$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Adolphus Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1321 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Adolphus Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caesar3031
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 10, 2012

Great Location, So-So Accomodations

The location, staff, and lobby were terrific. However, the room showed its age and was a little dirty. There were stains on the furniture and some trash near the night stand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to Dealey Plaza and JFK Museum. Must see!

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nipnipnip
Business
Dallas
Oct 20, 2012

Average

Out of date. But comfortable. The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davenkrs
Business
Dana Point, California
Mar 19, 2013

Beautiful place

more good than bad. I had the concierge call the hotel car for a short trip up town, said it would take 10 minutes so we waited. whe the car arrived the bell hop gave it to another couple. i explained it to the bell hop and he said to bad and you can not reserve the car. i explained i did not reserve it as you say but the concierge called the driver to let him know he had a couple to pick up. The next day we did use the car to take us to the st patricks day parade and he took us to the wrong part of town. That was the only poor event we had. i would go back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

if you go to the JFK museum make sure you see the conspiracy booth on the corner, its not part of the museum but it is pretty interesting. It is right on the corner outside of the building.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cctexas
Business
Mesquite
Dec 6, 2010

overall good deal

We were there for our company Christmas Party and to watch the Prade. The Room was great for the Prade. The only 2 things that I was surprise at was that there is no parking beside valet which cost $25 a night and anyone can charge valet to your room. The rooms where ok however not update to technology. No flat scree tv and to acess internet there is web tv. Besides that the stay was overall good but could have spent the same amount at the la quinta and not get surprise by lack of technology and valet parking that cost that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
abilene, tx
Sep 20, 2010

nice stay

Hotel in heart of downtown Dallas, valet parking only, costs $24 a day. Historic place, the lobby and common areas were very impressive with antique furniture and art, intricate architecture. The room was ok, you could tell it was old, I prefer modern rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abby85
Business
Dallas, Texas
Nov 14, 2010

Had to evacuate

Came to the Adolphus wtih my boyfriend for a "staycation" for his birthday-- the hotel is beautiful and we had a great time listening to jazz in the bar. The next morning, we shaken awake by the fire alarm and were told to evacuate. We rushed out of the room and down 16 flights of stairs. We joined around 75 other guests to sit in the lobby in pajamas and wait. No hotel staff offered any explanation and after an hour, we had to climb back up 16 flights of stairs to retrieve our belongings and check out. Even when checking out, no hotel staff gave any apology for the inconvenience. It was pretty disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Nice jazz bar in the hotel. Beautiful lobby.

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inge the Explorer
Business
New York, NY
May 26, 2010

Distance to Art District

Weekend trip to visit the Art District's Museums, Symphony Hall, Winspear Opera, Wyly Theater and Rachofsky House. Best place to stay without renting a car, is the Fairmont Hotel, because of close walking distance to most events, could not get in (lots of weddings), Adolphus next best. [...] guaranteed deluxe kingbed room, only got a queenbed,on a low floor. I was charged $9.50 for a bottle of Fiji Water (maybe 1 liter)which had been sitting on top of the mini bar (crazy), never opened the minibar. No concierge was ever on duty, and bellhops pretended to be concierges and claimed to be able to get you tickets to the opera, which never happened. When I called the reception at 11pm to complain about this lack of service, security answered and laughed. There definitely was no 5 star service!!!!I had read that the hotel serves high tea in the lobby in the afternoon and when I happened to walk into the lobby tired from walking back from the Arts District in 90 degree heat,I asked to be served tea. I was told that only if I had made a reservation could I get this service. I finally found a waiter who was willing to get me a pot of tea after I explained that I was a hotel guest and not a walk-in with a reservation.....it's a convention hotel that does not care about individual travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marcus Flagship store

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Feb 8, 2010

Lovely hotel, bad bed

The Adolphus is a grand old hotel, nicely rennovated a few years ago. It is in the heart of downtown within walking distance of Neiman Marcus and other notable attractions. The staff is gracious and friendly, beginning with the doorman and the valet, to the front desk, the housekeeping personnel, and the restaurant staff. [...] The decor was attractive but a little faded, and we had the usual ammenities such as minibar, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, etc. One downside was the lack of good lighting especially in the bathroom. Doing makeup there was a challenge. The only full length mirror was in the walk-in closet with the dimmest light I've ever seen. But the worst thing was the mattress. On the side nearest the bedside phone, the mattress was completely broken down, presumably by people sitting there to make phone calls. Sleeping on that side of the bed was not just uncomfortable, it was impossible. Fortunately, it was a king bed, so there was room to move away from the broken portion. I should have notified the hotel of the problem and perhaps they would have moved us to another room but, since we were there only two nights, it seemed a hassle to pack up and move. I did mention this at checkout and was told they would "check into it." No hotel should let their mattresses become so old and broken down -- even in those rooms that they offer to discounters. I was very disappointed with this part of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Hills, California
Mar 4, 2011

A pleasant stay for business

My stay was a goood one. In Dallas for business and decided to stay in downtown. The hotel is certainly a jewel in the doentown area but is needs to be shined up a bit. The room was comfy, could use some updating. Hotel staff were attentive and helpful but it just seems that the hotel needs a good dose of "hey it is 2011" style and look. All in all a value for the money if you are not looking for the latest and greatest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adolphus Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Euless, TX
Sep 12, 2010

small bed

Disappointed in room. We were supposed to get either one king or two beds, instead we got one full size bed. We arrived late and had a wedding to attend, so didnt have time to ask for another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top