrepreneurial woman
Business
Martinsville, VA
Feb 11, 2013

Rodan + Fields convention

I was so Happy I stayed at the Adolphus. Everything about it was perfect! From the service to the room service, quality of food, and the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a car service to take you within a approx 3 mile service for free and they offer a shuttle service to the airport with same fee as other shuttle companies. Bar is quaint and relaxing after a long day out! or take it right up to your room. Right off elevators and escalators

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top